My Studio

Like many designers, I have a home based studio.  It has some great advantages, and a few disadvantages.  You can go to work in your pajamas, it’s handy and your work is always close by, you can play loud music and you don’t disturb anyone, and sometimes there are movies playing during work hours.  Disadvantages – you don’t get to have snow days as there is no excuse for not getting to work,  the studio is open 24/7,  it’s hard to focus on housework when the fabric is right around the corner,  you are always bring threads home from work, and the studio is open for working 168 hours per week.  Despite those negatives,  I love to escape to my studio and work.  As the market deadlines loom closer, it no longer feels like an escape.  It begins to feel like I am being kept there against my will.  Oh well, such is work!

 

I thought I would share a few shot of my studio with you.  After we moved into this house, we realized that we needed an attached garage and a space for me to work.  So, we added on a garage with a bonus room above.  The result is a room with windows on three sides – perfect for working with fabric and color.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those shots were taken on the day that American Patchwork and Quilting magazine was here to do a profile on my business (watch for this coming out in the next issue!!!!) 

These are the shots taken this morning.  This is what things look like when there is actual work being done!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that I have completely embarrassed myself, it’s time to go back to getting more actual work done.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in My Studio, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Studio

  1. Camille says:

    Wow! Jealous doesn’t even begin to cover it- what an AMAZING room! You are one lucky girl, I’ll say that much.

    The blog is looking great- I’ll add it to my sidebar today and be sure to blog about it too. Welcome to blogging!

  2. Dora Aitken says:

    where can i locate your autumn days wall hanging pattern i would like to purchase

  3. Helz says:

    French Doors… Natural Light++… Clear Floor Space Aplenty… Comfiest Sofa Chairs… & A Fireplace… OK now I know I’ve died & gone to heaven !!! Gorgeous just does not cut it……….

  4. Jodi says:

    Your studio is fantastic! My husband has been putting the finishing touches on mine this week! And I’m so excited! I call it “the room”. LOL. You’ll have to take a peak. I can’t wait to see what fun stuff comes from you and your studio. ;o)

  5. Happy Zombie says:

    Hi Heather,
    Found your blog via Anne Sutton. Welcome to blogland! I’ve enjoyed many a pattern of yours over the years – just love your stuff, and now love your studio too. The before as well as the after. Congrats on the APQ spread… I’ll be stalking my mail-lady for my issue. Can’t wait to see more.

  6. Jean C. says:

    Great room, wonderfully bright and cheery. Nothing like have a beautiful space to think and be creative in.
    I’m enjoying the blog. Have fun with it!

  7. Karen says:

    Hi Heather – found your blog by way of Anne at Bunny Hill. As a fellow Minnesotan and a fan of your designs I’m glad you entered blogland. Your studio is a dream, what a wonderful place to create in and the front of your house looks adorable.

    Welcome – Karen

  8. Joke Mouthaan says:

    Hi Heather,
    you make beautiful quilts and your house and garden, with the beautiful view on the lake are like paradise. I have added your blog to my favorites, and I will certainly get inspiration from it.
    grtz – joke (pronounce Yoka).

  9. Cheyenne Renard says:

    All I can say is wow you have a lovily home and fab studio and a wonderful handsome hubby and adorable Children what more can you expect maybe a money tree in the back yard I love you studio i would love to come and see it I am new to quilting i live near Camille in Henderson Nevada and i just think she is adorable and so are you. Where do you live with a wonderful lake like that and what a nice party Keep up the wonderful work Love and Blessings Cheyenne Renard

  10. Cheyenne Renard says:

    Awesome is all i can say i wanted to know what type of sewing machine you have and what type of Quilting machine you use what would you recommend . How did you ever get started in Quilting and in making patterns and designs ? I would love to be as talented but i do know that god has gifted all of us in some way or another so im very happy for you to have found what you are good at or should i say great at. Love Cheyenne

  11. Pingback: Our Most Stupid Mistake Ever, Continued (Part 3) « Trends and Traditions

  12. Sandy says:

    Heather,
    You have a absolutely beautiful home and studio and your quilts are fabulous you are a real inspiration to someone like “me” who is just getting started in quilting I know I will never be that good but I can dream!!
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

