A Little Behind

I’ve been trying to get in at least one post per week, and all of a sudden a week and a half has gone by!!!  I don’t even have the excuse of being at quilt market (which is starting in about an hour).  For those of you who don’t know what quilt market it, it’s a wholesale trade show where all the pattern, notion, fabric designers, and assorted other related businesses set up booths and the quilt shop owners come and buy for their stores.  It happens twice a year – every fall in Houston, TX and every spring in different location.  I usually only do the spring show.  It’s actually quite a relief, as the show is SO MUCH WORK!!!  I do have several distributors displaying my things and guess what??  Thee Heather Bailey contacted me and asked to use one of my quilts for her Schoolhouse demo at market!  I’m a big fan, so it was fun to get that request from her.  (I’ll get to more Heather Bailey later in this post).  I mentioned it is a relief not to go, as far as all the work is concerned, but I will miss seeing all the fun new creative things at market.  It’s such a creative industry, that it is quite overwhelming to see all the great ideas.  In fact, by the second day, I’m usually feeling quite overwhelmed that I am trying to make it in this industry!  I look around and wish this pattern or that fabric line was my idea, and feeling like your own ideas are no good.  I’ve heard that other designers suffer from these feelings as well.  In fact, I had a conversation at market last time that went something like this – “Yeah, I feel like such a loser” – then the other person – “No way, no I feel like such a loser.”  My husband just shakes his head at all these female emotions.  Either way, I will still miss seeing all the fun things – but I will have to rely on all the blogs to keep me up to date.  In the meantime, I have been busy finishing up things.  I was gone teaching last weekend, and I even had time to make pies and applesauce at my mom’s house.  If I were going to market, that would be the last thing on my mind!!!

I finished up a sweater that I have been working on all summer – the red one that I’m wearing.  I also finished up a sweater for Addi to go with the hat I showed in an earlier post.  My sweater is from the “Make it Modern” book by CEY (Classic Elite Yarns). 

Addi’s sweater is from the Summer edition on www.knitty.com.  It’s a free pattern and was really fun to make.  The yarn is Wool BamBoo by Classic Elite – my new favorite yarn.  The quilt in the background is a large version of one of the table runners in my Little Charmers 2 pattern.

I also cleaned up my stash -

You can now open the closet doors without fabric falling all over.  Actually this is just part of my stash – these are my “regular” fabrics.  I also have a Moda stash and a large scale prints stash and a “my designs” stash.  But, I don’t have nearly the stash people think I would.  I’m finding that fabrics are changing SO fast, that I can’t get too deep into one look.  I like to buy the new and trendy prints as they come out and as I have a project for them.    Here’s part of the stash of my fabrics:

These are my bolts of Cottage Charm that came the other day.  What more could a girl ask for?  Bolts as tall as I am!!!  That’s 5’7″ of fabric with my name on the selvage!   Oh, back to what I’ve been working on -

I just finished a table runner.  I started yesterday morning and 8:30 and had the binding on by 10:30.  That time includes taking a shower and getting ready, as I had to go to a funeral.  I stitched the binding on the way to the funeral and shipped the runner out in the afternoon.  It’s so quick because you quilt it as you stitch the strips in place.   You may remember this runner from an earlier post – I showed it in dark fabrics when I introduced my new book, “Livin’ Large.”

 

The fabric is Fresh Cut by Heather Bailey.  I got it here:  http://www.heatherbaileystore.com/?Click=25

I’m also making this out of these fabrics: 

Remember when I said that I was on a mission to decorate with large scale prints in my house?  This is part of that mission.  I’m starting by redecorating my room and this will be my bed quilt.

The pattern is from the new book – “Livin’ Large” and I’ll show more on this later, as I get more finished.

 

I almost forgot – I need to announce the winners of the new patterns, chosen at random:

#8 – Moneik S, posted on Oct 16 at 4:27

#24 – Carol, posted on on Oct 16 at 9:18

#47 – Julia, posted on Oct 17 at 8:52

#88 – Sharon Dimberg, posted on OCt 24 at 3:13

Congrats to the winners and just e-mail your shipping address to hmulder@wecnet.com

 

One last photo of the woods around our house – Aren’t the colors pretty?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Little Behind

  1. cindratee says:

    That photo of Addi with the quilt is priceless… so is that quilt. Love that and the new one and table runner. They are all so lovely!

  2. Sherri says:

    What a great post…definitely worth the wait. Thank you so much for sharing your decor, your stash, and patterns! Since I didn’t win the giveaway…I’ll be heading over to Fat Quarter Shop now to order! Thanks again for such creative inspiration…the new fabric line is amazing as well!

  3. Kathi says:

    Looks like I’ll be picking up a copy of your new book. I love the pattern on those last two quilts you showed. ps What a darling photo of your daughter by the quilt.

  4. Ferne says:

    There is so much to absorb here. I am loving all your new patterns and am especially loving the table runners. I have an addiction to Charm packs too! I haven’t tried the cake ones yet. I will be looking for your books!

    You are a very creative lady with a sense of style that I am loving!

  5. mariajhmom says:

    I went to a baby shower this morning and gifted my baby sweater, so I can finally blog it.

    Glad to see that you’re doing some stuff just for you!

  6. Cathy says:

    Well, You may get down on yourself, but you are my favorite designer!! I just bought the quilt kit with your fabric from The Fat Quarter Shop and can’t wait to start working on it.
    Cathy

  7. You inspire me! I just love all the bright colors and big prints. And the sweaters — to die for — Addi is adorable in her pink sweather and hat.

    Can’t wait for your new book!

  8. Nancy says:

    Oh I am so jealous……. 5’7″ of fabric on bolts……. I will continue dreaming.

    Is the tablerunner pattern available somewhere? I think it really pops with the fabrics you chose.

    Quilty Hugs!
    Nancy

  9. Those colors are great! I love all that you have here but the table runner is very intriguing! thanks so much for sharing :)

  10. I was digging for a pattern yesterday when I came across several of your designs in my pile. See, I liked your designs before I knew of your personally or made a connection. I think your sense of style speaks to a lot of people. BTW, I stopped in my local quilt shop to drop of my Christmas wishlist, so the gals can get on my husband. I brought up your new book (because I wanted it on my list) so they are ordering it. :) They love your stuff, btw, that is exactly what they said. We even pulled up your blog. You probably have new fans even as I type.

  11. maria says:

    I love all your work, the colours are fabulous, so bright and cheerful.
    I think one of your books will have to go on my christmas wish list.
    Maria x

  12. Stephanie says:

    Congratulations to the winners. How wonderful to have bolts of your very own fabric almost as tall as you are! Lovely projects and the cap and sweater are darling but not are cute as the little one modeling them!

  13. Katie says:

    your fabric is beautiful! Congratulations! I love love love the table runner and can’t wait for a pattern!

  14. Kristina says:

    hey lady! I didn’t realize you weren’t going to fall market—but it sure sounds like you’re getting a lot done! How exciting to have all of YOUR fabric on bolts ready to create with! I’m sure it’s a long process and so nice to see the final product! Your bed quilt ROCKS–I just love how your designs work with all color palettes….Mary saw your quilt at HB’s school house, SO COOL, really!

  15. maree watt says:

    Just joined your blog & you do Lovely work..was wondering where to buy your patterns in Australia..will be popping back again …You have Gorgeous Fabrics.
    cheers for now
    maree

  16. Chelsea says:

    I have to tell you – I LOVE your fabric collection Cottage Charm. I rarely like every single fabric in a collection, but I seriously love yours! Ok, enough gushing. :) The bed quilt in the picture with Addi is beautiful too!!

  17. Cindy Lammon says:

    Hi Heather, I just came back from Market and attended Heather Bailey’s schoolhouse. Your quilt was awesome and she seemed to love it! I do a little designing and often feel the same when I see everyone else’s work. Your work is great and uniquely YOU! That’s one thing that makes quilting so much fun. There are so many unique styles! Oh, and I came home with a FQ pack of the new fabric from Henry Glass.

    I love Addi’s sweater. Can you give more information on finding the pattern on the knitty website?

  18. Carrie P. says:

    I love seeing everything you do. You are so talented. Addi is so sweet in her sweater. Yours is very pretty too.

  19. Annie says:

    Beautiful quilts and fabrics EVERYWHERE in this blog. I love it!

  20. Pingback: A Good Weekend « Trends and Traditions

  21. Karen C says:

    Is the pattern for the over and under table runner in your “Liven” Large book? If not, which book is it in. I love your patterns and would like to purchase a book but don’t know which one to get as we can only see the pattern on the front cover and not the other featured patterns when ordering over the internet. Look forward to your hearing from you. Cheers

Leave a Reply

