Winner of Little Charmers

Thanks to everyone who listed a favorite  tool.  As usual, I really enjoyed reading your comments.  Nobody was able to name the mystery thread cutting tool though – I guess I will have to keep hunting for it!  For those that took the time to jot down their favorite tool, I entered you into a drawing for the pattern shown at the end of the post.  The winners are (selected at random):

Lynn Osborne, commented on Dec 6 at 11:38 and Cory, commented on Dec 11 at 5:02 pm – Just email me at hmulder@wecnet.com to claim your pattern.  Enjoy!

 

To those with questions on my tools, I haven’t have a chance to comment back yet.  I finished the post, we threw our bags in the truck, and headed off on a little vacation.  It’s been a very busy year, and even though we have done some traveling this year, every trip has been a working trip.  We decided we needed a trip for play ONLY and booked a last minute deal on a cruise.  We have never cruised before and have heard so many people rave about it.   We were gone a week and stopped at six islands in the Caribbean.  We’ve been home most of the week, but it takes a day to unpack and do all the laundry, then we had company on Tuesday and Wednesday, so I’m finally getting around to sharing a few of our pictures with you -

dsc_0295-ps-two-ships

That’s our boat on the left and in the pic below.  By the way, the picture doesn’t even begin to show how huge the ship is!  We sailed on the Serenade of the Sea, which held 3000 people, along with 3 pools and about 10 restaurants/bars.

 dsc_0299-ps-us-and-boat1

This is after a day of sailing on a catamaran around one of the islands.  It’s a great way to see the shoreline!  It’s not so great for the hair : -)

 

dsc_0052-ps-550-x-905

There, that’s better.   At least now you can’t show the evening film on my forehead.  Yikes!  (They had formal night on the ship, so that’s why we’re dressed up.  This picture is for you Mom and my dress borrowing sister!)

 

Our first port of call – St. Thomas

dsc_0039-ps-550-x-368

 

Our second stop – St. Maarten

dsc_0117-ps-st-marten-boats

 

This is Joel in St. Maarten wearing his “quilty shorts”.  When I first met him, he made fun of all the quilters wearing quilted clothing.  Then when these patchwork-style shorts hit the stores, he surprised me by insisting on having several pairs!

dsc_0064-ps-st-marten

 

This shot was taken in St. Lucia, which had a beautiful shoreline.

dsc_0276-ps-st-lucia

 

Here’s Joel on the beach in Barbados.  I just love those vibrant colors!

dsc_0333-ps-beach-joel-barb

 

Speaking of colors, look at these houses!  They make the houses back home look pretty boring.

dsc_0018-ps-550-x-368

 

Every evening when we would sail away from the port,  people would come up onto the top deck to watch us sail away.  This was the last evening – the moon over Barbados.

dsc_0364-ps-moon-over-barba1

  

It was great to get away and enjoy some nice weather and time off.   We’ve decided we probably aren’t going to be cruisers.  That rocking of the boat really gets to you!  It was probably a dumb idea for me to go on a cruise anyways, considering that I get car sick just driving out of the driveway….  I did get that prescription patch and that helped me from getting sick.  The problem with the patch is the side-affects.  It made me really drowsy and caused my vision to be quite blurry!!!   Oh, well, it was worth a try.  At least the weather and the food was good.  When we left Puerto Rico on Sunday, it was about 90-degrees.  By the time we arrived in Minnesota, it was considerably colder and within a day, the windchill was about 30 below.  Talk about a temperature swing! – That about 120-degree difference.  It brought us back to reality  in a hurry!  Now just four months of winter left to go . . . . . .  I miss the Caribbean already!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Winner of Little Charmers

  1. Jolene says:

    Oh the memories! I was on each of those islands on my cruise about 9 years ago……absolutely beautiful!! Good for you two on taking an actual “vacation”!!! Have you stopped walking funny from being on the ship?

  2. krista says:

    WOW!! A cruise! How fun! I’m sorry you were sick! Your pictures are wonderful though. I love the formal one.

  3. dianne says:

    The chain piecing cutter is so cool – I went “searching” but came up empty-handed. There is a wicked looking tool called the “Chain Ripper” at http://www.threadandmore.com – it looks like a seam ripper stuck in a weighted base … wouldn’t want to come across it in a dark sewing room.

  4. Camille says:

    Oh that just isn’t fair. How fun! Everything looks beautiful… some day…

    120 degree difference? YIKES!

  5. Julia says:

    Heather –
    wow, a cruise in Caribbean waters…sounds like heaven…oh, that blue-green water…I want to jump into it…
    I’m sorry you had problems with sea sickness – I know how awful that is {I’m also one of the persons that get sick as soon they sit in a car…}
    Merry Christmas! And congrats to the winners!
    Hugs, Julia

  6. Bev C says:

    Oh you lucky thing. That beach sand looks so WHITE!!! I would be booking to go again. Congrats to the winner and Merry Christmas to everyone who entered. Happy days.

  7. Karen says:

    Nice pics. We went on our 1st cruise this past fall to Alaska on the Seranade of the Seas. It’s a beautiful ship.

  8. Nicole says:

    What a marvelous vacation! I am sitting here in two sweaters trying to take the chill off and to see those gorgeous beaches and blue waters makes me want to go put on my flip flops!

  9. Carrie P. says:

    Wow, what a vacation. I think all the peope who are getting tons of snow would like to be there right now.
    Congrats to the winners.

  10. Ellen says:

    How wonderful for you and Joel to be able to get away to play! The wristbands that have a little bead in it that presses on a pressure point in your wrist work well with sea or car sickness. My mom, who gets desperately sick on cruises, swears by them! Have a blessed Christmas Heather!

  11. Christine says:

    Congratulations to Lynn and Cory for winning. I’m glad you took a real vacation, Heather. And I’m glad you enjoyed it (mostly.)

  12. karylsquilts says:

    looks like a wonderful trip !!

    Specially like the quilter shorts!

    .. better yet the MR came looked over my shoulder says WE should add that to the DO list.

    nodd 3 times … yesdear.. ~~LOL

  13. Sharon Peterson says:

    Congratulations on a great vacation! I’m still waiting for my cruise, but I have the same motion problems as you. The photos are great. It’s lovely to get away, but always good to get back home. Can’t wait to see what you’ve got in store for next year.

  14. Wendy says:

    I love that black dress! Gorgeous! And you look great and super skinny in it.

Leave a Reply

