More Winter Memories

Today it is very rainy and gloomy.  I am sitting here wishing it was sunny so I could take some fun pictures for you.  I’m also thinking about how thankful I am that we are not living near one of the flooding rivers in MN.  Parts of MN are experiencing massive flooding, the snow is melting so quickly, the ground is still frozen and we are getting lots of rain.  I’ve been waiting for spring, along with lots of other Minnesotans, but this isn’t quite what we had in mind!  So with this rain, I am postponing taking house pictures for you.  It is so dark in the house I can barely see to match my fabrics without turning all the lights on.

I can’t show you those pictures, so what will I blog about today?  I also can’t show you any of the 15 or so new quilts that I am working on.  I can tell you that I am working on two new books and a single pattern for spring market.  I have about 5 days left to finish everything (Yikes!).  Next week I will be doing the photo shoot, and the next week putting the final touches on the text and color pages of the book.  The books should be ready a couple weeks after that.  It’s very busy and I have no idea how I got roped into doing two books.  I say “roped”, but it’s really my own fault.  I just don’t want to postpone an idea once I have one!  So, I keep plugging along.  With all this going on and nothing that I can share, I decided to blog about a fun weekend from a couple months back.  I didn’t get around to posting it at the time . . . .  Joel’s sister invited the entire family (about 20) up to her cabin by Brainerd  for the weekend.   We affectionately named the weekend “Winter Wack-Out.”   We also have a summer version called “Summer Spaz Fest”.   (The Peterson family has a way with words and have helped me name some of the projects in my books.)

 

Here’s our digs for the weekend -

 dsc_07541

 dsc_0760-adj

 

Let’s just  say it’s not your typical Up-North-Minnesota-cabin.  Joel’s sister has lots of fun decorating ideas, and I thought you might like to see a few of them.

dsc_0762-adj2

 

dsc_0763-adj

The cabin is small and cozy, with just enough room (barely) for everyone to have a bed or some floor space for an air bed.  Ear Plugs were handed out, in case you are light sleeper (there are a few that snore – but don’t worry , I won’t name names).  If that didn’t help, there was always lots of coffee in the morning.  That’s usually my favorite part – sitting around the fire, drinking coffee and chatting.

 

We did a few other fun things  too – Here’s Joel playing in the snow with his niece Kera.  Notice Joel’s outfit – once again, it’s camo.  He also wore this skiing.  He was easy to find because he was the only one in the entire place wearing camo. 

 

dsc_0690-adj

 

dsc_0695-adj

 

Here’s Kera learning how to ski.  I have lots of pictures of her with big smiles – we  think she liked it!

dsc_0856-adj

 

We got to see some of the kids snowboarding

dsc_0841-adj-cropped1

 

dsc_0885-adj-cropped

I learned it’s hard to get around on a snowboard, if you aren’t going down hill.  Sounds like common sense right?  I just didnt’ realize until I saw all the creative ways the snowboarders used to get around.

dsc_0909-adj-nancy

 

I also got to see Joel do some skiing.  He surprised me with how graceful he was on skis – Big surprise!  Here he is getting some air off one of the jumps

dsc_0947-adj

 

Here’s one of me -

dsc_0922-adj1

What?  You don’t think that looks like me?  Ya caught me.  Let’s just say that I stayed safely on the ground.  I’ve tried skiing twice I had a little run in with a snow fence.  I’m very grateful for the snow fence, as it saved me from the cliff on the other side!

I did join in on the tubing -

dsc_09931

 

A fun time was had by all.  Tiring, but fun.

dsc_1003-adj

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More Winter Memories

  1. Christine Thomas says:

    I’m so anxious to see what all you’ve been working on. You’re so creative and I can imagine how hard it is to keep it all in. Two books!? We’ll never be able to keep up.

    The weekend post was fun to read. I’m not real familiar with Minnesota; my sister lives in Minneapolis and I haven’t even been there, yet. So I can only imagine the cold, wet, flooding.

    Thanks for taking the time from being so busy to post something.

  2. Heather D. says:

    Good luck for getting your book finished. I loved the pictures of your weekend away, such fun times!! And what beautiful decorating your sil does. Blessings, Heather

  3. Heather D. says:

    Oops, didn’t sign in with my blog. Blessings, Heather

  4. jo says:

    I can’t wait to see all the new things you are working on. I have make three of the things from your last book and love them all.

  5. Dawn Heese says:

    Cute cabin, looks like fun. I am in Missouri and it is raining a downpour all day. yesterday was in the 70s and windy. Go figure.

  6. pattyf says:

    Does two new books and a new pattern mean new fabric line(s)? I hope so!! Can’t wait…

  7. Carrie P. says:

    Love your weekend photos. Look like a great time and someone is worn out. Cute picture.

  8. Jolene says:

    What an adorable pic of Little Miss (sleeping) Kera. She was worn out from all the skiing and fresh air!

    I’m very anxious to see your new books.

    I have some clothing (of a sister-in-law of mine who passed away a little more than 10 yrs ago) and I have been trying to get motivated to make three memory quilts for my 3 nieces (it was/is their Mom’s clothing). However, I got all “gung-ho” and began cutting most of the fabric into (I think) 6″ squares. Part way through I came to my senses and realized that I didn’t want the whole quilt just squares. I quit and left the rest of the material. Your blog on the (brain fart here……) precut fabrics and showing how you can use them to make table runners, etc etc has reinvigorated my desire to dig back into the project. Would you have any specific suggestions of patterns for throw size quilts that would work well with these types of cuts (6″ sq) and some bigger pieces. I also want to incorporate some pictures too.

    That cabin looks like one from a magazine, by the way!!!

  9. mariajhmom says:

    Hey Joey, If you ever decide you want to look respectable while skiing, just call. We’ll loan you something that’s not camo. My hubby has orange (not blaze orange though). You wouldn’t feel to spiffed up. Just right.

  10. Kathleen says:

    My husband lives in camo too. He’d like to know what Real Tree pattern Joel favors!
    Can’t wait for the new books….and a new fabric line?

  11. Nicole says:

    That last photo of the baby sleeping is the most precious thing I have ever seen.
    Can’t wait for your new books! You know I am a big fan!

  12. Kim says:

    I love your blog, Heather. Cabins in the great north country are the best!

    My mom and I just spent 10 days at the Lake Beauty Quilt Retreat in Long Prairie. Heather was our leader for 7 of the 10. She is an unbelievably fantastic retreat leader! With all she has on her plate right now, we never felt as if she had anything other than us to think about. She’s creative and comes up with clever, interesting projects for us to work on. Thanks for the great week, Heather! I’m looking forward to the new books and pattern!

  13. Pat Schlorf says:

    Looks like you had a fun weekend with lots of fresh snow. But being in MN and having the snow all melted now–I can wait a long time for winter and all that snow to come again. Cute little Kera! She looks like she had a full day.

Leave a Reply

