Our Most Stupid Mistake Ever, Continued (Part 3)

It’s been a couple weeks since my last confession – but it’s been very busy around here.  I’ve just finished up all the quilts for the new books – all 20 of them.  Wow, what a job!  Last week was the photo shoot.  I do all my own photos, and I’m an amateur photographer.  For example: I ended up taking 1300 pictures to get the 20 or so I wanted.  Today I am going to meet with the printer to finish the color correcting.  I’ve also been working on the color pages for the books, working on the layout, editing the text, testing the patterns, etc.  Next week I turn in the text, and then I will feel much better!

While I was on a photo taking spree, and the lighting was good, I took a few post-remodel shots.  If you missed the first post in this series and want to see more before pictures – click here. I also did a living-through-the-remodel post here.  This was a five year process, and we’re still not done.  Someday . . . . .  In the meantime, here is where we are at.  Sorry for taking so many pictures, but I thought you really wouldn’t get the full effect unless you saw the before and after pictures side-by-side.  By the way, this might take a bit to download – so go make yourself a snack and check back in a few -

Exterior Before

house-exterior

Exterior After

dsc_4040-adj

Here’s our front entry before

entrance

After

dsc_4089-adj

Our Living Room before

Fireplace in upstairs living room

After

dsc_4046-adj

Here’s that fireplace again –  I hope to never see that 70’s stone again.  EVER.

dsc_4050-adj

The Dining Room before

dining-room

After

dsc_4038

If it wasn’t so bright and snowy outside, you would see the lake view from these windows – you know, that evil lake view that talked us into buying this (former) disaster?   This ceiling is the only part of the original interior that we kept.  I painted it cream and my brother added the extra trim boards to dress it up a bit.

The Kitchen before

kitchen-pics-001

After

dsc_4068-adj

I think the kitchen has seen the biggest improvements.  No 70’s Z-brick anymore!

dsc_4093-adj

Joel made the concrete countertops.  We don’t recommend trying this yourself.  Not even a little bit.

dsc_4078-adj

The upstairs bath:  Sorry no before shot.  Just image stinky old carpet, three homemade vanity pieces along the right wall,  the door mounted on the left side, and ugly wallpaper.

dsc_4097-adj

You’ve already seen the master bedroom, but just to remind you – check out that mirror tile:  Too kinky for my taste.  Sure makes you wonder about the former owners . . .

Before:

master-bedroom-001

After:

bedroom-shot-adj

(See more here)

The office:  (formerly a bedroom)

dsc_4102-adj1

Downstairs Family Room

dsc_4106-adj1

dsc_4112-adj1

dsc_4123-adj

All of my quilts done with fabric from Fig Tree go in this room.

Downstairs bedroom

dsc_4136-adj

dsc_4129-adj

The last room we worked on:  The downstairs laundry/bath:

Again no before pictures.  Just imagine a storage room painted bright yellow.  No plumbing except the washer and dryer.  Both were so old that it took 3 cycles to dry jeans.  Also, did I mention that the kitchen was above this room?   The previous owners had the dishwasher hooked up with a garden hose, which ruptured and flooded the kitchen.  That meant when we tore this ceiling down, it was covered in black mold.  (I wore a mask, but still – Gross!)  I think that’s why I have trouble remembering things and I don’t see blog typos.  Just blame it on the effects of remodeling.

dsc_4150-adj

We made this vanity by buying two pre-made cabinets from Menards, then we made the shelves to fill in the middle.  I think it could pass for a custom vanity!

dsc_4156-adj

I still have to finish the door on the medicine cabinet and paint the frame around the mirror.

dsc_4157-adj

I love my Amy Butler shower curtain.  I was such an easy thing to make and helps incorporate some large-scale prints into my decorating.

My studio is above the garage.   You can check out my post on my studio here

Ahhhhh, finally.

Almost done.

It’s a small house, but it’s cozy and colorful.

Most of all, it’s home.

It took a lot for me to feel that way about this house.  For a long time, it was just our big, stupid mistake.  I’m turning my back on all those regrets.  It’s time to start living and enjoying what we’ve worked so hard for!!!!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Our Most Stupid Mistake Ever, Continued (Part 3)

  1. Jana says:

    Oh. My. Gosh. So gorgeous! I am so glad you showed all the pictures! Love seeing the before and afters!!!! And you have even given me an idea of what to do with my own white shelves I bought (your downstairs family room). How do you like your concrete counters now that you have had them for awhile? And I love the ceiling that you kept in the dining room. Everything is beautiful…..you have a right to be proud of your home!

  2. Alli says:

    Wow, your house is amazing! I’m so incredibly jealous! Your bathroom vanity is a great idea, I hadn’t thought of using pre-made cabinets and sprucing them up like that.

  3. Alli says:

    p.s. where did you get your paneled doors? Are they a Menards buy as well? We live down in Rochester and we’re hoping to replace all our hollow core doors with paneled doors.

  4. Mary-Kay C. says:

    I just love your home. I bet you don’t think it’s a stupid mistake now. Too bad I didn’t see the photo of your bathroom with the “custom” vanity before we remodelled our bathroom. I could have saved myself a few bucks. You take great photos for an amateur but then you have great things to take photos of.

  5. Just love all the pictures you’ve posted. I used to hate my house and I always dreamed of the day we could move into a better house. But about 6 years ago we started by remodeling the kitchen and living room and my attitude started to change. We’ve re-done many of the rooms since and now I love my house and can’t remember why I hated it before. We even built a 2 car garage with a room over it like yours and that has been the best thing we have ever done. Although I wish mine was a quilt studio!

  6. Ruby says:

    Thank you so much for sharing. Your home is stunning. All your hard work was worth it! Gives me hope for my own hope. Just wish I had your great taste in decorating!

  7. Alyson says:

    Just beautiful! I love all of the black furniture and the bright wall colors. I would never want to leave. You guys did such a nice job on the remodel, it looks so custom and very professional. You should be proud. Thanks for sharing those photos!

    BTW – I can’t wait to see those new quilts!!!!!

  8. mariajhmom says:

    I know what you did yesterday afternoon! Great photos. I had forgotten how bad it was.

    I picked out a pattern for Rebel Roses!

  9. Heather says:

    Beautiful! Where did you get your kitchen cabinets?

  10. Jackie says:

    Love, love, love the tour of your house!

  11. Liz says:

    Absolutly beautiful!

  12. Tricia says:

    Wow, will you come do my house? You did a spectacular job. I would love to have your decorating sense.

  13. Dawn Heese says:

    Beautiful! Can’t believe it’s the same place.

  14. diane says:

    Very Beautiful! I love it! I can tell there is high quality craftsmanship in there too! Give yourselves a big pat on the back and celebrate the marriage still being in tact!

  15. Sherri says:

    What a beautiful home you have…so many lovely colors and textures…and great decorating ideas! Thanks for the inspiration!

  16. Tammy says:

    I know it was difficult, but your hard work has paid off big time – you have a GORGEOUS home, and what makes it so cozy is all your beautiful quilts.

  17. Jessica says:

    Oh my gosh! WOW! What an amazing transformation! You did a beautiful job. I LOVE it. I love all the quilts and colors. We are thinking of a simialr type of project, you have really inspired me!

  18. Kate says:

    I think “Amazing” is the best word to describe that transformation! Your house is absolutely stunning, but I can’t imagine how much work that took.

  19. Amy D. says:

    thank you for all the time it took to share this project. It is stunning! It also gives me an the overwhelming desire to bring you a cup of tea and send you to bed at 7:30. It looks exhausting!

  20. I word- BEAUTIFUL :0)

  21. Kelly Ann says:

    Y’all looking for a boarder? What amazing decorating taste you have.

  22. Nicole says:

    What a transformation! You worked total magic. You have such a beautiful home, and good for you for showing off your fabulous quilts in it!

  23. Ferne says:

    Your house has turned out beautiful! The quilts really help warm it up and make it a ‘home’.

  24. Jackie says:

    Can I come live at your home or at least visit? Not only is it gorgeous, but has quilts all over. It is so inviting and homey. You have such a flair and eye for design.

  25. Jana says:

    I am excited to see your new quilts. I have one of yours on the back of my couch and just love it!

    Your home is so inviting. What a job! I am amazed at what people can do. I know my marriage couldn’t survive a remodel :)

  26. Ann says:

    Great to get an update!

    You have made wonderful changes to your house to make it a home!

    Anxiously awaiting a sneak peak of your new designs!

  27. Dawn says:

    Wow!! Your mistake looks like a masterpiece to me!! Amazing!!

  28. girlsmama says:

    I am flabergasted! That is an amazing transformation. Incredible done.

  29. Camille says:

    Well, I think I speak for us all when I say WOW. There is no way in heck you can call THAT a mistake. It is absolutely gorgeous! Can I fly you out to my house next? Please?? PLEASE?

    Unbelieveable, seriously. NICE work guys.

    Oh, and also, I have the same quilt hanging above my stairs. I love it!

  30. Andi says:

    A great improvement.
    I love how you incorporate your quilts into almost every room. It really brings a warmth and individuality to the house. Makes it more of a home!!
    Thanks for sharing
    Andi :-)

  31. Jane Weston says:

    Thank you for the tour…it looks wonderful! I love that you have used colour in every room and that there are quilts on ever bed and wall…that would be my dream! (my dh isn’t partial to padded walls ;o)

  32. Julie says:

    Your house is amazing. I love all your quilts everywhere too.

  33. Kelly O. says:

    WoW! Fantastic! I was glad for all those photos. It’s easier to get a sense of it. We’ve been through something similar ourselves, however we weren’t living in it at the same time!
    Congratulations on a beautiful home!

  34. V says:

    it’s so worth the work now, right! Lovely home. great colors. love the fireplace!

  35. Rosa says:

    Beautiful! You guys should be super proud of yourselves. It is a dream home, for sure!

  36. laura w says:

    Ok I LOVE LOVE LOVE your house…I’m going to print off this pics and keep them in my inspiration file for the house that I get one day…I can only dream :o)

    Seriously, its so beautiful!!!

  37. rachel says:

    wow. wow. wow.
    talk about a transformation.
    geez o’ pete

    i loved looking at your now pics.
    very inspiring.
    it’s exactly the examples i’ve been looking for to show my hubby about how i want quilts hanging out in our house.

    quick question…
    in your livingroom pic, the quilt laying over the back of the loveseat…
    what pattern is that??? and what line is that you used??? {it looks like moda fabrics.}

  38. christine3 says:

    What a fabulous home. It was definitely worth the wait.. I am sure alot of hard work went into it…but look at the result!! I love all the color on the walls and all the quilts! You are an inspiration to me!!

    Enjoy your home!!!!!!!!!

  39. A Betty says:

    Your sense of design and color carry right through to your decorating. I really like the pretty colors you chose and it’s so nice and uncluttered. It’s extremely attractive- right out of Better Homes and Gardens. I am now the proud owner of three of your books- and eager to see more. A Betty

  40. emmalei says:

    WOW!!!! I LOOOOVE your quilts all over the place.

  41. Karla says:

    I’m a new reader to your blog. Your home is fabulous! I love, love, love the quilt that is draped across the back of your leather chair near the fireplace. I’m trying to find it. :) thank you for sharing your pictures with all of us.

  42. scrappylady says:

    That had to be SO much work!!! Your home is so beautiful, thanks for sharing so many photos with us. I would also love living next to a lake. I’ve always loved the water, its sounds and smells. It’s so fun to see all of your beautiful quilts throughout your home. You have a great sense of color and I love all your neat painted walls. I’m sure you must really enjoy it now!

  43. Janet says:

    What a beautiful home. You should be proud of yourselves! All the hard work paid off. My DH is building new kitchen cabinets for us (yes, he is that talented!) and they are similar to yours. May I ask where you got your light fixtures? That is the style I’ve been looking for. We love that Mission/Craftsman look.

  44. Jeanine says:

    Love your decorating style. I wish my house looked as beautiful as yours. I was wondering how you hung your quilts without any rods or hardware showing.

  45. dpepsi says:

    B E A U T I F U L !!!
    Will you share your paint colors with us???

  46. I have thoroughly enjoyed your remodeling pictures. My husband and I have combed over the kitchen pictures especially. In the late summer, we will be starting our own kitchen remodel.

    Would you be willing to share the paint color name and brand of the yellow you have chosen for your home. I love it! Also, the green that is in your kitchen?

    Thank you for sharing. Your home is beautiful! What wonderful work you did!

  47. Jolene says:

    What a beautiful home you have and a view to top it all off!! Now relax back and enjoy.

  48. Heather says:

    Love your house! I am so jealous of all you got done in your house in 5 years! I have been in mine almost 4 and thought we were doing okay…not anymore. Love your house, love your patterns. I just made the one from American patchwork and quilting, andit is my favorite quilt yet. I can’t wait to try more of your patterns.

  49. Kris says:

    It’s fabulous, and oh so homey!

  50. Barbara says:

    Absolutely stunning!! All credit to you and your husband.

    Barbara
    Cornwall,
    GB

  51. wendysquilting says:

    Thank you for the tour of your home, you did a such a great job creating perfect home for displaying your quilts :)

  52. SarahB says:

    Your home is absolutely beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing the photos with us! I’ve saved this post in my reader to go back to for remodeling ideas one day. :)

  53. Staci says:

    Wow! I love what you’ve done. How long did it take? We are currently remodeling an old house as well. Your kitchen is exactly what I’m looking to do. Would you share the wood & stain (if you know the name) you used? We’re currently debating between quarter sawn oak, knotty alder, and regular red oak.

  54. Thanita says:

    I have house envy. You have the colors in my home and more! Very pretty :)

  55. Joan Parker says:

    Where can I get the pattern for the quilt hanging over the leather chair (with the black and white pinwheels)?? I assume it’s one of your patterns.

    Thanks so much. Love what you did with the house.

  56. Sharon Erickson says:

    Hi Heather,
    Lynda B. gave me your address.
    I LOVE what you’ve done to your house! Great job. Tons of work. You should submit it to magazines and post it on HGTV’s Rate My Space. I posted a few things and they sent out a field producer in Feb and taped some inspiration room footage of my bedroom. It airs next Fri. May 15 at 7pm.
    Thanks for the house tour. What fun!
    Sharon

  57. Cathy says:

    I love your house! You are so talented! I love every detail you’ve done in every room. Maybe now I’m not afraid to
    try color on my walls! What brand is your leather couch?
    I’ve been looking for one & haven’t liked any as much
    as yours. It looks so comfy! I have a green chair similar
    to yours. I just bought my first quilt pattern book by you.
    I’m glad I discovered it!

  58. Pam says:

    My goodness!! We are in the middle of a major renovation — this gives me hope!!

  59. Ka-Lee says:

    I love love love your style! I am getting ready to embark on a remodel/addition to my own home. I have too many questions but, how did you decide when and where to add white trim and when and where to add stained. My house is 20 years old with dark oak trim. I love the wood look but want to incorporate the white trim too. I just don’t know how or where to stop and start it so it looks like it goes. I would love any ideas you could give me. Thanks.

  60. Peggy says:

    Your remodel is absouletly amazing. I love all the extra details you have included with the arch above the bathroom mirror and the ceilings in the dining room and the downstairs bedroom. I have just found your blog and have really enjoyed reading your posts.

  61. Andrea Hoover says:

    Oh… your home is LOVELY! (So are your quilts… swoon!)

    Would you share your paint colors with me? Especially the living room and dining room colors – and that FABULOUS green in the kitchen??

    I’d be so appreciative.

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

