Color Options and a Fun Contest!

Today I thought I would share a few quilts that I have been working on over the past four months.   I finally got the binding sewed on and some pictures taken.   They are all from the pattern Simple Sixties.  I’ve been stashing large scale prints for a while and this pattern is perfect for showing on those beautiful prints!

ANK%20293%20pattern%20front

 

Here’s the first color option –  It’s the same layout as the quilt in the lower right hand corner of the pattern.

adj

 

The fabrics are from several different lines.  The pattern only takes 10 fat quarters, so I used a few odds-n-ends to make this quilt.

DSC_9375-adj

 

Here’s the close-up of the prints and my simple quilting design -

DSC_0293-adj

 

The second quilt I’ve finished is in the upper left corner of the pattern front.  For my color option, I’ve used mostly prints designed by Amy Butler, with a few others thrown in.  The pattern only requires 6 colored fat quarters, but I used more for a scrappier look.

DSC_0285-adj

 

Look how many leaves are on the group already in Minnesota.  Remember my last post . .  something about good-bye summer? 

 Well,   HELLO   fall!

DSC_0281-adj

 

Here’s the close-up of the prints and machine quilting -

DSC_8090

 

And lastly, another version of my Beach Balls design, shown in the lower left hand corner of the pattern front.

DSC_7313-adj2

 

I had so much fun quilting the feathers into this one.  They were really simple to do and I didn’t even have to mark the design.  I typically do a feather design like this on the border of a quilt and have to mark it before I stitch it.  With this quilt, I just followed the shape already established by the white fabric.  Easy Peasy!

DSC_6923-adj

 

I hope all these color options have put you in the mood to try some color options of your own.  Head on over to the Moda Fabric Matcher where Moda is hosting a contest featuring 5 of my designs.  It’s your chance to come up with your own color combination using their wonderful fabrics.   Click hereto see my designs that are featured.  At the end of the month a favorite design will be chosen and will be rewarded with some fun prizes, including Moda fabric and a collection of autographed books from me.   So, hurry over, get busy, and share some fun color combinations with me!!!! (and a few others). 

Can’t wait to see what you all come up with ;- )

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Color Options and a Fun Contest!

  1. De-lurking to say that you did a beautiful job with those quilts. Awesome!

  2. corinnea says:

    These are so gorgeous. I love the bold colors you chose. Your quilting is great, easy peasy feathers?? Ha ha
    I really enjoy your blog and your tutorials are wonderful!

  3. Mary Flynn says:

    They are all just gorgeous….love the feathers too!

  4. Heather says:

    Wow!! Those quilts are amazing – you are one talented lady!!!

  5. Lisa Otis says:

    very nice!!! i love the picture of the quilt in the grass with the fall leaves around it. pretty

  6. Barb says:

    They are just wonderful!!

  7. Estrella says:

    Me encanta tus diseños y las combinaciones de colores es explosivo. Estas hecha una autentica diseñadora artista

  8. A Betty says:

    I wish I could quilt as pretty as you do.

  9. Kelly O. says:

    so fresh! seeing these quilts in this way just put your patterns on my Christmas list!

  10. Melissa says:

    Heather, your quilts are absolutely stunning. The color choices and the quilting itself- FABULOUS. You are an inspiration! Thank you for sharing such beauty with us!

  11. Mary says:

    Beautiful and the quilting is also lovely.

  12. Dena says:

    Great job in your color selections. Your quilting really makes the quilts pop, especially the zig zag one with the feathers.

  13. Viv says:

    Wow, what beautiful quilts. i love the patterns. What do you use for marking the quilting lines on white fabric??

  14. Christine says:

    Beautiful … your quilts are always inspiring.

  15. amber says:

    Those are all so beautiful. I couldn’t even tell you which one is my favorite, but I want to make them all.

  16. Zarina says:

    I love the two new quilts. Very vibrant and yet great for any rooms.

  17. Karen says:

    Great quilts! Love the quilting in the quilt with the Amy butler fabrics.

  18. Nicole says:

    I love each of the variations you made! That feather quilting is awesome. Could not be more perfect!

  19. Wendy B says:

    beautiful, that’s all I can say…..beautiful!!!!

  20. Patti says:

    They are all gorgeous ~ very inspiring for a novice. You are one fantastic quilter.

  21. Christine says:

    I love them all! You are very talented.

  22. Now where can I find that 60 degree angle with a FLAT TOP? I have looked on the Creative Grids site and they all have pointed tops.
    Help! I have the pattern and the layer cakes ready to make some “simply sixites.”

    Thanks!

  23. Marie says:

    -Love the combinations again. One of these would be perfect for some Kaffe Fasset quarters I bought (a few) years ago at the MN Quilters Show. They were only $1 ea.! I love the flower with the curly Q quilting design. Bravo!

  24. Sandra Cousins says:

    I really love your blog, this is the first time I have visited. I have afew of your designs and have noticed that the “simple” quilting design (ha ha, for us still struggling to learn!!) appears in a few of your quilts. I am talking about the swirly design you’ve used in the funky pink triangular design quilt first pictured in this post. Can you direct me to where I may find a drawing of this quilt design, as I do admire the all-over pattern. Sandy

  25. Mary says:

    Loved your trunk show in Alexandria tonight. The quilts and runners looked even prettier in person. I hope I remember to come peak at your blog from time to time.

  26. Hi, i just came across this. I would love to find the beach ball pattern that you used. The links no longer exists, so you have another way to find it? Thanks so much!

  27. maryval1 says:

    I am going to be quilting the top on the upper right of the pattern for a client, the one with the irregular edges. Did you find the 60 degree triangle pieces stretchy? almost a bias cut. Planning to starch the top and baste first. Any tips on quilting these? thanks!! I love this pattern, I may have to make one of these myself.

Leave a Reply

