Snow . . .Already?

Can you believe it? 

DSC_0787 

It’s snowing in MN already.  So while my designer colleagues are in Houston, melting away in the heat at quilt market, I am at home in Minnesota with the snow.  I really miss seeing everyone and all of the beautiful things.  I’ve been checking the blogs every few hours to see if there are any updates.  What I miss the most is probably Sample Spree at the Moda table.  I feel like I’m missing out on all the new lines that are coming out.  After Sample Spree, I love going back to the hotel, opening up all my packs of fabrics, and imagining what I  am going to do with them.  Gosh, I feel like I’m so behind already!  Instead, I am sitting here on the couch with my knitting and my feet up.

DSC_0773 

It’s not all bad, I tell myself.  I’ve been gone traveling so much for work lately, that it’s great to have a Sunday to sit and rest.  But, I keep glaring out the window.  Glaring because it’s too early for snow.  I still have our outdoor furniture outside because I’m still hoping it will be nice enough outside to use it.

DSC_0784 

I’m eyeing the shoreline of the lake warily.  I’m watching for signs of ice. 

DSC_0759-adj

 

I just hate when the lake freezes over and it’s way to early for that.  DSC_0750-adj 

I’ll be out there with a whole arsenal or hair dryers if I have to, but the lake is not freezing over yet.

DSC_0753

 

By later in the day, the lake looks like this – and the snow is accumulating on the deck. 

DSC_0780-adj

 

I could be enjoying the beauty of the first snowfall, the way the snow clings to the branches and leaves, but I’m too busy being mad.  Can you tell?  It’s just too stinkin’ early for snow.  I was still waiting for fall.  The leaves were just beginning to turn and the weather changed.  In fact, there are leaves on the ground, but most of them are green.  They got blown off the trees before they even had a chance to change color.  These flowers were all blooming yesterday.

DSC_0746-adj

Yes, I’m mad at winter for stealing falls thunder.

 Sorry about all the ranting and raving.  I’ll try to be in a better mood next time you stop by!  I’m sure any fellow Minnesotans understand.  The rest of you can just feel sorry for us, maybe send over a few very sympathetic comments.  Mostly, just wish us some warm weather to melt the snow.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Snow . . .Already?

  1. Jana says:

    Winter lasts forever in MN! At least you have your quilts to keep you warm :)

  2. Rachelle says:

    Feeling the same way in Colorado!

  3. Peggy says:

    As a fellow Minnesotan I so totally understand. As I was working last night we were watching for the snow to start flying. I refuse to start wearing my winter coat yet. It is too early. Snow snow go away and come back in December. The only good thing is ours has pretty much already melted. I hope yours is also gone. It also looks like you have a shed that still needs to be sided. Good luck getting that finished. This weather is not helping that project.

  4. pretty property… especially your view…

  5. Ann says:

    It migth be snowing, but aren’t you glad your ‘Ax Men” removed the potentially problem trees?

    What is it with the guys and the need to use their chain saws…. I had to laugh at a previous post of yours. Last fall I think hubby watched too much Ax Men too.

    You will get lots of new abrics coming your way soon to work your magic! Always like to see your designs. For now, enjoy your knitting time!

  6. Kris says:

    Oh, it is beautiful Heather! I would love to live where it snows. But I only have to drive an hour away for it in our local mountains where my family has a cabin, so I do get to experience it. My best friend is from MN but lives here. She is going home for Christmas and so hoping for snow! But for your sake, let’s hope this was just a little error of mother nature, and you still have a bit more warmth. For surely your winter will be long enough as it is.
    Lovely knitting btw!

  7. Tara says:

    I’m with Rachelle–I don’t care if we live in Colorado and Minnesota–two wintry states. I want my fall and I want it now!! We’re already blowing through our wood pile! So here’s some serious commiseration coming your way.

  8. Julia says:

    I’m with you, I want fall. But I live in Vegas so fall doesn’t look much different than winter. I wish I could live in a place that had ALL of the seasons! Hope it gets better for you!!

  9. Janice says:

    What lovely photos i guess sitting somewhere else does make them look all the nicer actually i swap as long as i could stay indoors lol
    Lovely what your knitting very nice
    Hugs Janice

  10. wendysquilting says:

    We woke up to snow Saturday morning here too and I agree its just way too early! September was such a beautiful weather month for fall and then someone flicked a switch and brrrr

  11. Linda says:

    Sitting here in the mountains of N GA, we are getting lots of rain. While the leaves were starting to turn, it will be cold by the end of the week, and rain will probably cause the leaves to fall early. (We still have plenty to rake all ready) …… mean while, my kids are roasting in the heat in Florida – is there a happy medium??
    Your knitting is beautiful and what a great view to sit and knit and gaze out of the window.

  12. V says:

    eeeek! way to early for MN! winter is long enough!!! Although I wish I had a picture of my cabin in the snow! the lake looks amazing!! stay warm and happy knitting!!

  13. Brenda says:

    I no longer live in MN but on the east coast. We usually don’t get much snow here. I really don’t miss MN winters!

    Is that a quilt on your front porch? What is it made with, fabric? I love it!

  14. Kris Bair says:

    what a bummer to have snow this early! But here in Ohio we had a week of rain and cold – I’m really not sure which is worse! Lovely knitting
    Kris

  15. Gladys says:

    Hola! No se ponga mal! Yo también odio el invierno! Yo vivo en Argentina y ahora comenzó la primavera, pero tuvimos un invierno frío, no hay nieve en mi ciudad, pero sí muchas heladas y viento congelado! Así que la entiendo!!! Pero bueno, el frío es necesario para que los animales descansen y la naturaleza se equilibre, aunque esto no sea lo que queremos! Jajaja!!! Por favor, prepárese un chocolate con leche bien caliente, ponga su música preferida y siga ese suéter tan magnífico que está tejiendo! Un cálido abrazo! Que tenga una hermosa semana! Muchos BESOTES (son besos muy grandes y es mi marca registrada)!!!

  16. Doris says:

    Oh, Heather, I can totally relate, we woke up to snow here in Iowa on Saturday. Being an ardent admirer of Autumn, I was quite angry with Winter. It hasn’t gone back away, yet, either. He needs to wait his turn. Ugh.

  17. Vickie E says:

    Hi Heather, I missed you at quilt market cause I really wanted to meet you…maybe spring?? anyhow..now that I have done sample spree…I totally understand.

  18. Marie says:

    Wow! Snow already, and here I was wondering when would be the best time to visit MN. You had a post where the snow had just melted and it was spring.

    I live in Albuquerque NM and we are getting unusual cold weather here too and what a short summer.

    I love fall. But it will be short lived as well.
    My uncle is not to far from Houston, and I just spoke to him last night, low 90 degree weather there.

    You look so cozy there knitting away. I love your post and pictures, this will certainly get me going on some quilts very soon.

    It is just too early..I absolutety understand. Wishing you some warm weather….

  19. arlijohn says:

    Really beautiful photos, but I commiserate. Here we are having a beautiful fall, I am really enjoying the color. I dread the dead time though.

  20. We had snow in NH this morning. YUCK! I agree with you and I usually whine all winter about it. But then there’s the great winter coat I just bought along with all my beautiful scarves. At least I’ll look cute!

  21. Heather says:

    Luckily our snow has been holding off – funny how just because you live in Canada people always assume we get snow first – nope! So here is to hoping your weather warms up and the snow melts.

  22. A Betty says:

    It’s hard to keep upbeat with the rain and snow in abundance. I was looking forward to trips through the grove in the sunny fall weather. By the way, what is the quilt on your couch? It looks like it has chains and pinwheels. Is it in one of your books?

  23. Anne says:

    I know exactly what you mean. We had 7 inches a couple of weeks ago! We missed you in Houston. Not the same without cute Heather there. Heat and humidity were almost unbearable tho! ICK! (Your pics are really pretty even if you are mad!)

  24. My husband is from MN and so wants to move back. Not sure I could handle it but here in central California we are having our first rainy day since last spring. I know you are going to think I sound bratty, but sun every.single.day.for.months is BORING. We don’t even have “fall.” We have summer, and then winter. So I am enjoying the rain today (I should be living in Portland) and thinking it is perfect quilting weather.

    Your view is really wonderful. And your knitting is awesome.

  25. Karen Simpson says:

    I truly wish you could shoo a bit of that cold down here to Florida. It is still in the 90′s. I am sooooo tired of the relentless heat and tired of summer clothes. Gosh your knitting is lovely.

  26. Carol says:

    Montana is snow covered, too. We have been extremely cold for 6 days….high school football watching at 21 degrees is no fun, you should have seen all the quilts that came out of the closets for bundling up on a Friday night. I love your lake veiw, keep posting more OK?

  27. Susan says:

    I feel your pain. We got snow here in Alberta last Thursday and I walked around the house all day grumbling about it. Winter here is way too long at the best of times but almost unbearable if it starts the first week of October! Thankfully the forecast for this weekend is much warmer.

    Nice knitting … are your hands every idle?

  28. Iva says:

    I feel your pain — though it’s not snowing here in Kansas…yet. Before I left for vacation a couple of weeks ago it was warm and sunny and there were still tomatoes on the vine just beginning to ripen. It was also warm and sunny where we were vacationing. Then I return home to cold, dreary, rainy, cold (did I mention that) weather. What happened to autumn!!!!

  29. Oh yes, I understand!! Can you come over with your hair dryer when you’re finished with your lake and keep mine from freezing too?

  30. Kathleen says:

    We seem to have skipped fall too. Only a few weeks and already it feels more like winter. No snow, but definitely our definition of winter (in Washington state). I think I would be blissfully happy with a view like yours no matter the weather! Winter is my favorite season….maybe I should see about moving there.

  31. Tracy P says:

    I’m right there with you! I had a similar rant on my blog! I am so not ready for winter!

  32. Jan says:

    Your knitting is just stunning and would love to see more of your work. Knitting is my new obsession.

    I can not even begin to comprehend your weather this time of year. I live in the south, and to even get that much in the dead of winter causes much celebrations! Every 10 yrs. or so, we may get a foot, but it is rare! I will enjoy the beauty of it through your eyes. Thanks!

    Sorry about not getting to go to Quilt Market. Go over to Fabritopia’s blog~she has some great photos of it all!

  33. Patti Tappel says:

    Your pictures are so beautiful. Makes me want snow. Sounds like here in the mid-west we might have an early winter.
    Pretty at first, but by February we are wanitng the spring pictures!
    Have a great weekend.

  34. Denise Briggs says:

    Hi,
    Last weekend we were visiting in Omaha NE. I enjoyed watching my Granddaughter wake up to delight of 6 inches of surprise snow. Her eyes were so round. She and her Dad were able to make a snowman with plenty of snow still left for sledding!

    At home two hours north of Omaha, there was only a dusting and there was snow three times at my home this fall.

    Such is the variety of the Midwest. We love the seasons no matter how short or how intense. I say we have 6 seasons. Spring, Summer, Tropical Summer, Fall, Winter and Artic Winter.

    I so enjoy your blog. I also enjoy my Granddaugther’s other Grandma that sent me an autographed book and pattern and tool from your trunk show in Spearfish SD. Thank you, you delight us!

    Sincerely,
    Denise

  35. Debbie says:

    I understand totally! Particularly after last winter. Where is Indian summer??

  36. Carol says:

    YOU DO HAVE A NICE HOME ON THE LAKE..

  37. Pauline says:

    You seem to live in a very beautiful setting. I live “where the sun spends the winter” and then lots more. I just came thru the hottest summer on record. I live in the desert of So.CA. and we never even get much rain. But – we do grow wonderful vegetables that you all are able to enjoy and I love seeing the beautiful snow, but I agree I would want it in Dec. and not early October

Leave a Reply

