Yeah – It fits!

Well, I’m back and hopefully in a better mood than my last post!  It was funny to read all of your comments – Either people totally understood me being mad about the snow, or they thought I was totally lucky to get snow!  I really do enjoy all of the seasons here in Minnesota, I just prefer winter to start in December, not October.  It makes a long winter that much longer.  The snow passed and was replaced with a week of rain and gloomy weather.  Today is looking up though, as it’s supposed to be sixty and sunny.  I can hardly wait!  All that gloomy weather put me in the mood to knit and I finished the sweater that I was working on in my last post.

DSC_0833-adj

 

I was happily surprised that it fit so well.  So often I spend so much time on a project that I find out later doesn’t fit that well.  Then the question is to rip it out and alter it, or just wear it as it.  I have to say, I love the fact that my quilting doesn’t have to fit anybody.  It makes things so much easier!   In this case, I altered the pattern a bit ahead of time, in an effort to try to get it to fit me better.  The pattern is supposed to increase for the bust line and have 10 leaf repeats around the neck.  I ended up with 9 repeats and the gamble paid off – it fits in the hips and bust!

DSC_0883-adj

(Please disregard my expression in this picture – Joel wasn’t home to help take the pictures, so I had my camera perched precariously on top of a stack of books and used my remote control switch-thingy to snap the pictures.)

 

I just love the neck line of this sweater.  It’s really quite easy to do.  I was a little leery of all the bobbles though.  I usually avoid bobbles, as they have kind of a  . . . . well . . . . how shall I say this . . . . nippular look to them  – especially when there is just one here and there.  I think having a cluster of them together helped.

DSC_0880-adj

 

I highly recommend this pattern to anyone.  It’s really quick and easy, and has some fun details.  I found it in the Debbie Bliss knitting magazine – spring/summer ’09 issue.  The pattern is called Yoke Detail pullover and the yarn is used is called Birch, Loop-d-Lopp by Tahki Charles.  It’s a combination of cotton and silk and has a slightly tweedy look to it.  It blocked beautifully and got rid of any unevenness in my knitting.

DSC_0884-adj3

 

Well, I’m off to go out and enjoy the nice weather we are supposed to have for today.  As I said, Joel is gone for the weekend hunting, so I am going to do a few girl things – I might go shopping for some new shoes, then I’m going to head over to Mom’s to make some yummy things with apples, followed by a movie and games with my nieces and nephews.  Sounds like way too much fun for one day, so I better get going.  Hope you enjoy your weekend too! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Yeah – It fits!

  1. Tina C. says:

    Your sweater is gorgeous! Have a great weekend!

  2. Karen Simpson says:

    Your sweater is really lovely. Of course the fact that you are young, slim and pretty doesn’t hurt either. I remember those days about myself but they are long gone and we don’t wear sweaters here very often.
    My family lives in Bemidji and I talk to them a couple of times per week so I know they are bummed out about snow so early, too. We actually got “cool” weather here in central Florida today. I am sooooooo tired of the 90’s every day.

  3. Southern Gal says:

    That’s the most beautiful handknit sweater I’ve ever seen! I wish I could knit. I like lightweight sweaters. I don’t like bulk and this one looks perfect.

    Wow.

  4. What a beautiful sweater! It fits to a tee, and the neckline is really nice.

  5. Barb says:

    Great job and a wonderful color for you!!

  6. Rachel says:

    The sweater is beautiful and it looks just wonderful on you. Great job!

    Our snow all melted in the last couple of days, so we’re back to Fall-ish weather. Thank goodness; I wasn’t ready for winter to start, either!

    Have a great weekend!

  7. Kris says:

    First of all, the sweater turned out beautifully! Perfect color for your blue eyes! And on such a trim body, it hugs in all the right places. I am BRAND new to knitting. In fact, all I have done are dishrags, but I love them!!!
    Enjoy the nice weather. I am off to my nephew’s wedding today. It is hot here!!

  8. A Betty says:

    That is definitely your color. Great pictures and great knitting!

  9. Gladys says:

    Hola! Veo que terminó el suéter y tal como yo lo imaginaba, quedó BELLISIMO!!! Felicitaciones!!! Se ve que está de mejor humor, y eso la ayudará a disfrutar su fin de semana! Muchos Besotes!!!

  10. Premium says:

    Nice info! Very cool post.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.Doesn’t it take up a lot of time to keep your blog so interesting ?

  11. Jennifer says:

    I can’t believe you knitted a whole sweater? How long did it take? Its absolutely gorgeous! ;)

  12. Marie says:

    Fabulous sweater…..you know how to pick ‘em…beautiful colour on you!

  13. Monika says:

    Your sweater is beautiful! It makes me want to finish a knitting project or two of my own.

  14. Kit says:

    Beeeyootiful sweater!

  15. Karen says:

    Your sweater is beautiful and the blue look gorgeous on you.

  16. Sara says:

    That sweater is gorgeous! I love the neckline and pattern…

  17. Tracy says:

    The sweater looks fantastic – and it seems to fit you perfectly! Great job!

  18. Nicole says:

    When I was a kid, my parents moved me to a ski resort town in the Chilean Andes–San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina. There were tons of yarn shops and a plethora of talented knitters. My mom and I got so interested in knitting, and I made my first sweater at the age of 14. Unfortunately, I did not keep up the knitting once I returned to California and high school! Seeing your gorgeous blue sweater makes me wonder what I could have accomplished if I had stuck with knitting. You are so talented! And beautiful!

  19. Janice says:

    Loved your sweater really nice
    Hugs Janice

  20. Chris Wells says:

    Your Sweater is lovely. I knit but have the trouble of not knitting even stitches also. I really like the neckline on this pattern. I have one in progress and instead started to hand quilt a quilt top so need to get my knitting back out and start over. Thanks for sharing. Chris

  21. Delurking to let you know that the sweater is beautiful!!!!!

  22. Mary Flynn says:

    It’s wonderful and you look fab in it!!

  23. Julia says:

    Oh wow, that is really beautiful! It looks like it’s really hard to do. I think I’ll stick with learning how to quilt right now. Too much in my head and I’ll probably stop everything!!

  24. mariajhmom says:

    Are you leaving the top crust off the apple pies this time?

    The sweater is awesome!

  25. Jan says:

    This turned out just fabulous! I am anxious to try this yarn. Cotton and silk sounds so wonderfully soft! Aren’t you just thrilled when something you took hours to create fits so perfectly!? I am finding that to be a real challenge~to have a knitted garment fit just like I want it. Awesome in every way!

  26. bevb says:

    Beautiful sweater. The person wearing it is beautiful too!–inside and out. You are a blessing Heather! Your creativity amazes me.

  27. Debbie says:

    Is nippular a word ?? :) The sweater is perfect and fits beautifully. In recent years my weight is all over the place. Somehow I just can’t bring myself to put that effort into a garment for myself, but looking at your works is inspiring.

  28. seemommysew says:

    As a non-knitter, I’m having a hard time believing that it wasn’t incredibly difficult! It is gorgeous! I love it and it fits so perfectly. And, yes, that is one of the reasons I love quilting too…..no fitting!

  29. glenda says:

    Heather
    That sweater is so pretty on you. The color looks lovely with your hair. I haven’t knitted in a long time, but maybe I’ll have to start up again.
    Thanks for sharing.

  30. Amy says:

    Just beautiful! Your new book on table runners looks like a lot of fun, too.

  31. Jane Weston says:

    What beautiful pictures! The sweater is so pretty too. I think you are right, bunches of berries look better than the odd one here and there :o)

  32. Holley says:

    Beautiful sweater!

  33. Perry says:

    Your sweater is really beautiful. You did a great job on it.

  34. Miriam says:

    Beautiful photographs of you and the sweater. I love the design!

    I hope you had a great weekend!!

  35. CJ says:

    Beautiful Sweater!!! I’ve never attempted to knit or crochet but that sweater sure makes me wish that I knew how. Hope you enjoyed your sunny day. :D

  36. What a beautiful sweater. You are so talented…. I just love the top of it.

  37. SarahB says:

    Such a beautiful sweater! I’m amazed by it! I would love to learn to knit one day!

  38. Diane Ruby says:

    Heard about your blog from Fatquarter Shop — it will definitely go on my favorites list! I’m originally from Minnesota (now living in California) and totally understand what you’re talking about. I have to say, I miss those first snowfalls, but not the last ones when they come in April. My sister is still living in Minneapolis, so I get regular weather reports. The sweater is beautiful and looks great on you. Something about fall makes you want to get those knitting needles out!

  39. Linda says:

    Absolutely love the sweater, and also the neckline!! You do fabulous work in whatever you pick up – and new shoes????? You go girl!!!! Thanks for the give aways to Fat Quarter Shop – I am usually looking thru there too, and it was quite generous of you to provide the give aways!!
    Enjoy your nice weather!!

  40. Cindy says:

    I’m so glad I ran across your name and new book on Fat Quarter Shop’s Jolly Jabber to find your blog.

    What a special talent you truly are. And, your new book will DEFINITELY find a home in my sewing room – SOON!!

    I am browsing around your blog and LOVE the many outdoor photos you share – it’s wonderful to see other parts of the country.

    Sewing hugs and blessings…always.

  41. Christine Williams says:

    Your sweater is beautiful. I wanted to thank you for generiously giving Fat Quarter Shop 10 of your new tablerunner books, On the Run, for a give away for their customers. You are awesome!

  42. Patty says:

    I love your sweater…and agree about winter coming too early!

  43. Lori says:

    Oh wow, that is a beautiful sweater! I just learned how to knit this summer and up until yesterday only knew how to do dishcloths. Yesterday I took my first class to learn how to make a hat. Hopefully one day I can make something as beautiful as your sweater. Thanks for the inspiration (knitting & quilting). I just love your creations!

  44. Brenda says:

    What a beautiful sweater and it’s my favorite color no less. You did a super job knitting it. Wonder where I could find the pattern.
    I love winter and your pictures are beautiful –
    and so are you.
    Thanks for being so generous in your giveaways.

  45. Martha says:

    What a beautiful sweater – you are so talented! And thank you for your generous book giveaway Fat Quarter Shop told me about – I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I win a copy!

  46. Jackie R. says:

    I am totally impressed with your knitting! Beautiful and you knitted it faster than I could even dream the knitting. I’m a knitting wannabe, I’m super @ sewing/quilting and I’m a goof-up with knitting needles. Even tried taking hubby into buying me a knitting machine…..did you catch my ‘past tense’? I’m still a knitting wannabe.
    Once more, just lovely!!!

  47. DonnaC says:

    What a beautiful sweater! You did such a great job.
    And, you’re entitled to not want snow this early. Coming from Maine (where we had a bit of snow this past weekend) I can feel your pain. I always hope for the snow to hold off until after Thanksgiving. Then there are the years where we have a green Christmas. Go figure!
    Happy Knitting!!!

  48. Beautiful sweater! And thank you too for the FQ Shop giveaway! :-)

  49. Kim D. says:

    Gorgeous Sweater!!

  50. Ruth says:

    You look beautiful in your sweater! Great job – you are so brave – looking forward to seeing you soon!

  51. Julie says:

    Looks gorgeous on you. Style colour everything. Well done. Its so nice when you make something for yourself and it fits so well.

  52. Marie says:

    I just love your sweaters! You have just inspired me to knit. My grandmother taught me several knitting stitches when I was around ten and I bought a dvd a few days ago and it all came back to me. I just never made a sweater just practiced and practiced making squares. I should have continued on. Thanks for the showing us your sweaters.

    We did have great weather until yesterday snow in October is too early for New Mexico. Oh well.

  53. Bonita says:

    Your sweater is beautiful, and you look so pretty. I took a knitting class with my sweet daughter-in-law, it seemed to take with her, but I must not seem to be too bright in that area. keeley got it right away and made booties and then a bunting type outfit for her new baby(my new grandson), Malcolm, born 9/11/09. I also wanted to let you know that you are prepared for the holidays with all your pies. That will be alot of work out of the way for you and your family. I will take up knitting again. Good luck with your new fabric line. I live in Northeast Fl and it only gets really cold here for about 6 days and that is around early part of Feb.

  54. Diane says:

    Beautiful sweater, gorgeous work!! I tried knitting, never quite got comfortable w/ it, so I crochet instead. Still wish I could knit….:-(

Leave a Reply

