The weekend and week have just flown by.   I mentioned in my last post that I was going to my Mom’s to make some homemade goodies with apples.  My sister and her daughter and my sister-in-law and her kids joined us for the day.  We ended up making 50 pies, 14 small apple crisps and 14 containers of apple sauce.  I went pretty good, even with the 3 little ones.  This is just a little bit of what we did.

DSC_0968

This little gal was distracted with color crayons (tolor tans)

This little guy was distracted with Thomas and Rosie the trains (though we did find a few pies with little finger holes)

DSC_4464-adj

 

This little guy played in his whatchamadohicky (I can’t remember what it’s called!)

DSC_0971-adj

 

And this little gal helped all day long!  She was such a trooper.  She’s wearing her apron that Grandma made her and using the small rolling-pin that Grandma got her for the occasion.

DSC_0969

 

And this little piggie cried wee,wee,wee all the way home.

Oops.  Wrong story. 

 

We ended up with apple juice, apple pie filling, and flour on everything.  I had to scrub the floor 3 times just to dissolve all the apple sticky.  But, it will all be worth it later this winter when I can pull a pie out of the freezer and have a good dessert with no work!

 

I have spent the rest of the week working on a new bag pattern and a new book, both to be released in a few months.  I also cleaned out my studio.  It’s been a year since I’ve reorganized and picked up the piles of fabric everywhere.  I’m having a retreat next weekend and I wanted to have this done by then (more on the retreat later). 

 

The other fun thing that I have been working on is a new fabric line.  I’ve teamed up with my Mom again, to work on a line due out next spring.  The last line we did together was Rebel Roses, and we enjoyed working together (at least I did).  It’s always great to have someone to bounce ideas off of.   I can’t show you too much yet, but here is a sneak peek at the fun, spring colors we are using.  We haven’t named the fabric line yet, but we are always open to suggestions!  It’s going to be mostly florals, with a fresh, playful feel.

DSC_0831-adj

(By the way, this picture is before I cleaned my studio!)

 

This is part of the main floral print.  I love how this angle shows the textures.

DSC_0900-adj

I’ll share more about the line as soon as I can, so I’ll keep you posted on how it’s going. 

 

While working on this line, I discovered a new favorite thing – small paint samples!

DSC_0905

I used to use paints from the art department, but the colors were never very good.  I would end up spending hours mixing colors to come up with something that you would actually use in your home.  Now places like Home Depo and Sherwin Williams are selling small containers of paint, allowing you to buy just enough to paint a sample on your wall to test out the color.  I found they worked great for painting this fabric line.  I found lots of decorator colors, in just the amount I needed.  I think this may be the next thing I start collecting.  I’m sure no one else is going to get as excited as me over this – but I just had to share!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to

  1. Oh my gosh! Those pies are wonderful! – What a good idea. You’ll really enjoy them later, and always have something on hand for company!Have done that with cookies, but not pies. Sounds like fun! Can’t wait to see the spring line.

  2. Doris says:

    I love the tip about using the paint samples….hmmm…It just seems the Liquitex paints I used to buy just aren’t the same quality they once were.

    The new line looks great so far, can’t wait to see more!

  3. Jan says:

    Oh my goodness~those pies remind me so much of Thanksgiving. What a great idea have a pie making party~so fun to visit while you get so much accomplished.

    When I first saw the aqua with the daisies, Daisy Breeze popped in my head, but then when I scrolled on down and saw the main print, it reminded me of Dutch designs, so now, I don’t know.

    Gosh, you stay busy!

  4. betsy says:

    you definetly have it together. Such a great idea to make the pies ahead of time. Will you be baking them before freezing them?

  5. Kris says:

    I love those paint samples!! And I can’t wait to see your new line! And about those apple goodies….Mmmmmmm!!!

  6. look’it at all those pies! A ton of work, but like you say, all worth it when you can just pop one in the oven and have fresh baked goodness! You have been so busy it makes me tired. I love the sneak peek of the new fabric line, can’t wait to hear more about it

  7. Brenda says:

    Wow, I can’t believe all of those pies. Can’t wait to see your new fabric line.

  8. Yum! Now I’m hungry for apple pie! :-) LOL

  9. Mary Flynn says:

    Pie….I need a fork!
    Yummy…yummy….and will be looking forward to seeing that fabric!!!

  10. Cindy says:

    I have an empty shelf in my freezer…..LOL
    Either that or I’ll bring the coffee.
    I truly love family photos like this – “memories”

  11. Gene Black says:

    you know, that pie at the very front -well the top crust is kinda wrinkled. So just send that one to me and I will eat it for you. Okay?

    LOL….those pies look amazingly good. I have never had fresh applesauce. I am sure it is lots better than the stuff I get at the grocery in a jar.

  12. Sandy Gray says:

    Just loving the early peek at the new fabrics – colours look fabulous. Still waiting for Wildflower to be available in Australia!

  13. Cheryl says:

    Somebody has been busy…very busy. I love the colors in your new fabric line and immediately the name “Color Me Happy” popped into my head as the name. You are so creative….wish I lived around the corner, but then you’d never get rid of me…haha. Keep it comin!

  14. Amy says:

    Looks like you had a fun time baking!

    At a quick glance, the colors of the fabric samples made me think of rainbow sherbet. Love the bright colors! They make me smile.

  15. ruth says:

    I want a pie, too! That dough looks great – when I make a pie, it’s never that neat and nice.

    I think your new line should be called Floral Fresh.

  16. Kathleen says:

    What a productive day! Many hands make for light work. I’m guessing that someone has apple trees on their property! These are the moments you remember and treasure always.

  17. Darlene B says:

    Can I come over for dessert? :) I’m always proud of myself if I make A pie (as in one!). You are your family are so industrious! Love the new fabric line previews.

  18. Kersten says:

    Mmm, love the apply goodness! Super awesome idea for paints. What program do you use for designing your quilts? You do such awesome work!!!

  19. Kim says:

    Sounds like a real nice day of pie making and all. Love the new fabric line your are working on. The colors are most certainly eye catching!

  20. Tammy says:

    Wow – 50 pies!! And now I’m hungry for apple pie. May have to make a trip to House of Pies soon!

    Love the sneak peak at the new fabric! The colors are great.

  21. Sarah says:

    I’ve never tried freezing a pie before, but have some apples I need to use up soon. Any tricks to doing it? Do you bake it before or after freezing, and how do you thaw it?

    Just recently wandered over to your site, but I’ll be back again!

  22. Linda G O says:

    I don’t have apples but I am now off to make a pumpkin pie—-not to be outdone…….

    Do you have to thaw the apple pies before you bake them?????

  23. Penne says:

    Wow, how fun all those pies. What a great family day you all had cooking. Your pies were beautiful. Wish I had apples looked fun.

  24. Linda says:

    I’m also wondering if you bake them ahead of time and also how do you wrap them for freezer? Do tell where you found the small rolling pin!!!
    I have used those little sample paints, and love not having to buy a huge container – fabric line is really looking fun. Was thinking “Fresh and Free”
    Thanks for sharing your family baking day, I can only imagine what the floor looked like – lol!!!

  25. Pingback: Day 2 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop « Trends and Traditions

Leave a Reply

