Last Day of the CCCBH

It’s the last day of the CCCBH today . . . It’s been a lot of fun to reminisce about past Christmases and get to know the blog hoppers.  I want to thank all those participating in the blog hop – especially those that have stopped here and have taken the time to leave me such nice comments.  My hope is that you will stop in and see me every week or so, as that is how often I usually blog.  I’m not used to blogging every day, so I may take a little break and catch up on a few other things around here!  I have to say that all this blogging has gotten me in the mood to get ready for Christmas.  I’ve started unpacking the Christmas decorations and have been loading some Christmas songs on my ipod.  I may even get the tree up before Thanksgiving!  How about you?  Did the blog hop put you in the mood for all thing Christmas?

Before you head off to the storage closet to start unpacking, be sure to stop by Linda Lum DeBono’s blog to see the fun project that she has in store for you.  Linda is a fellow designer with Henry Glass fabrics, so I’ve had the pleasure of meeting her at market.  She’s great fun and has so many talents.

 

 Our last topic of the blog hop is a Christmas craft you make every year or did as a child. 

I had two favorite crafts that I made as a kid, just probably not every Christmas.

#1 – Paper Chains.  I don’t know why I loved them – I just did!  They always seemed kind of addicting.  I just kept wanting to add more and more and see how long I could make my chain.

 

I found a more adult version of paper chains that I am tempted to make.  Look how cute these are:

 

Can you even stand it?  I just love them.

 

#2 – My other favorite Christmas craft was making paper snow flakes. 

I still love making snowflakes, I just don’t usually do it by myself.  I prefer to do it with my nieces, as it’s always more fun with them!  It’s nice to have an “excuse” to still act like a kid.  I still remember my Great Grandma Anka doing the same thing with me . . .she would fold up paper, make an assortment of cuts, and then open up this amazing row of little paper dolls.  Back then she used old newspaper.  Now when I do this with my nieces, we used colored paper.  I wish I had a picture of us doing this together, but I guess I must not have had my camera with last year when we did this!

 

Just to wrap up a few other things related to the blog hop -

You will have until Sunday night to comment on each designer’s featured post and have a chance at the grand prizes.  The winners will be announced on Tuesday, so you will want to stop back them.  I will also be announcing the winner of the contest on my blog (from my featured post) 

Dont’ forget to visit the other designers on the hop by clicking on the following links:  Gudrun from GE Designs,  Sandy from Pieces from my Heart,  Terry from Atkinson Designs,  Pat from Pat Sloan and Co,  Pam from Pam Kitty Morning,  Kari from New Leaf Stitches,  Terri from Whimsicals,  Sherri from This and That Pattern Co,   Carrie from Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co,  Roseann from Rosebud’s Cottage and  Linda Lum DeBono

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Last Day of the CCCBH

  1. Stephanie says:

    Absolutely not a Christmas without paper chains. I was horrible at the snowflakes though. Love the fabric chain indea!

  2. Nancyz says:

    I have had a wonderful time reading all the blogs. Thanks for the fun.

  3. Mary Flynn says:

    I’d forgotten about paper chains…wonderful reminder and these days there are so many wonderful scrapbooking papers that would look awesome too! Also new Moda giftwrap! Can you see my wheels turning in this noggin?!

  4. Linda H says:

    Thanks, fun getting to know you. Chains..some of my first holiday memories

  5. Jewel says:

    Thanks so much for the hop. I will miss you all tomorrow!

  6. Vicki says:

    I still can’t make a decent snowflake! Thanks for sharing in the blog hop. It’s been great!

  7. Jocelyn says:

    This has been such a fun blog hop. I’ve enjoyed visiting with everyone every morning. Thanks for all the stories and creative posts. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. Gale Lavers says:

    Thank you for being part of the blog hop and for sharing your time and beautiul pattern. I have been listening to christmas music and sewing each day of the blog hop, just one more to finish and dh will now have a christmas sock.. Wishing you and your hubby and extended family Happy Thanksgiving and a ver Merry Christmas.

  9. Darlis says:

    Have enjoyed this wonderful blog hop and getting to know more about you and the other designers. You are all so talented. Thank you.

  10. Robyn Brown says:

    This has been a lot of fun. I appreciate you ladies doing this and the thought and time that went into it. It’s wonderful for those of us that can’t do a driving shop hop because of time or just whatever reason. Thank you.

  11. I have enjoyed visiting your blog and will continue to do so. I also make paper snowflakes for my windows and 3D paper cuttings to hang around the house.

    Debbie

  12. Ruby says:

    Thank you so much for being part of this Blog Hop! It was a wonderful way to kick off the season!

  13. Cindy C. says:

    I’d honeslty forgotten about paper snowflakes – it’s been too many years since I’ve done those.

    Guess I’m spoiled now – I make Free Standing Lace Snowflakes using my embroidery machine.

    LOL, how times have changed. BUT -they’re still snowflakes!!

  14. cindylee says:

    i have got to say how much i have enjoyed this blog hop. i have seen so many cool projects and am now aware of some new to me designers whose projects i love. i have laughed at some of the stories and been touched by others. thanks to everyone who participated. :-)

  15. Jean Burke says:

    Thanks for sharing with all of us. You’re right – these posts have gotten me in the mood for Christmas. Wishing you and all your family a peaceful and wonderful holiday season. Piece….

  16. Sandy says:

    When I checked my blog list this morning, I thought that you hadn’t posted yet because you have been posting early morning!! The blog hop has been fun and you are right, I am in the mood to decorate. But it will have to wait until next Friday. I always decorate the day after Thanksgiving. Thanks for all that you have done!

  17. Jenny says:

    Thanks for sharing so much of yourself during this blog hop. It was so fun. The paper snowflakes reminded me of my sister. She died several years back and that is something she always loved doing. I framed some of mine as a remembrance.

  18. Penne says:

    Thanks so much for the “Blog Hop”. It was wonderful getting know a little about each of you and what you all do in the design world. I haven’t actually made anything yet but do have several favorites that I will be sure to make …..probably not before Christmas though..LOL

    Regards
    Penne

  19. megan z says:

    I love your blog and all the stories you’ve shared – it’s always so refreshing to check your blog and see a new entry! Thank you for everything!

    I was wondering if you could give directions on how to make your fabric chain – I just love that! I was looking at the picture and it looks like you inserted paper into the pieces? Also, did you use velcro or did you sew the ends of each piece together?

    Thanks again!

  20. Jill says:

    Thank you so much for the blog hop! It has been wonderful! I have so enjoyed the memories and the patterns. You ladies are great!!!

  21. Jay says:

    Still laughing about your favorite craft — have you read Sandy Gervais’s entry for today? Quick! Go read it!
    Thanks so much for sharing with all of us for this hop — it has been so much fun, and I’ll miss having breakfast with you all. Guess I’ll just have to check in with you from time to time to see what’s happening, huh?

  22. carolyn says:

    The blog hop has been so much fun! Thanks!

  23. Sandy says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your traditions and memories with us “hoppers”. It was a hoot reading them!

  24. Margi Borck says:

    ooooooohhhhhhhhh my favorites, paper (and fabric) garland chains and paper snowflakes! My Mom crocheted me lace snowflakes that look just like the ones you cut out of paper. So very kewl. Thanks for all the fun during the hop!

  25. marta says:

    Gracias por estos doce dias, de compartir. excelentes diseñadoras.

  26. Charmaine says:

    This has been wonderful! I saw some fabric chains made out of torn homespun fabrics last night at a Christmas Boutique @ Lambert’s Castle in Northern NJ. They had been stiffened and joined together.
    Great idea!

  27. Christine Thomas says:

    Hi Heather. Thanks for participating, again. I love the snowflakes. Did you make those? If so, how do make those intricate cuts? They’re beautiful.

  28. Tammy Lewis says:

    My sister and I made miles of paper chains. Also we strung popcorn and cranberries on thread with a needle. What wonderful memories! Thank you for sharing.

  29. Wendy says:

    I’ve enjoyed this week so much. Thanks for taking the time to share all your stories and talents.

  30. Chris H says:

    The snowflakes are beautiful! I might just have to try making some.

    I actually did a paper chain covered Christmas tree a few years ago – it was so much fun! I love the fabric chain idea. All those little scraps could make a great chain!

  31. Doris says:

    This is so funny ’cause I just read Sandy’s post about her paper chain hatred and then came over here!!!! Too funny!

    I’d be more than happy to have one of those Amy Butler chains on my tree, though!

  32. Linda says:

    Thank you, Heather!! I always enjoy coming to your blog, and you are a favorite blogger of mine, so didn’t just discover you. You have a really wonderful family, and I appreciate your kindness in sharing them with us. If I didnt have company coming in a couple days, I’d be right up there in my room, making each project right now……..I am so inspired to jump in, but I have a plan to get an early start next year!!!
    Your chain is pretty, they have so many nice scrapbook papers now, we can use!!

  33. stampinwithbeth says:

    Heather, your snowflakes are beautiful! You should take a look at the Make a Flake website. The URL is http://snowflakes.barkleyus.com/
    Beth

  34. bingo~bonnie says:

    oooough those are some great snowflakes! I forget exactly how to fold the paper and what angle to snip off… perhaps you could show us a TUTORIAL? ;)

    pretty please! ;)

    Love from Texas! ~bonnie
    (where the only snow we’d get would be the paper kind – so pretty please again :)

  35. Penny says:

    You are right this has been great fun. And I learned how to POST! I’ve been thinking about putting up the tree, but something keeps telling me….not before Thanksgiving, it’s way too early. Who made that rule?

    Thanks for the hop.

  36. dorothy says:

    fabric chains–that’s so clever! i could probably figure it out but are you planning a tutorial? :-)

  37. arlette says:

    Ohhhh I love the crafts you like to make, I’d like to learn about the snowflakes, they look really hard to make :(, thank you for put a smile (and tears) in our faces and hearts, I enjoyed reading your daily posts, and I’ll come back, so sad I don’t have wordpress, just blogger!

  38. Julie in WA says:

    I never made a paper chain until I was an adult and had my own tree. I used ribbon…red, gold, green, and blue. I saved it every year, wrapped carefully in tissue. Eventually it was just too wrinkled, and out it went! I have not had one since. But the fancy fabric chain in the picture is sure cute!

  39. Linda P in IL says:

    Thank you for being a part of the blog hop, it was wonderful…making snowflakes is a fav of mine too. Thank you too for sharing all your pictues and memories and projects!
    Linda P in IL

  40. wbotw39 says:

    I’m in the Christmas mood right now! My sister is going to be visiting for a week and instead of Thanksgiving I’m ready to decorate for Christmas. Thanks for sharing with all of us. It been a lot of fun! I hope your crew continues to do these fun blog hops.

  41. Leslie Schmidt says:

    It’s sad to think the hop is done, but I guess I’ll have to actually do some sewing instead of just admiring! Thank you.

  42. Leslie says:

    I think my grandchildren would love to make fabric chains, I can see my scrap basket doing down now :o) Love the blogs, love the projects Blessings on your holidays

  43. susan says:

    Thank you for all the ideas and pattern on the blog hop. I looked forward to it everyday!

  44. Susan Brooks says:

    This has been so much fun! I loved making chains and it would be great to do again.

  45. grannyj says:

    Your paper snowflakes are amazing. I still have some paper chains that my own children made…and now my grandchildren are adding to the collection.
    Thanks so much for the last 12 enjoyable blog days and your penny mat pattern.. I enjoy working with wools, so this will be a fun project.
    Happy Holidays!

  46. Janet Blackwell-Fidler says:

    What a fun way to make Christmas tree chains. With fabric. The ideas are endless!
    Thanks,
    Janet

  47. Kitty Letsch says:

    Loved those fabric chains. Kitty

Leave a Reply

