In the Mood for Spring

Today I was going to show you my finished Verna and Oz quilts, but I’ve gotten sidetracked.  Somehow I started 5 other quilt projects.

Now my studio looks like this!  I can hardly walk in this mess.

My progress feels slow, but the rows on my Verna quilt are sewed together and I am patiently (not) waiting for more border fabric.  My Oz quilt (below) is ready for borders and applique.

Despite my slow progress, I am happy to be back sewing in my studio again.  I usually don’t get much time to sew when I have book and pattern deadlines.  Those deadlines are a month past now, but it still takes my brain a while to recover.  The wheels are turning again, so I am grateful for that.  I have been revisiting a few of my older patterns, just to get back into the mood to sew and now a few of my fabric piles are developing into some new ideas.  So, I’m looking forward to a weekend with time to sew and projects that are ready to go.

In addition to some sewing, I have been getting in the mood for spring.  The weather here in MN has been wonderful – sunny every day with temps in the upper 30′s.  Best of all, the snow has been melting.  I know many of you around the county have already had flowers blooming, as I have seen them on your blogs.  That hasn’t happened here yet, so I decided to spruce up the house by adding my own spring blooms here and there.

I started with the fireplace mantel -

I’m not sure if I like it yet, but at least it has a touch of spring.

There is now a little pot of geraniums on this end table -

I’ve set out a bird’s nest – Every spring my niece Isabella and I go bird egg hunting.  We search every possible tree and shrub in the yard.  When I saw this little bird’s nest at a local gift shop, it reminded me of her and all the times we have gone egg hunting in the spring.

On the other side of that table is a pot of tulips, set off by my Shoot Stars quilt (from my Fat Quarter Cottage book).

A friend gave me this beautiful stitchery pillow – full of thoughts of spring . . .

Another pot of blooms  and a project from my Little Charmers 4 pattern -

And a little blue birdie -  I also wanted to show this quilt because I had part of it in a picture from my last blog post, and several of you asked about it.  It’s called Center of Attention and can be found in my Stop, Drop, and Roll book.  It’s perfect for spring, but I have had it up all year.

It hangs in this bedroom – which you have seen before.  The quilt hangs across the room, as you can see reflecting in this mirror I got for Christmas.  (Have I mentioned I love Hobby Lobby?).

I’ve added a few more spring touches to the room -

Along with this Hobby Lobby find  -  This necklace didn’t look so good on me, but it’s perfect for her!

So, that’s as far as I’ve gotten with spring.  Now what’s happening outside just has to catch up with me!  I think that might take a month or so  . . . .

Have a great weekend -

Heather
About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to In the Mood for Spring

  1. Giggles says:

    I love that you got sidetracked by five quilting projects. I can definitely relate to that.

  2. Love how you display everything, and especially the little bird nest. Yes, the flowers do make you feel like spring is around the corner!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Wow! Very exciting, everything looks great! Ohio’s weather is very similar, everyone is ready for spring & the snow is finally melting. I’m making a red/aqua/brown quilt right now using your Wildflowers line… I’m really excited to see how it turns out!!

  4. Diane says:

    I love the colors on your walls. You house looks like a cozy home.

  5. Carmen (Country Mouse) says:

    I am soooo glad to see there are others out there who make a mess of their studios. Beautiful quilts….and beautiful photos! I’m in northern MN and it has been quite a lovely early spring, hasn’t it?

  6. Sherri says:

    Oh, I’m glad you started 5 more projects too…more designs to share later! I love everything in this post…and yes, it definitely looks like spring!

  7. Jocelyn says:

    Yes bring on Spring :-)

  8. Barbara says:

    I see you use a design floor as well. Love your studio.

  9. Kris says:

    Love EVERYthing about every part of it!!!

  10. Cindy says:

    Yeah, bring on Spring! We’re in the 50′s in St. Louis this weekend! When I saw Verna, I also thought of Gypsy Girl. It will be my second time making that quilt – one of my favorites of yours.

  11. Leslie Schmidt says:

    Everything looks so fresh and light-hearted. Doesn’t the sunshine make a difference! In the middle of winter here in MN, sunshine usually means cold, cold temps. But now it’s warming up. Yea! And I love how the sun is making strange sculptures of the snowbanks.
    I’ll just have to keep coming back to this post to lift my spirits. Thanks!

  12. Leslie L says:

    I love all your decorating ideas! You’ve inspired me to think about some decorating updates at my house. I wish you warmer weather soon…

  13. Linda says:

    I love all of the spring things. Your decorating with all of your quilts is really beautiful. I love the quilt that is hanging behind the white tulips. I have that on my to do list.

  14. Alice says:

    You are such an inspriation in all you do. I am looking forward to your visit to Cozad, NE in September.

  15. Mary Ann says:

    Love the frames with the fabric floating. I have a wall of embroidery hoops full of lovely Liberty of London in my guest room. Idea came from PurlSoho and now I’ve got this idea from you! Thanks! And the quilts are just so fun, love them too.

  16. Mary says:

    The photos you post are just wonderful. This blog gets me in the mood to make a new springtime table topper from one or your patterns.

  17. Tammy says:

    What an inspiring post! Your sewing room is the most beautiful “mess” ever–what a great picure!

  18. Sherri V says:

    Loved seeing your house and how you decorate with quilts. My husband keeps asking if we are ever going to have enough quilts and I keep telling him I can’t stop! There are just too many fabrics that I can’t live without! I love your new line of fabric and the new book!

    Thanks for inspiring us with your creativity!! If your sewing room was too neat you would never have so many new ideas to share with us.

  19. Kerry B - Phoenix says:

    Your posts were just what I needed. Thank you for sharing parts of your home intermingled with your quilts.

  20. QuiltyTrish says:

    Heather — How much would you charge to come to Tennessee and decorate my house? I’ll make the quilts, you just pick out the patterns and the fabric. I LOVE your home, but especially your sewing studio.

  21. lucia says:

    Dear Heather, I am your fun from Hungary. Congratulation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. Meredith says:

    What a lovely studio and bedroom. Love that quilt hanging on the wall.

  23. Veronica says:

    OMg.. where did u find that dress form????

  24. Amanda says:

    Hello. I am absolutely loving your blog and website! I am a fairly new quilter of nine months, and I’ve been falling in love with fabric left and right. I especially enjoy your sanibel, wildflowers, and rebel roses lines. I believe I’m about to acquire quite a few of your patterns as well, if I can find them in Idaho! :) I am in the process of making your Sweet Pea quilt in Frolic for my niece, and I’m so excited to see it when it’s done!

    I was wondering what fabric line you’d used for your Center of Attention quilt in this post; I would love to get my hands on some of that large-print you’ve got in the middle.

    I’ll be visiting often to see if I can soak in some inspiration, and I may have my husband read a few things, it will help him to know I’m not the only quilter with more than one project going at a time. :) Thanks so much for posting!

    ~Amanda
    Lewiston, Idaho

Leave a Reply

