A Confession

I do have a finished project to show you, but first I have a confession to share with you. 

Remember when I put out this pattern a little while back?

The Bella Bag

Shortly after it started shipping out – this was brought to our attention.

So did you know that a Bong was a quilting tool? 

I didn’t either.  In fact, I was devastated for at least two whole days after seeing this.  The last thing I EVER want in any of my patterns is an error, even though it can happen so easily and does periodically.  I even went so far as to have the bag tested by lots of quilters.  At the last minute, I added the Heat ‘n’ “Bong” light to the pattern.  I didn’t notice it and the spell checker agreed that the word was spelled right.

We have since pulled the pattern and reprinted a corrected version, even though everybody would be able to make and complete their bag  -  there wasn’t actually a mistake in the construction and I’m sure no one would try to line their pockets with a bong.  I have coped with my devastation and moved on.  I can even laugh about it now, though it is still embarrassing.  I just hope that the 800 or so of you who got the initial copies will have a sense of humor about the whole ordeal.   Does anyone else think this is funny, or are you offended?  I’m just curious . . .  Anyways, I thought you might enjoy another story about the perils of pattern designing.

Now, moving on.  I finished the sweater I blogged about a while back.  I first saw the sweater in the movie “The Holiday” with Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet.  I loved the sweater and watched the movie over and over, just to see it.  I was grateful  to later find the pattern on Ravelry – It’s called the Fireside Sweater by Amber Alison.

(By the way, you can see I’m changing the fireplace design from my last post – I’ll share more on this when I get my center piece done)

If you don’t recognize the sweater, it was white in the movie.  White is totally not a practical color for me.  The combination of my clumsiness and my love of coffee and Diet Coke means that I don’t wear white.  I chose this blue -

I just love the cable detail in this sweater – even on the back and sleeves.

The pattern requires a heavier yarn, so this is a really warm sweater.   Because I live in MN, I will put it to good use.   However, it weighs like 5 pounds, so I won’t be wearing it to the doctor’s office or any other place that requires your weight to enter!

I’m off to teach for the weekend, so I better wrap this up and finish packing.  Have a great weekend!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to A Confession

  1. Pokey says:

    I laughed. No offense taken here, Heather, and I’m pretty conservative. It was a typing error, and actually one that was easy to figure out. Nothing to be embarrassed about. I DO plan to share your line
    “Did you know that a Bong was a quilting tool?” with my Larry when he comes home. :-} pokey

  2. Katie Bowlby says:

    Oh, I think it’s funny! Surely no one would be offended by that. It’s an honest mistake. I work as a copy editor for a magazine, and I know how it feels to see a mistake in print. But you just have to laugh at yourself!

    P.S. The sweater is beautiful.

  3. Heather says:

    Totally funny, Heather! Though, I can completely understand your frustration with the error. Just a nice reminder that none of us are perfect… =)

  4. Kelly O. says:

    well I think I would just smirk and continue on with making my bag–truly errors happen all the time.
    If I didn’t like spelling errors I wouldn’t read blogs! they’re full of ‘em, even mine!

  5. Robin says:

    I think it’s funny. I’m glad your not holding on to the type-o. I love your patterns and just bought the simple sixties pattern and ruler yesterday. I was at Bear Patch Quilting for the Mn Road Show. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Jan says:

    REALLY!!??? No way would I have pulled that pattern for that simple typo! I can’t imagine what that cost you and you sure provided many with a laugh.

    BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL sweater! I have dreamed of making that sweater everytime I’ve watched that movie too. (one of my very favorites and I watch it all times of the year) I am clumsy too, but I HAVE to make it in the white. (don’t know, must be something deeply buried in me that thinks if I do I MIGHT look half as good as Cameron~HA!!!!!)

  7. Kris says:

    That is so funny about the misprint. I find misprints from time to time in patterns and books, it happens. No biggie.
    Love the sweater Wish I could knit better. Just dishcloths and scarves for me.
    Have fun teaching.

  8. How do you have time to whip out all of these beautifully knitted apparel items, quilts, shams, books, decorate your house, etc. etc. You are amazing!!

    I certainly would not be offended. It happens, an honest mistake. The only time I get frustrated with a pattern, is when it is confusing or unclear. Like if someone were a beginner, would they know where to line up the triangle, etc? OR if the measurements are totally wrong. We’ve got a BOM class going on at the store I work at & so many of the measurements are wrong! That is frustrating when there’s multiple errors in a pattern – it’s like the designer just guessed on them after the whole quilt was made. Now, if only there was spellcheck on these comment boxes!

  9. Shelly says:

    Mistakes happen and anyone could figure out what you really meant. I absolutely love your sweater, you are very talented. Have a great weekend.

  10. Jana says:

    I laughed out loud. How funny! I am sure no one was offended by it. And, if they are, they’re the ones who are crabby and no fun.

  11. debbie says:

    No offense taken with a mistake like that. I actually find it amusing, those patterns will probably be collector’s items.

    Your knitting is just as beautiful as your quilting.

  12. arlijohn says:

    You gave us all a smile. Thank you!

  13. jo says:

    This is funny…laugh!
    Anyone who knows and uses your patterns would know it’s just a HUMAN error. These type of things happen to me all the time. It’s good to know they happen to the pros too.

  14. Kristy says:

    I think the saying is….”don’t sweat the small stuff.” That mistake is in the category of small stuff. Love your sweater, wish I could find more of that color of clothes in the stores…absolutely lovely. P.S. Please don’t forget to show us your mantle….it looks great in the pix. Kristy in Ohio

  15. quilting chick says:

    I understand your devastation but it is very funny and I’m glad you can see the humor in it now. We just have to laugh at ourselves or life would be too hard. Love, love the sweater–This is not something I could do so I really think it is very beautiful!! Have a good day!! :) Marietta

  16. ROFLOL…don’t fret about the typo… I had a wonderful laugh and we all need to laugh more.
    Your sweater is gorgeous!

  17. corinnea says:

    Typos can be annoying but like everyone else…I was amused. No worries, the purse is cute!

    The sweater is absolutely lovely and the color is perfect on you!

  18. Bwahahahahahahaha… I think it’s funny… I’m sure folks will have a sense of humor…LOL

    Cute purse…

  19. Kate says:

    It’s definitely funny. I didn’t even notice it, and I’m sure most other people wont either. Sweater looks great!

  20. I can certainly feel for you over that mistake! Those kinds of things make me crazy if I’m the one who did it!

    The sweater is just gorgeous with all those cables and the shaping in back. The color is just lovely on you too!

    MGM

  21. Mrs. Dillydally says:

    You have far too much talent to waste time and energy on a simple typing mistake…remember…the world is not a perfect place and neither are those of us who live here! I thought it was funny and hope that the copy I buy has Heat n’ Bong!

    Your sweater is stunning!

  22. The bong is a kick in the pants, and I tend to be conservative, so I wouldn’t worry for a second.

    Great sweater too!

  23. Jennifer says:

    Amused not at all offended! And good for you for blogging about it. We all make these mistakes in our lives and it is better when we can laugh about it. The sewater is absolutely beautiful. Saw the move and don’t remember it, but love how it looks in blue!

  24. Leslie L says:

    As someone who writes for a living I had to laugh at this post. Don’t worry, it could have been worse–someone I used to work with missed the fact that “pubic libraries” was printed right on the front of a brochure! No one cares if there’s a little typo once in a while, we just love your patterns.

  25. DebG says:

    The typo was funny! I’ve seen many typos but that one was more amusing than most! Although the ad in our paper for a sale on dress shits still takes the cake.
    Your sweater is gorgeous. I love the curve in the cables on the back. Your talent knows no bounds!

  26. AnnieO says:

    Glad you can laugh now, because that is really funny! But of course you were embarrassed, if only temporarily. I spell for a living (medical transcriptionist) and do a lot of editing and believe me I see hilariously misspelled things all the time. Sometimes even by me!

    The sweater is really yummy and rich looking. I would want to wear it every day, as I am always cold, even though I live in SoCalif!

  27. Alana says:

    Good laugh… if there’s going to be a typo, it might as well be a funny one!!
    Your sweater it gorgeous, and I’m looking forward to meeting you at St. Benedict’s in about a month!

  28. Kersten says:

    Love the sweater!
    I can only image how awful that would have been for you to find that misprint. Glad everything worked out. I got a good laugh out of it.

  29. What a great sweater!

  30. A Betty says:

    Your knitting is beautiful. I notice you like to wear blue but you don’t decorate with a lot of blue. Sometimes I crave a little blue in my house, but not so sure where it fits. I think that might be where rural jardin comes in. Saw the typo, but it didn’t bother because it’s not something that changes how the pattern comes out. I have mine cut out, but waiting until I dare to be a bit more brave.

  31. Kathy says:

    Adorable bag and sweater. As much as we like perfection sometimes those typos are bound to happen. At least it wasn’t one to affect the out come of the bag. I’m glad you can smile now.

  32. di says:

    Oh great, now I can quit looking for that Bong to line my bag – LOL!!!

    I keep saying I don’t need “spell check” on my computer – I need “intent check” – it should know what I wanted to type!!!!

    The instructions are correct – that’s the important part. A couple of years ago I used a pattern from another well known designer and got the top together and had 52 Red 5″ squares left over …..

    The pattern has now been corrected – so, all is well!

  33. Charmaine McL. says:

    What a hoot!! We have to totally laugh at that, it’s sooo funny! We all make mistakes and in the scope of life, that is certainly no big deal. Glad you’re over it! And the sweater…How fabulous! You are uber talented! Picked up some of your fabrics and pattern yesterday at Quilts on Broadway in Belgrade, MT. Can’t wait to get started on something cute! Have fun teaching!

  34. Paula says:

    Question? what materail do you use on you design wall to make the fabric stick? and where can you get it?

  35. Mary-Kay says:

    I think it’s pretty funny. I wouldn’t worry about it either. At least it’s not a mistake in the cutting instructions. And your sweater is beautiful. You did a great job with all the cable stitching on it. It kind of makes me want to learn how to knit.

  36. Amy Smith says:

    My Grandma always told me that “the only people who do not make mistakes are the people who do not do anything”. I just ordered this pattern earlier this week, and I can’t wait to get started.

  37. Alathia says:

    Well, since you asked, YES it’s totally funny! Although, I completely understand why you were upset. Maybe the “improper” version will become a collectors item! The sweater is gorgeous. I aspire to knit cables.

  38. westcoastauntie says:

    Laughing….definitely laughing. I’m wondering how many pattern owners actually noticed the error. Our brain tends to put the right word into a misspelled well-known phrase.

  39. Sequana says:

    I’m always gonna call that product by this name now. *L*

    What a beautiful sweater – altho yours always are.

  40. Vickie says:

    I think that Heat n Bong might be something that we all need a little of now and again :) No worries, you can send me a mistaken one :) No sense shredding it.
    Not only are you an incredible pattern designer, an amazing fabric artist, but your knitting is mind boggeling to a beginning like myself … I’m getting pretty good at k1 P1 … not sure I am ready to take on cables :)
    Thanks for sharing!
    vic

  41. Gentrie says:

    I think the type-o is hilarious! In fact when I read it in the photo in your Blog I laughed out loud! I think I want one just to have it for the Heat and Bong.

  42. Amy says:

    hee hee! Hey, maybe years from now those initial printings will be extremely valuable, like postage stamps that are misprinted! Ladies, if you have one, hang onto it!

  43. Kari says:

    Too funny! Something similar happened to me this week, just not in such a setting. I posted to Facebook something about our grocery store, “Kink” Soopers, a.k.a. King Soopers. Whoops!

  44. Vivian says:

    I knew I’d have a good time making that pattern but didn’t realize that it wouldn’t involve making the bag! (Ok enough teasing!!)

    I tried to get the pattern from a vendor that was selling it with a set of the grommets but they were already out of them by the time I was ready to purchase so I am glad I’ll be getting one of the corrected ones in the second run.

    Beautiful sweater — love the fireplace-as-dividing wall even more! Hadn’t seen that before in the pictures of your house – you guys really renovated that house beautifully.

  45. anne d says:

    The sweater looks great! I am a terrible proof reader. I always see what should be there instead of any errors. Love your blog. Love your patterns. Love that you are human! It is a funny mistake.

  46. Jen says:

    Now I have to check my pattern. I didn’t even notice!

  47. LIN says:

    It would not be a problem – mistakes happen – love your blog and you ideas and patterns – keep up the good work

  48. KathiD says:

    I would immediately start looking for the other demonic coded messages in the pattern.
    :)

  49. Ann says:

    Your sweater is wonderful, and your story too funny! I can understand your frustration, and glad you are laughing now. I really do value designers that make every effort to publish accurate patterns. Thanks for all of your hard work. Just for grins, somehow, my oldest nephew called the cookies my Mom baked for him, “Grammy’s bong”. I have no clue where that came from, but it sure was/is funny!

  50. Kathi says:

    I made your bag and saw the typo, but actually had a little chuckle over it. We’ve all made typos and some of them turn out pretty funny. I think it’s just one of those little whimsy’s in life that keep us grounded. Hope you didn’t fret over it too much. The bag is a big hit with everyone who sees it!

  51. Jennifer says:

    You are a knitting machine! I think it would probably take me a lifetime to knit a sweater, so I stick to the small stuff! And The Holiday is one of the best movies ever!!

  52. Karen says:

    Oh, Heather. Welcome to my world! Anyone who writes and/or proofreads anything will only be able to laugh, and maybe sigh with a smile!

  53. I have the pattern and didn’t even notice the “bong” mistake. I think it’s funny and I’m not offended.

  54. Vivian says:

    I would not be offended. I would also realize that spell check would miss it because it is a word. I would just read it and think “oops!” and move on. Then again, sometimes I read things so quickly that I probably would have read the correct word and never realized there was a spelling error.

    Have a great day. (Funny, as I reread my comment I had typed “correct work”. See, it happens.

  55. frogdiva says:

    I think it’s funny. I surely hope no one takes offense to it! If people know you or read your blog enough, they’ll know you’re not one to recommend lining bags with bongs :)

    Have a great day!

  56. **giggle** not offended here either! I think it is funny~ who would guess what is needed to make a purse! ;-) A swear word would’ve been disastrous, this is just a little blip on a delightful pattern. I love your sweater too!! :)

  57. glen/quiltswissy says:

    Too funny! I love it. I would not have pulled the pattern. But I understand what you felt. I am editor of two national dog magazines and no matter how many times Valerie and I go over the info, there is always at least ONE crazy mistake that gets through!.

    glen/quiltswissy

  58. Lindsey says:

    Honestly? I would have laughed until I had tears in my eyes. And if you promised to put another entertaining typo in future patterns, I’d buy a copy of every single one. (Okay, I might still buy them, but that’s beside the point.)
    :-)

  59. gill says:

    i thought this was hilarious and i wish i had a copy of this pattern!! actually i love the pattern having seen one on a uk blog which the writer won in one of your giveaways!!
    i’m hoping to track the pattern down over here in the uk soon!!!
    gill

  60. Peggy says:

    Funny! I just finished my Bella bag yesterday and I didnt’ even notice the miss spelling when I read through the pattern. I had to run down and look at my pattern to see if it was there. It was. Oops, I guess I’m not so observant.
    PS – I hope you can put your sweater away soon and get the flip flops out. Enough cold weather already.

  61. Lisa says:

    Oh my gosh … i think it’s hilarious! Probably just the laugh someone needed while making your beautiful purse!

  62. Jen says:

    Hi Heather-
    Just wanted to show you my Bella bag that I made with your pattern.

    http://misspunkiepie.blogspot.com/2010/04/my-bella-bag.html

    I love how it came out!

    Thanks!
    Jen

  63. Laura Toombs says:

    Hey Heather!
    Congratulations on the Bella Bag bein gin the Moda Fabric Collections 2010 book!

    We love that bag and so do our customers! It’s a big hit!

    Thanks again and Congratulations – Laura

Leave a Reply

