Finishing Up . . . .

In my last post I offered a drawing for a fat quarter pack of my new Christmas line.  The winner, selected by the random number generator, is:

Christina – who commented on June 5th at 1:52 pm.  If that’s you, please e-mail your shipping address to hmulder@wecnet.com

That was the exciting news, not onto the more mundane ;-)

I have spent my week painting up a couple new fabric lines, but nothing I can show just yet.  That means I really don’t have much to share from the past week, so I thought I’d share a few things I’ve been working on for the past month (or longer).  Remember the post where I confessed to “faking” some of my colors?  After that, I wasn’t sure if anyone would trust that what they were seeing on my blog was how it actually looked!  I’m really not that good at Photoshop anyway, but is sure is fun.  Sometimes experimenting with Photoshop just isn’t good enough.  Sometimes I need to change the color of actual objects.  Like these chairs, for example.  I was so sick of how boring they were . . . .

Now, after a little red spray paint, they look like completely different chairs!  The red is just what my porch needed to perk up the place a bit.

While I was at it, I also bought a can of yellow spray paint.  I took some old terra-cotta pots that I had lying around, primed them, and then painted them yellow.  It’s just like getting something new, without having to go shopping.  It only took about 15 minutes, though I might have inhaled too many fumes to accurately know how much time it actually took.

All this “Photoshopping” got me in the mood to perk up a few other things too – like these sweaters.  They were so dull and boring . . .

Now, after a little Rit dye, they are my two favorite colors.

And, as long as I was recycling, Joel helped me built this frame out of some old window trim.  The window trim was white, so I used some of that red spray paint to make it a richer color.

Here’s a close-up of what’s in that new/old frame -

The wool applique is made using this foam pad, a long needle, and some wool.

I got the design for the applique from this book  by the gals from Blackbird Designs-

It is the centerpiece in this quilt -

I started this project about three years ago, because I wanted to try wool felting.  I never got around to finishing it and really didn’t know what to do with it.  The red frame inspired me to finish it and now I have a fun new centerpiece for my mantel -

Plus – I love finishing up projects (almost as much as I love starting them!)

Have you finished any thing fun lately?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Finishing Up . . . .

  1. mariajhmom says:

    Amazing! Absolutely Amazing!

  2. Jocelyn says:

    Love your picture. It turned out great!

  3. Mary says:

    The transformation is amazing and you have got me thinking what I can repurpose…Thanks for sharing.
    Mary

  4. Mary says:

    I love all the pretty colors. What a difference it makes!

  5. Susan says:

    Funny you should post Women of Grace and Charm as I too, three years ago started the quilt….. it has sat next to the sewing machine for the last 2 1/2 years, 12 started blocks….. well, actually 13 as I made a block for my namesake’s war story. Today took two quilts to quilter and decided that the Women of Grace…. was next …..

    Love the way the frame sets off the wool applicate.

  6. Maree says:

    Love the Transformation on your 2 Tops..Gorgeous Colours…Paint can be a Wonderful Experience…
    cheers

  7. annie says:

    A big DUH from me….never thought of dying sweaters with Rit. Just delightful.

  8. A Betty says:

    You did a great job of needle felting. That appeals to me too and I bought a book, but that’s as far as I’ve gone. Your’s is beautiful.

  9. Kelly Ann says:

    excellent play with spray paint and dyes…love the wool piece…

  10. AnnieO says:

    I just read an interesting article in my newspaper this week about the difference between reusing and recycling…Recycling in its most common form means the item is broken down and re-enters the manufacturing process, and comes out a “new” product. Reusing is actually way greener. I love everything you did and none of it required a lot of money or a lot of time. How satisfying to reuse and get such lovely results!

    Bummed I didn’t win your fat quarters, but congrats to the lucky winner :)

  11. Leslie Schmidt says:

    Everything has such life and spirit after the coloring genie hit it. Very refreshing!

  12. Linda P. says:

    Boy, you sure made the decorating POP with color. Great job on the needle felting and wool project. I love how you just propped the frame on the mantle instead of hanging it. I have one wicker chair like yours – only mine is coming unraveled but I wont throw it out, Im going to try to figure out how to repair it (mine is all ready red! and needs perked up) – I may even wrap it with red fabric like an old bandage – lol

  13. Cindy C. says:

    I’m finishing a WIP at this very moment – a new tablerunner to brighten up our dining room table to go with the beautiful sunshine coming in the window! Nice bright colors in it and a touch of fabric that is used in the wallhanging already on the wall next to the table to bring it all together.

    Heather, you just make me smile. :-)

  14. Darlene B says:

    I love your decorating style – it’s so cozy and inviting. I may just invite myself over!!! (hee hee). I am working on a fundraising quilt for cancer research – not quite done yet, but I’m excited to be able to help raise money for a great cause.

  15. the felted applique is amazing.
    (i have a sudden urge to paint a frame bright red, too.)
    love, Love, LOVE your fabrics.
    the new Christmas line?
    one word ~ yum!
    i finally finished my “wildflowers” quilt.
    it turned out quite fabulous ~ if i do say so myself!

  16. Joanna says:

    I love all the repurposing you’ve been doing! Amazing what a simple can of spray paint can do! And your wool applique – oh my goodness, there are no words to describe how gorgeous it is. I would have that in my home, exactly how is, in a heartbeat!!

  17. Alisa says:

    My mending?! I did finish that and it feels good. Your finishes look much more exciting than mine! :-)

  18. Barbara says:

    Absoutely love your wool applique – you are so talented. The Women of Grace and Charm is one of my all time favortie books. Love the stories – my mother was a “Rosie”!

  19. Christina says:

    This is the Christina that won your giveaway… I sent you an email, but haven’t seen a response, so I thought I would comment again and make sure you got it! My email is christina112358 at gmail dot com.

  20. George says:

    Painting items and dyeing textiles never ceases to amaze me in its transformative magic! It gets you like a bug doesn’t it!!
    Did you enjoy the needlefelting. I tried it and apart from stabbing myself, I found it too slow for my hasty personality! Your results are beautiful.
    I have just completed my first sampler/quilt-as-you-go/free motion quilted, quilt and while I loved every minute – even the thread snapping, fluted border moments, – I feel free, released, lighter than air – now that it’s finished!!!
    What next??!!

  21. grandmastearoom says:

    Heather so glad I came across your site. Just two nights ago I started a hot plate of wool felting, maybe when I get it finished I’ll blog it.

    Love the yellow pots… I think if you stand back you’ll be fine and away from the spray.

    Great looking sweaters after the dye

  22. janita says:

    Beautiful Beautiful! Bet you are singing sweet songs to have so many “NEW” places to enjoy summertime in your home. Thanks for adding sunshine to my day with all the beautiful pics! Love the wool picture. Nice to know there are others out there with a little pile of unfinished goodies that are a few years old.(smiling) Thanks for the encouragement to finish them! YAY for you that one of yours is now beautifully displayed! It’s has been very rainy in Iowa as well. Sun was out today though. My flowers were a bit shocked…. not use to heat. Hope we are done with the rain for a little while…sump pump is getting a work out!

Leave a Reply

