A Few More Shams

Here in Minnesota we are finally getting a beautiful day!  It’s hot and very sunny – We have had 14 days with rain in June, so we’ve had lots of gloomy weather.  That gloomy weather makes it hard to get pictures of quilting projects, but I did venture out on one of the days when it was only misty, and snapped a few pictures of some shams that we made last month, in preparation for quilt market.  In case you missed it, my Mom and I put out a book on pillow shams in February.  You can read about it here.   We made a few more out of our Sanibel fabric, and I realized that I hadn’t shown them on the blog yet. 

First up is this queen size sham, with a scalloped flange.

I love the cross hatching that my Mom did on this pillow.  She used a double needle, which creates a slight pin tuck effect, with minimal work involved.  A double needle is the only way I could ever get a double line of stitching to be straight!  If you haven’t tried using one yet, you should . . .

 

This next pillow is one of the options for the bound pillow with ties.  We added some applique for a touch of whimsy.  (Notice the wet rocks?)

Lastly, we made a couple of accent pillows.  The thing that makes these pillows a little more special is the covered buttons.  I like to use really large ones – almost 2″ – but they are a little hard to find.  Every time I see them, I stock up so I’m sure to have a few lying around whenever I want to add some fun buttons to something.  Covered buttons are really easy to make.  My only complaint about them, is they are awkward to sew to the pillow if you want to go through all the layers of the pillow, like I did.

My last shot shows one of my favorite prints from the Sanibel line – the aqua blue and tangerine floral.

BTW – Sanibel will be available soon, as I just heard the bolts are just starting to ship out.  Yeah!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Few More Shams

  1. susan says:

    Thank you for the pictures of your shams. I purchased your book and I have made 3 shams and 2 accent pillows and am planning on making more. They really complete the look of the quilts.

  2. DianeY says:

    Your pillows are just delightful-made even better with your gorgeous fabrics. The colors make my mouth water!

  3. Jocelyn says:

    I love these pillows. The color combination is so happy!

  4. Sherri says:

    Cute shams and pillows…think the one with the fun applique’ and ties is my favorite…are these all in the same book?

  5. Cathy Burk says:

    Oh, I love the double stitching…what a great idea! Can’t wait to try that one out. Thanks!

  6. Diane says:

    Our area (Salt Lake) has a quilt shop hop this weekend – I saw your Christmas line in a couple of stores – it’s even more fun in real life! You are a designing genius!

  7. I LOVE the double needle quilting…what a great idea to share & try out!

  8. Just beautiful despite the rain!

  9. George says:

    Great detailing – love the pin tuck effect – I am sure I have a twin needle tucked away somewhere, never used! must dig it out. Thanks for the inspiration!

  10. Gwendie says:

    Yummy fabrics and I love the pillows! Can you share any tips on how you sewed on the buttons?

  11. SuzK says:

    Love the pillows and the sham. Most especially I love the fabric. When my great-niece was little (3 or 4 – honestly) her colors were aquamarine (not aqua), peach and rainbow. This fabric would have been perfect. (Her colors, when she turned 8, become pink and black with a touch of green – I see a future fabric designer there!)

  12. Margo says:

    My daughters (senior and 7th grader) and I just LOVE your shams, and we can hardly wait to go to our LQS to buy your book. After looking back in your blog at the photos that you shot of the shams on beds for your book, my senior really wants to make some of the bed quilts that were shown with the shams. How do I go about finding those quilt patterns – – in your other books/patterns?

    Thank you,
    Margo
    Bakersfield, CA

  13. carol broughton says:

    Oh, they are all so lovely! Can’t wait for the Sanibel fabric to be available!

  14. Gail says:

    I love the idea of using the double needle…I will have to experiment with that. The sham and the pillows turned out wonderful!!

  15. Doris says:

    Great to spend part of Friday with you in St. Cloud…wish you could have stayed longer!

  16. Rachel says:

    How fun!! I love the double needle effect on the first sham, can you get a double needle for any machine or must your machine be specially made for it?

    Thanks for sharing your pillows!

    Rachel

  17. Brenda says:

    Love the fabric and the pillows.

  18. Emily says:

    I came across your blog through another link… can’t even remember how that came about now! I LOVE your new fabric line. I have been looking for something just like it – thank you for that! I can’t wait to order it. We’re overseas/military so I have to order it then WAIT forever to see it! DANG IT! I’m definitely adding you to my favorites.

Leave a Reply

