Playing Catch-up on My Knitting

Hello Everyone,

I am working on a couple sewing projects to share, but in the meantime I thought I would catch-up on some of the knitting I have been doing in my spare time this summer.  I always enjoy summer knitting because the projects go so much quicker than winter projects.  Just leaving off two long sleeves or a hood saves so much time!

My first summer project uses one of my favorite yarns (Hempathy) and the pattern is from one of my favorite knitwear designers (Connie Chang Chinchio)

I like the little details, like the two diamonds in the lower corner.

The pattern extends across the back, which gives some interest to an otherwise plain back.

Here’s the Ravelry link if you want the details.

I worked on this one on our trip last month.  We spent about 22 hours on planes, 12 hours on trains, and another 18 hours in automobiles, so had lots of time to knit.

I haven’t worn this one yet, as I’m not loving the fit.  It looks fine from the side, but I think that I knit the neck too high.  I didn’t want to have to wear another tank underneath, so I kept the neckline up.  Turns out I will probably have to wear a tank underneath anyways, as the side of the top is full of holes.  What was I thinking?  I must have been having too much fun looking at the beautiful scenery to think clearly about what I was doing.

I also  worked on this top on our trip.  The simple SS pattern meant that I could mostly knit by feel and wouldn’t miss any of the scenery.

I love the simple, yet unique styling.  The back wraps forward to meet the yoke line in the front.  It was supposed to have long sleeves, but I only had enough yarn to make a vest.  Here’s the link for the details.

I also made this tee over the summer.  I like the cable detailing, but I liked the yarn that was used in the original pattern better.  I had this yarn in my stash and wanted to use it up.

I love raglan sleeves, so that, in addition to the cables, drew me to this pattern.  More details here.

I love a little bit of lacework and decided to use up some of my stash on this purple number.  The pattern was super easy, unbelievably fast, and fun . . .  until . . . .

I finished it and tried it on.  If Frumpalicious was Hot right now, I would be “like so hot”.  But, since frumpy isn’t in, I have no idea what I’m going to do with this thing.  At least it was really fun to make!  I’m wondering if I can alter it somehow. . . .

That’s what I did with this one.

It used to look like this, but I never wore it because I hated the color.

After a little Rit dye, it’s a whole new sweater!  Much improved, if you ask me.

As you can see, I’ve been keeping myself busy in my spare time.  I’m having my usual issues with knitting (mainly fit), but still really enjoying it.  I like that I can take it out onto the deck in the evenings and enjoy being outside.  That’s a little harder to do with all my sewing stuff!  Being transportable is a definite plus.

So what have you been doing in your spare time this summer?  If you have nothing else to do at the moment, I’m open to suggestions on the frumpy purple sweater.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Playing Catch-up on My Knitting

  1. Kari says:

    I have so much to do that I shouldn’t be reading blogs, but I’ll comment anyway. :)

    I definitely have not been knitting. I have a love/hate relationship with it. I have been quilting though. I’ve got a baby quilt I need to finish in the next week and a half and just finished the largest quilt I’ve ever made. They’re heading to Europe with me as gifts for my nephew and in-laws. It won’t be a trip like yours though–we’ll mostly stay in Czech Republic.

    Have you tried a belt around the waist of the frumpy purple sweater? Sort of like this:

    http://www.anntaylorloft.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=26900&N=1200006&pCategoryId=3359&categoryId=200&Ns=CATEGORY_SEQ_200&loc=TN&defaultColor=Brown%20Melange&defaultSizeType=Regular

    In any case, frumpy might be in if you look at the J.Crew fall look book. I call it Crazy Bag Lady Chic. Look #12 is particularly awesome. (no sarcasm there!)

    http://www.jcrew.com/womens_feature/fall2010womenslookbook.jsp

  2. Lydia says:

    I’m impressed! I have tried and failed at knitting. These look so great!

  3. Nicole says:

    What gorgeous summer knitting projects! I even love the one you think is frumpy? Are you sure you aren’t going to change your mind about loving that one? It it super cute! And what a great idea to dye the pale sweater a more pizazzy color!

  4. Carmen says:

    I love your knitting. You do such a great job, and make such cute things. Wish I could get the hang of it, but just can’t seem to make it work!

  5. Jocelyn says:

    Wow your sweaters are beautiful! I love all of the styles. We have been moving this summer, so no time for any creative adventures ;-) Hopefully all will soon be settled.

  6. Diane says:

    I don’t think the purple one is frumpy – but maybe it’s me that’s frumpy! I think if you wear it with a cute pair of jeans, or even a cute skirt, it would seem great.

  7. jolyn olson says:

    Frumpy – on you nothing looks frumpy! You do such a beautiful job of knitting! I just got a new Bernina Activa 240 and made a small lap quilt to try it out! What fun! It’s an early Birthday gift from my sweet husband of 49 1/2 years!

  8. SuzK says:

    I am duly impressed. I can’t knit for my life. I think everything looks beautiful – frumpy wouldn’t have even been a thought about that lavender sweater.

  9. Laura tawney says:

    Hi Heather-
    Love all the knitting this summer that you have accomplished! It really inspires me to start working on my crocheted square afghan again!
    I think for the light lavender sweater you might try some different buttons, shorten the sleeve if possible to a little cap sleeve like the over dye sweater and then possibly over dye that one as well to a fun color that you would like -I think it might be just a touch too light for you. Just my thoughts:)
    Laura T

  10. Manda says:

    Your knitting is beautiful! I wish I could knit!

  11. Cathy A. says:

    Wow….that’s a ton of knitting! And the Hey Teach doesn’t look frumpy to me, but I’m not a hip stylish type, so maybe I just don’t know those kinds of things. I’ve been wanting to make that one for myself for awhile now. But it literally takes me about a year (or more!) to finish a sweater for myself.

  12. mariajhmom says:

    You’re amazing! All of your knitting looks perfect. Perhaps you should gift Frumpalicious to someone a bit older. I’d offer a suggestion but I don’t want to insult (whisper:your mom). It would probably look really nice on her!!!

  13. sewjournal says:

    My you have been busy! I really like the top one but my favourite is the one with button, it is just gorgeous. Where did you get the pattern for that one?

  14. Donna S. says:

    Man, you got a lot accomplished. I love them all!! The dye job definitely made a huge improvement. I am not going to be helpful because I think the purple one is cute!?

  15. ellen says:

    Why don’t you do a giveaway with the so-called frumpy sweater? I am sure someone won’t think it is frumpy! I leave the knitting to my mom…this summer I had two classes, so not much quilting did I get done. I now have about two free weeks until the next semester starts! :-)

  16. Kim says:

    Hi Heather,

    I loved your vest that you made (that you didn’t put sleeves on). Just wondering what type of yarn you used for it! It is so cute and looks so simple.

  17. AnnieO says:

    You do beautiful cable work, Heather! My only knitting experience was many years ago and in simple stockinette so I think you are very brave to try so many different types. You look great in all the styles. The purple one is such a pretty color and style, except I agree with the person who commented above about the sleeve length. I’m thinking it is too long of a sleeve===you have nice thin arms so shortening it somehow may suit you better. Shirr it from the shoulder seam maybe?

  18. Katherine says:

    Your knitting is always so beautiful! You must be a knitting machine… everything you make always looks so perfect.

    I like the purple sweater, but I don’t think that colour is right… maybe overdye it a navy-blue or black?

  19. A Betty says:

    I sure wouldn’t have thought frumpy. But I bet you would like it better sleeveless and darker.

  20. Deb C. says:

    I love that strawberry colored one that you thought you knit too high in the neckline! The color is great on you also. I think you may like it a bit better if you put a long sleeve tee under it. Maybe?? All you need is a great necklace and you’ll see the POW factor. I also love the diamond detailing on the lavendar Hempathy top. What great choices you make. Right now, I am in L-O-V-E with Noro yarns and am making this one with Silk Garden

    It’s nice to “meet” an active knitter/quilter. I have a friend who does both also, but we don’t know many others who do both on a regular basis.

  21. Miss Nancy says:

    Gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous! Great work, Well done! Thank you for sharing.

    Have a super great day.

  22. Darlene B says:

    I am so jealous of your knitting talent. I was wondering if you learned how to knit from your mom? Or books? I’ve looked at knitting books, and can do a knit and purl stitch, but the patterns for making sweaters (or anything other than a scarf) look so confusing…..any suggestions for how to learn (without spending a fortune on expensive classes)? dsb448@att.net

    I’ve spent a little time quilting and crocheting this summer, but have started taking some online classes, so time is limited!

  23. Deb S. says:

    I think the purple one would look terrific if you would just put a drawstring through it (kind of like the drawstring in the one you dyed). That give it more shape. The color is lovely. Please show us what you decide to do with it.

  24. Denise Briggs says:

    Hi,

    I love all your projects! You are a busy person!

    If dye worked once, dye again…..

    Dye the sweater a denim or royal or navy blue or some natural green color you like within your palate or wardrobe needs…..add some buttons with a little spark….I am thinking lime green or turquoise as you seem to be more of a summery color girl…..a matching sash on the empire thing may work, but it may distract from the funky buttons and that gorgeous lace work…Whatcha think?

    Keep us posted!

  25. Wow! You really have been busy knitting. I love how they turned out!! I have to stick with quilting, afraid I’m not very good with knitting or hand work…

  26. Kim Dow says:

    It’s not frumpy! What if you dyed that one too, a bright color and maybe it wouldn’t seem frumpy to you.

  27. Leslie L says:

    Wow, you are prolific! I’m always amazed and impressed by your work. I don’t think the purple sweater is very frumpy! But since you asked for suggestions, I thought maybe you could wear it with something different, like a black tank top underneath and slim black pants. Maybe even black leggings? And some of the other suggestions are good, like changing the buttons, adding a tie around the empire waist, and shortening the sleeves. Thanks for showing us your beautiful work!

  28. Linda P. says:

    I love seeing your knitting as much as I enjoy seeing all your quilt projects!! You certainly have a beautiful wardrobe of knitted treasures. I really like it that you can figure out how to change it out, when there is something you don’t like on it – I’m still a “knitter wanna-be”. I don’t think you really need a tank under the holey one, unless it is more revealing in person – really like the one you dyed!! The first one from Connie Chang Chinchio is really, really nice, and looks versatile enough to wear with lots. Thanks for sharing!!

  29. connie says:

    Hi Heather, Thanks for posting photos here and on Ravelry of your Versailles Shell. Yours is one of my favorite executions of this pattern. May you get lots of wear out of it! :)

  30. sandi says:

    How do you get those projects fone so fast. What are the tricks. I start knitting and it goes so slow. BEAUTIFUL!! Sandi

Leave a Reply

