Kalidescope

Hello Quilters ~

I’m glad to hear a bunch of you that were interested in making custom bed skirts. (See my last post).  In addition to finishing the two bed skirts from that post, I have finished a quilt to go with one of them.  I had been waiting for some good light to photograph the quilt, but I’m finished waiting for just the right light. 

 I’ve tried the light in the bedroom . . . 

 

 and I’ve tried the light outside . . .

This will just have to do . . .  I’m sure you get the idea of what the quilt looks like and I should probably quit dilly-dallying away the night with my quest for the perfect light.  That’s the problem with having some perfectionist tendencies.  I end up wasting time when I could be quilting! 

I had a few extra blocks from the quilt and I used them for the backing.  It worked out perfect because two widths of fabric wasn’t quite wide enough for the quilt.  By adding in those extra blocks, I didn’t have to add a third width of fabric.  Plus, I think it makes the back much more interesting.

This pattern is a design that I put out two years ago, in my book Livin’ Large.  It’s called Kalidescope and the original pattern was done up in Nest by Tula Pink, as seen below.

My new version was done with lots of prints from Meadowsweet by Sandi Henderson and a few of my own prints from Wildflowers and Sanibel.  I used some of my scraps from the quilt to make the fabric hoops hanging above the bed.  I saw this idea on The Purl Bee blog, and I have always wanted to try it somewhere. 

As you can see, I got my shams done too.  This pattern is from our “Shams with Style” book.

The original version looked like this, cute kid not included.

I added some quilting on my sham with a double needle.  I love the fact that the needle does all the hard work for you – from getting the two lines perfectly spaced, to adding some dimension by kinda giving it a piped look.  If you don’t already have a double needle, you need to get one!  In fact, buy two.  That is what I should have done the first time.  I had only sewn one line of stitching when I accidentally broke my double needle, resulting in unfinished shams for the rest of the weekend  (town is 20 minutes away and the shops aren’t all open 24 hours a day. )

Now that I have the bedding finished, I need to get the rest of the room decorated.  I’ll have to blog on that later, but in the mean time my plan is to have a basic room that can be rotated to match lots of different quilts.  The brown and yellow dot bed skirt and shams also match my Wildflowers fabric line, so I can switch out the bed quilt.  In the photo below I’ve switched out the Meadowsweet quilt for one made out of Wildflowers.

  I also have this cute “Hoot” fabric that will match the room (green walls, yellow bed, brown bedding) -

And this cute Riley Blake fabric that will work too.

Speaking of cute -

I just had to throw this picture in too.  This is my husband’s dog Daisy.  She has nothing to do with redecorating my bedroom, even though she technically would also match in the room.  Whatever you do, please don’t suggest to my husband that she matches the room or he will think she should move in!!!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Kalidescope

  1. faye says:

    Love your quilt! It makes the room very cheery.BUT, OMG Daisy is a beautiful GSP. I love her. We have one “Missy” she is 13 years plus and except for a little arthritis she’s going strong.Had 3 others before her. Its a wonderful breed.
    Hugs ,Faye

  2. DianeY says:

    They are all so beautiful I am drooling! I wish I could be a guest in your guest room (joke, joke)!

  3. mariajhmom says:

    Do I even need to tell you how much I love that quilt??? I also wish to be a guest in your guest room and I’m not joking!!!

  4. Anita says:

    She looks like such a sweet dog. I love the quilt!

  5. Madame Samm says:

    Mmm I like it …I go mmmm cause I have never made a quilt with a dark background…it is rather -may I say bold. But that is a good bold as in wicked, and that is good too lol…
    So this pattern if I am not mistaken is in the living large that I just ordered…?
    Love the dog…and psst..I think he would have looked great upon the quilt in the bedroom…
    but that is just me …

    blessings ms

  6. christy says:

    All your pictues, all your quilts…just too darm cute! I almost can’t stand it! Thanks for sharing all the fun!

  7. Merritt says:

    Beautiful quilts! Your pictures are wonderful.

  8. Love your colors! Thank you for the great bedskirt tutorial, and for all of the great photos – it is very inspiring!

  9. Leslie Schmidt says:

    I love the effect of the twin needle. I have never used one myself, but I think I’ll give it a try. It’s great how those quilts give a different look to the same room. Both of them are gorgeous, and yet unique. I like the wall decor, too. Simple but stunning.

  10. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous quilt! I absolutely love that room!

  11. Kelly says:

    Daisy looks just like my Penny! Or at least how she looked about 5 yrs ago :) My Penny has a lot of white on her snout now. I just love those amber eyes! You can tell Daisy is very well loved too.

    You’re quilts are gorgeous as usual too, but Daisy steals the show!

  12. AnnieO says:

    Pretty, pretty guest room quilts and decor–I saw those embroidery hoops too and they are so fun. Livin’ Large is going in my shopping basket for sure! I have had it bookmarked for a couple of weeks. Great designs on every page there. Thanks for all your “Inspirations” and wonderful photos on your website–you shouldn’t worry about their quality at all–they are superb. Adorable pic of the dog!

  13. Kim D. says:

    Beautiful photo’s looks like you got the right light to me. Love the quilt and fabrics. Daisy is adorable!

  14. Carol Broughton says:

    I love the quilt and the shams! Thanks for the tip on quilting with a double needle, I will definitely try it. Daisy is soooo cute!

  15. Cindy says:

    All beautiful! Love that “Hoot” fabric! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  16. Munaiba says:

    What a great room. It looks so warm and inviting!

  17. A Betty says:

    I love the touches of brown. I think it adds richness to most quilts. I bought two double needles too. That really looks great on the shams.

  18. Diane R. says:

    Oh, Heather, what a great post! I love the room — the fabric in embroidery hoops is such a great touch. Any good source for the hoops? The quilt and shams are beautiful — can’t wait to get a double needle and try it!

  19. cloud mom says:

    The quilt on the dock is gorgeous! It is mesmerizing how it almost touches the water.

  20. glenda says:

    I love your bed skirt tutorial. So easy! Thanks for sharing. Love your new quilts too. I just love how bright and cheery they are. Also I am in love with Daisy. She is darling.

  21. Debbie G says:

    Beautiful! The quilt and the dog!

  22. Carrie says:

    Love the bedskirts. Love the quilts. Love the fabrics. And ~ as always ~ love the pictures.

    But Daisy… oh my gosh! She’s gorgeous. She’s beautiful and… dare I say it… Love Daisy. :)

    Thank you for all the wonderful pictures ~ especially the last one.

  23. Victoria says:

    Daisy has a daisy! we miss Daisy!!! and we wish were there to jump off the dock… you can nearly see our place across the lake! see you in the spring!
    V & B

  24. Laurel Gardner says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your run in with poison ivy. My husband is a licensed arborist in Omaha NE, and he tangles with posion ivy often. His business trucks keep a tube of preparation H in them. (I know it sounds silly) But it works! Just thought you could use the info. :)

  25. Carolyn says:

    I love the pillow…I have never used a double needle this has made me very interested. I need to learn how to use mine. Thank-you!

Leave a Reply

