Favorite Things Friday

Hi Everyone ~    Just in case you hadn’t noticed, one of my favorite things to do is change the color of things.  That can include repainting the rooms in my house, redecorating, dying fabric or sweaters, and spray painting what ever I can get my hands on.  I thought I would elaborate on that a bit, in relation to my last post.  My last post showed one of our guest rooms that I have been in the process of freshening up.  Here’s how it looked a few months ago -

Lonestar Sensation from the book "Favorite Quilts from Anka's Treasures"

It’s not bad, it’s just a little subtle for my taste right now.  I have been using brighter colors and wanted to incorporate those brighter colors into one room in my house.  Plus, this room had been the same for about 3 years, and I was getting bored with it!  My thought was “I’ll just change the color and make a new quilt.”

Fairly simple right?

Wrong.

Joel and I talked about it and decided that while I was redecorating and emptying the room, we should change a few other things.

For example, the windows in this room hadn’t been replaced yet.  During our remodel, we put new windows in the rest of the house.  The new windows are double hungs.  These are casements, with a grill added across the top to try to make them match our double hungs.  By the way, I cut an old grill from a patio door into pieces and then hot glued them into the old windows in my effort to make them match a little better.  At the time, it was a much cheaper solution, and as Tim Gunn would say “Make it work”!

Upgrading the window meant removing the casing and getting new trim.  That resulted in lots of painting of woodwork and those windows are so putsy to paint!  Behind the trim we found very little insulation.  This room has always been rather cold in the winter, so while we were fixing things, we decided to strip all the sheet rock and replace the insulation.  While we were at it, we should probably tear down the ceiling too and replace that insulation too.  Then the room looked like this ~

And my living room next door looked like this  (I won’t say for how long)

Then, while we were at it, we thought we should add a closet to the room.  The people who owned the house before must not have used it as a bedroom because who would have a bedroom without a closet?  So, we framed in a closet.  That resulted in even more woodwork that needed painting and more drywalling.   It was definitely worth it, as now that closet makes a good place to store all my quilts!

And, while I was at it, I needed to paint the bed.  The former black color would never work with my new color scheme.  That resulted in the bed being moved out to the front yard while I tried out many colors of yellow spray paint.  After many coats, the bed looked like this ~

Almost done!  After months of work, layers of sheetrock dust, inhaling paint fumes, and sewing like crazy, my love for revamping has wavered several times.   I really should quit using the saying “while I’m at it, I might as well……”.  Now, I am down to just needing to finish decorating the room.  I made a trip into the nearest big town to look for some accessories and a chair for the corner of the room.  (This chair actually belongs in a different room.  This photo also shows the new and improved windows)    

I didn’t find a thing for this room.  But, while I was at it, I found this cute chair for my studio!

This chair is my new favorite thing.  Isn’t it cute?  It’s from Pier 1.   They have lots of cute small chairs.  It was on sale and Joel’s office chair was falling apart, so I bought him one too (while I was at it).

Isn’t it funny how changing my paint color resulted in all that?   Well, maybe funny isn’t quite the right word, but at least I got this cute new office chair!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Favorite Things Friday

  1. What a great makeover Heather!

  2. Anita says:

    You definitely have a great eye for color and design.

  3. Sherri says:

    Love the room re-do…not only are your quilts wonderful…you could write books on home decorating as well!

  4. Cindy C. says:

    I wonder if Hubby would take it “that far” if I wanted to get a “new look”…

  5. Jen says:

    very nice!! It’s so bright and cheerful; ready for guests!

  6. AnnieO says:

    That was a great deal of work but the results look terrific. I like the window trim very much–our house does not have any window trim at all. It took so long for you to get to the really fun part–decorating, but what a difference! Wonderful room.

  7. A Betty says:

    You have lots of energy. The room is beautiful and so much fun. I have to see if I have that feathered star pattern because that is really pretty too.

  8. Kris says:

    Hi Heather,
    Love the makeover! I have to tell you a funny story! You will appreciate it for sure. My Mom wanted to install a door in her kitchen that would lead out to the back yard by the pool area. So, Dad, being the kind of guy who always wants to make Mom happy, he set out to find a guy who could cut a door in the kitchen for my Mom. Well….this led to a 6 mo. remodel of their kitchen, because, like you, while they were at it, she wanted this, then that…etc. When the remodel was done, and the painter was there to paint she had him paint over the door, in decorative print..Diane’s Damn Door!! Just as a joke for my Dad. Well, he loved it, she loved, it, and they kept it there. What a conversation piece that was!! Daddy died a few years ago. Mom sold the house, and the new lady’s name was Diane, and she still has the saying over the door!!

  9. Sandra says:

    Wow, I am in the same mess you were in. Your room looks wonderful! Funny how a paint job can run into thousands of dollars, months of choking dust, and stepping over things piled wherever you can find a space for it! lol

  10. Jocelyn says:

    We bought a new(er) house this summer and one of the first things we wanted to do was paint. The color through out the whole house was institutional gray. We were looking to warm up the colors. We decided to hire painters and get the job done, so we could move in. But after we got their bill, I about fainted!!!!!! I don’t think we will be changing the color for a very LONG time. They must have painted it with gold :-(

  11. Marsha says:

    Love the change of colors and the windows. Really love the quilts. Looks like a whole new room. Well, it is. Your chair is really cool. Love the shape and color.

  12. amber says:

    Wow! It’s stunning. All of it. Yay for one beautiful project completed!

  13. Patty says:

    Your talents are endless! I am in awe!!

  14. Linda P. says:

    I am so impressed!! Glad you put a closet in there too, you just never know when you need a little more storage. The color scheme, from walls, to bed, to accessories are super! Love the new studio chair. My daughter has some chairs similar and I have made covers for them – real easy when you want to decorate or change them up a little. And “while I’m at it”……Bless hubby’s heart!! Thanks for sharing the process!

  15. Leslie Schmidt says:

    We have been trying to sell my father’s house since he died last year. As soon as you make one improvement, its surroundings look shabby and out of place and you have to change something else. Things just snowball. But your re-do looks fantastic! Love the new windows, and of course the quilt and wall treatment. Very warm and inviting.

  16. karen says:

    That bed looks dynamite with its new colour. the room looks just lovely.

  17. Darlene Bulthuis says:

    I love this post about redecorating….we just finished repainting our bedroom and our living room looked like yours! We even rearranged the bedroom furniture, which hasn’t happened in 15-20 years. Now, I’m thinking the living room could use a facelift…. not sure my husband is ready for another project, though!

  18. Diana says:

    Love the room and the new sewing chair! What an eye for color and decor you have!
    Thanks so much for sharing!!!

  19. bev says:

    Wow! It looks super! Where do you and Joel get your energy?
    I just had to giggle when I saw the exposed studs–I KNOW how “I might as well” goes!
    I love reading your blog!
    Bev

  20. Mary Beth says:

    Okay crazy question….
    You’re a northern climate kind of lady…
    I’m a norther climate kind of lady.
    You replaced the windows in your house,
    we’ve…. Well been thinking about it for seven years, but haven’t decided WHICH company to use. Could you tell me which company made your windows, so I could check into them?
    Thanks
    mb

  21. Carrie says:

    The makeover is gorgeous! From this side of the construction, it looks very well worth it. But then I wasn’t breathing the fumes or inhaling any of the dust, was I?

    One question ~ did you wind up with a “yellow” Daisy after the paint job on the bed?

    One more question ~ what is the color of the paint you used for the walls in the bedroom? I love it.

  22. amandajean says:

    wow! i’m impressed! your new room is gorgeous. (quite a lot of work, holy cow!) but gorgeous!!!

  23. I love the yellow bed! You did a great job on the revamp…looks very inviting.

  24. Pingback: What a Mess! « Trends and Traditions

Leave a Reply

