Day 2 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

Welcome to day two of the Fall-O-Ween blog hop!

Today our topic is:   Scents

I think of several things when it comes to the smells of fall.  For some strange reason, most of them involve food (mainly apples and cinnamon).  Just thinking about it makes me crave a hot cider or piece of apple pie.  Our family hasn’t had our pie-making day yet this year, as it is still before the first frost.  For those of you who don’t make apple pies, the apples aren’t ready until after the first frost, which in Minnesota, could be any day now!  I found a photo from last year to show you just a few of the fruits of our labors.  

DSC_0968

In addition to apples and cinnamon, the other scent I love is the smell of a wood fire.  The cool evenings in the fall are perfect for a warm, crackling bonfire.  The harvest moon coming up over the water is so beautiful.  You just can’t beat it, even with apple pie  – and it sure is easier on the hips!

Today our featured designer is Sandy Gervais.  Be sure to visit her here, to see what her project is for today.  You can also visit the other designers on the hop:

Gudrun – GE Designs
Terri – Whimsicals
 

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Day 2 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

  1. Wendy says:

    Don’t know which is prettier, your apple pies or that harvest moon.

  2. Angie Wood says:

    Gosh I would love to have family to get together to do something like that. I’m sure everyone loved all the hard work. I can only imagine the smell….. This year after we pick apples I will be canning pie filling! Be back tomorrow!

  3. Sandy says:

    oh my goodness! That is alot of pies!

  4. Sue Bennett says:

    That is a LOT of pies.

  5. Sandra says:

    One of the nicest scents, pies baking in the oven…. yours must have been going all day! The prettiest would have to be the little girl at end of the table!! :)

  6. Darlene B says:

    This year I’m coming to your house on pie making day – just in time to taste test. I’ll even do the dishes for you!

  7. Tiffaney says:

    How many pies do you make on pie day? They look wonderful.

  8. Linda P. says:

    I remember that picture, Heather, and believe it or not… thought of it several times during the year for one reason or another – couldn’t remember when yall did all the baking. Love that photo!! I would just love to join in one day or be the fly on the wall to see all the fun!

  9. Pauline says:

    The smell of autumn to me would have to be cinnamon. Yummy apple pie, apple cider, apple crisp, pumpkin cookies and pumpkin roll with cream cheese filling all with a touch of cinnamon….OMG I think it is time to bake…..

    Love the photo……..a table full of apple pie……that’s a good days work I’d say.

  10. upstatelisa says:

    that’s a lotta pies! gorgeous photos of the sun!

  11. Cindy C. says:

    Your photos today need to be made into postcards because they’re so beautiful. Thank you.

    LOL, I “DO” remember the Apple Pie pic from last year. How fun to see the pies lined up and ready to pop in the oven when the craving ignites.

    Question Heather: How do you freeze the pies? Are they put in foil pans to be able to freeze? Do you defrost the pies before baking?

  12. Grace says:

    WOW, I don’t think I have ever seen so many pies lined up and ready to be baked! What do you do with all those pies? Great pictures too.

  13. Jocelyn says:

    Wow that’s a lot of pies!

  14. Big Rig John says:

    Those pies look wonderful – I remember my mother doing this in the fall – and then sending me to the basement deep freezer to pull one out in January – YUM – YUM! Care to share your recipe for your apple pie?

  15. Lee Ann L. says:

    holy! That is a lot of pies! And, they’re making me hungry! I’m off for a snack before continuing on reading blogs. :-)

  16. Louise K. says:

    Beautiful photo of the moon, and look at all those pies!

  17. Sandra Cudd says:

    Can almost smell the wonderful scent that must be in your kitchen from all those pies. Beautiful shots of that moon over the water. Minnesota is a wonderful state, but think the winters would be just a little too cold for me. Have enjoyed the hop, so thank you all.

  18. Linda says:

    YUMMY! APPLE PIES I bet your house smelt amazing…

  19. Kathleen says:

    So many pies! I can smell one baking now….yummy.

  20. All this talk about pie making is making me hungry! :o)

  21. Mary says:

    Do you all freeze the pies or distribute them and eat them right away? I love homemade pie!

  22. Koye Hendrix says:

    Your pies look wonderful. How do you find space in the freezer for all of them??? Koye

  23. Brenda says:

    I LOVE the pics of the moon over the lake. I’ve spent enough time at relatives’ cabins up in MN to just smell that lake.

    b/

  24. QuiltSue says:

    I too love the smell of bonfires, and of cinnamon. Looking at all those apple pies, can I come and live at your house please?

  25. dawn says:

    The picture of the moon over the lake is so beautiful! What a lovely time of year!

  26. Polly says:

    Lordy! Where do you put all those pies?? You must have a giant freezer!! Polly

  27. Diane Young says:

    Your harvest moon photo is beautiful!

  28. Doris says:

    Can I come up for pie making day this year? What a fabulous tradition…

  29. Teresa says:

    Oh my gosh! What a wonderful tradition…I’m going to have to suggest this one to my family! Those pies look amazing..and what fun!

    Thanks for sharing!!

  30. Wendy P says:

    I remember that pie making picture from last year! I need to find a good apple pie recipe myself. The one I got from my great grandmother always turns out soupy. Any tips?

  31. Jen says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of apple pies! Quite impressive! You’re making my mouth water!

  32. Lovie Ball says:

    Beautiful family tradition.

  33. Liz A. says:

    Holy cow — that’s a LOT of pies! so do you bake them all now or freeze them and then bake them when you use them?

  34. Mary says:

    I am soooo impressed. So many pies and they all look delicious. I don’t know if I’ll get through the day without making an apple pie!

  35. Cindy Keery says:

    Oh! That reminds me, I should make pies for the freezer! :)

  36. Kathy J says:

    Gorgeous harvest moon, yummy-looking pies!

  37. Connie F says:

    That is a lot of pie!
    The one scent that I love is when my mom makes her turkey dressing. When I make it now it brings back so many memories.
    Connie F

  38. Jackie says:

    How many people make all those pies?

  39. Nancy L says:

    Great pictures and fall memories!! Mmm, I can smell and taste the pies!

  40. Bonnie Novak says:

    I don’t know which is the best …scenery or the pies??
    I’ll go for the food!!

  41. Pat says:

    Wow, I’m impressed at all the apple pies and they look so perfect.

  42. Chris says:

    All those pies represents LOTS of sweet memories cooking with family..how sweet! Now thats a LOT of peeling apples!!!! :)

  43. Vivian says:

    Those pies look really good. Unfortunately, I did not get the cooking genes.

  44. Leslie Schmidt says:

    Your photos are beautiful. And I love the idea of getting together for a baking day with your family. Very heart-warming.

  45. Erika says:

    pies are sure a sign of fall and family!

  46. Laura Hayward says:

    Your pies look tasty. This weather makes me feel very domestic. I love fall.

  47. Beth says:

    Love the photo of the Moon!!! How many pies did ya’ll make??? lol

  48. Ilona says:

    scent of yummy pies in the oven!!! can it be any better?

Leave a Reply

