Day 4 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

Welcome back Blog Hoppers!  Today our featured designer is Kari from New Leaf Stitches.  She has a little project to share with everyone, so be sure to stop by and visit.

Our topic today is:  Texture.

The texture that I think of in the fall is the crunchy fallen leaves.  How they go from being soft and pliable, to be dried up and crunchy  –  Does that count as a texture?

This close-up shows some of the texture, but often times you hear the texture more than you see it.  Does that make sense?

We live in several acres of wood, so if you step outside the house in the fall, you are bound to be walking through fallen leaves.  With each step you hear the crunch, crunch, crunch.  Can you hear it?  There’s just something about it that makes fall special.

It makes you want to go hiking in the woods, just to hear it.

Or go outside and do yard work, just to hear it.

 

Or maybe invite your niece over so you can rake up a big pile of leaves and jump in them.  No, you aren’t too old to do it!

You could even get engaged in the fall, so your aunt can take your engagement pictures out in the leaves.  (If you are already married, I don’t recommend this one.  I suppose you could  just take an anniversary pictures out in the leaves)

 

 In fact there are lots of things you could decide to do, just as an excuse to go out and walk in the leaves – I just don’t have any pictures in my stash to go with them!  Still, just the thought of walking through those crunchy leaves brings back lots of good fall memories.

Now, off to the other bloggers to read about their favorite fall textures -

 Gudrun – GE Designs

Sandy - Pieces from my heart

 
 
 
Terri – Whimsicals
 
 
 
About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Day 4 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

  1. Beth says:

    What cute pictures, thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Linda P. says:

    I always enjoy photos of your family! We have lots of leaves falling here but not really turning yet….. love the colors of Autumn time. hugs!

  3. Linda says:

    Bright red, orange and yellow leaves have started to fall. Thanks for the lovely pics.

  4. Grace says:

    It’s fun to walk through the leaves, and I still do it today! Brings back wonderful memories of when I was little.

  5. Sue Bennett says:

    Nice photos that you shared with us.

  6. Tiffaney says:

    Wonderful family photos. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Your family photos are beautiful! Linda

  8. Robyn says:

    Great pics. I love the engagement shot but boy does it make me feel old. They seriously don’t look old enough to be engaged ;)

  9. Cindy C. says:

    As well as “Snow Angels”, we used to make “Leave Angels”. Then the Angels BLEW in the wind – leaving a prayer with you.

    Happy Fall, Heather.

  10. Jocelyn says:

    Great pictures. It has been fun to visit each blog and read the theme of the day.

  11. Pauline says:

    I’m luving this blog hop, learning lots and am inspired by all the projects . The 10 of you are putting on a great blog hop. Thanks bunches.

    You must get a ton of leaves to rake!!!

  12. Angie Wood says:

    I used to love playing in the leaves. I still love to rake leaves. And I can’t stand using a blower….you smell like gas when you go inside. Great pictures. Be back tomorrow.

  13. Darlene B says:

    What great pictures, Heather! Makes me want to go take a walk in the woods right now ;)

  14. Laura Hayward says:

    Can’t wait to go out.

  15. Claire says:

    I love the visual textures this time of year-how a leaf curls just before it falls softly to the ground, the ridges in a pumpkin. I also love the tactile texture of the air-you can feel it changing every day, getting colder and crisper and readying itself for winter.
    Who is the lucky couple?

  16. Sandy says:

    I love the fall foliage! Just came back from visiting my sister in New Hampshire and the foliage was just starting to turn.

  17. Giggles says:

    That first photo is absolutely gorgeous!

  18. Kathleen says:

    I can’t wait for that first fall walk in the woods. Our leaves are just starting to turn.

  19. Love that first leafy picture…the colours are beautiful!

  20. Polly says:

    Wow! Gorgeous photos! Your fall is much further along than ours on the east coast!! Polly

  21. Teresa says:

    I love crunchy fall leaves. It makes me think of taking lovely walks in St. Louis when my daughter was younger and trying to find the crunchiest leaves to jump on. :)

  22. Well, living in South Florida, there are very few leaves, but….I do remember, as a child, playing in the leaves.

  23. Jen says:

    Gorgeous pictures!

  24. Sandra Cudd says:

    Beautiful pictures! Have had a good time reading your blog during this hop. Can see that I will have to check on the bloggers even after the hop is over. It is just so interesting.

  25. Leaf raking, that fall fun thing NOT! Did you see “The Middle” last night, Brick was raking the leaves. Too funny!

  26. Cindy Keery says:

    I love going for a crisp walk on a sunny day with leaves crunching underfoot.

  27. wbotw39 says:

    Nice picture

  28. Bridgid says:

    This blog hop is a blast!!!!! I love all the neat ideas I’m getting from reading all the blogs every day.

  29. dawn says:

    Walking through the woods on a crisp fall day is wonderful. Can’t wait to head north in a another week.

  30. Judy C says:

    All the pictures remind me of back East. I sure do miss the leaves and colors, and apples–fresh from the tree. I just don’t like what comes next–snow and ice! I guess I’ll stay with the desert.

  31. Vivian says:

    Your photos are priceless.

  32. Louise says:

    Nice photos, and what a cute couple!

  33. Paula Johnson says:

    Yes isn’t Love grand in the fall.

  34. Chris says:

    One of our favorite activities in the fall..Hiking. We usually go camping just at the peak of the color change, its beautiful and the hikes are so much fun. All of our kids love it too, so now they camp and hike with their children. :)

  35. Bonnie Nyquist says:

    Love the engagement photo,they look so young!! Didn’t we all back then? Loving the Blog Hop. Bonnie Nyquist bonniesline at aol dot com

  36. Pamela says:

    I love fall leaves, I had so much fun as a child jumping in them!

  37. Jackie says:

    I love the sound of crunching leaves in the Fall, just like fine gravel on the sidewalk when the snow melts in the spring.

  38. Wendy says:

    Seeing the rake and leaves … I can totally hear the crunch. Smell it too. Thank you! Beautiful family pictures! Nicely color coordinated, too :)

  39. Kat Scribner says:

    I always love your quilting style. This is a warm, take along project. Thanks.

  40. Kathy Norquist says:

    Another wool project I love and just must make! The pictures are fabulous! How do you all do it???

    Kathy N

  41. Joyce says:

    love the cute wool pattern…..thanks for sharing

  42. Cheri says:

    Just love the fall-great shots

  43. Ilona says:

    the colors of fall and the textures!! beautiful!

Leave a Reply

