Artful Home

It’s been a quiet week here in Minnesota.  Many quilt shop owners, designers and vendors are making their way to Houston for Quilt Market.   Me?  I’m here in the studio working on stuff for the next spring market.  It actually feels pretty good to be ahead of schedule for once!  It’s nice to skip out on all the work of having a booth at market, but I will miss catching up with everyone and talking with the shop owners. 

I have something new that Henry Glass is showing in their booth at market, so a little part of me will be there.  They are showing and taking orders on my next fabric line, Artful Home.

Here’s the cover of the sales card for the line (sorry for the blurry picture – it is very dark and rainy here, so it’s hard to get enough light to take a decent picture).  The line was inspired by my love of all things home dec.  One of Henry Glass’s artists drew up the cover as a living room scene, using some of the prints from the line.

I really like the stripe pillow and the lamp shade.  Plus, I want that rug!    Do any of you know how I can make my design into a rug?

Here’s a peek at what’s inside -   A few of my favorite prints to use in quilts and decorating- including stripes, dots, large florals, smaller florals, geometrics, tonals etc.

Yesterday the first set of strike-offs came in.  Finally, I get to see my designs on fabric!  

The greens are warm and inviting~

I love all things aqua blue and for this line I decided to add in a darker turquoise as well the aqua.

The reds are my personal favorite.   Most of the rooms in my house have red, so most of my fabric lines also have red.   Red is such a powerful color – it just sucks you right in!

I also added in a nice milk chocolate color.    I love all things chocolate too . . . .

At the last minute I decided to add in the black.  That way I could pull the line together with all the black furniture in my house – especially this room from my last post.  As you can see, I’m already auditioning my next quilt for this room!

This line will be shipping next February, but now is the time to ask your local shop to carry the line!  If you are a shop owner and are interested in carrying the line, please stop by Henry Glass’s booth at market to place your order.  If you want to be in on the first printing, now is the time to get your order in.  There are 21 skus in the line and there will be a coordinating project sheet available.

As usual, I’m curious about which prints or colors are your favorite.  Do you like the large-scale prints or the small-scale prints better?  How about the home-dec prints verses the quilt-y looking prints?  If you have a minute, leave a comment and give me a little feedback – Thanks!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Artful Home

  1. Moneik says:

    I love the stripes, the aqua/teals, and the smaller prints. I don’t usually do much with larger prints, but love the small ones for tablerunners and purses.

  2. Chris says:

    LOve the large red print and the milk chocolate with the turquise flowers (the one with just the two colors). Oh, and I love stripes printed on the bias to use for binding. Well done!

  3. Alisa says:

    I love the green with the chocolate flowers as well as the chocolate with the turquoise flowers (same print, different colourway.) That print is my favourite but I also love the print that is flowers in circles in either green or turquoise. The whole line looks really lovely together.

  4. Bountiful Quilter says:

    For home dec purposes I would love to see a couple of the prints in a really large scale. Artful home is a really pretty line. I am looking forward to seeing it in shops.

  5. Diane Young says:

    I find it all stunning! I think my favorite is the print with red background & white & aqua flowers that you have hanging on your headboard!

  6. Jocelyn says:

    Wow these are gorgeous! I really like the aqua from this selection. And the green is very smooth. Very beautiful line. The browns really give the color pop!

  7. ritad says:

    Love your new line! Regarding making your fabric into a rug……check out a book called: FLOORQUILTS by Ellen Highsmith Silver. I believe I got mine at Amazon. It’s a great idea making floorcloths that look like quilts.. The same idea could be used to make a whole cloth floor quilt.

  8. Barb Colvin says:

    I love the green with the brown flowers! And that turquoise with the black sprigs-yes, yes, yes :)

  9. Tina Hansen says:

    Lovely fabric line. I think my favorite is the large red floral.

  10. Denise in PA says:

    Heather – I love it all! That red tone on tone dot is awesome. And the turquoise/brown is my current favorite color combo. You’ve got another winner!

  11. Suzanne says:

    I love this fabric line and anxiously await pattern(s) to showcase it. Since your “Let the Good Times Roll” fabric with the large flowers, I have looked at large prints with new eyes.

    Each of these prints is pretty in it’s own way but I REALLY like the large prints for borders, etc.
    Suzanne

  12. Linda Hrcka says:

    Just beautiful. I love all the color yet its not busy. Its classic with a twist of fun. I love it!

  13. Linda says:

    Didn’t to put my last name. LOL!

  14. Sequana says:

    If I had to choose, I’d take the large prints in Aqua. But I love all of them. I guess that’s not too helpful, is it? *S*

  15. Kimberly says:

    I really like the green print that has the geometric tile looking print on it (with the turquoise accent)! I seem to be drawn to prints like this. I think that they blend so easily into a quilt or can be incorporated in to home decor such as a throw pillow. Can’t wait to see the line in person in the spring!

  16. Deb says:

    I would always opt for the quilty prints since I’m not really a seamstress making home deco items. My favorite would be the reds, too!

  17. Sherri says:

    Love them all! My favorite is the large red and white floral on aqua…I also love the top print in the aqua photo…and the aqua dots. The greens are really gorgeous as well. I think this is my favorite line you’ve designed. I was hoping you’d have new patterns coming out this fall, though! Spring market is going to be in my “neck of the woods” though…so I look forward to meeting you there–and seeing the new patterns!

  18. Jan frandsen says:

    Heather, what a great new line. I can’t pick just one. I am however in need of greens and wish this was available now.

  19. Love the large red on turquoise print and the red and turquoise strip!

  20. Debbie says:

    My fav is the large floral on the red background. I also like the chocolate flowers on green and same print but turquoise on chocolate. And I always love your bias looking stripes. Okay I pretty much love the whole collection. Nice job.

  21. Bonnie Novak says:

    I love the reds too…but the dark aqua and chocolate are my favorites!!

  22. Shelly J says:

    My favorite print is the one with the large flowers in the white circles in either green or aqual. Can’t wait to see and touch all of them.

  23. Diane says:

    I love the colors you use. Personally I’m a smaller print, quilty kind of fabric girl, but I don’t do much home dec stuff at all.

  24. Julie in WA says:

    You always have such a great balance of large and small prints. In my opinion, that is critical in both quilts and in home dec. I love the larger prints with coordinated tone-on-tone design, and with limited use of white, your fabric lines are always very rich in color.

  25. Cindy says:

    My favorite piece is the large scale floral with the red background. And, yes, let me know where I can get one of those rugs!

  26. westcoastauntie says:

    Love the larger scale decorator prints…the ones in the drapes and rug are my favorites, tho I’m liking all the greens. And the black print…love it!

  27. Gentrie says:

    I LOVE the chocolate with just the teal flowers. I love that color combo. I also love the other chocolate with the smaller teal flowers. My third favorite is the green with the white circle and big flowers.

    I like red but in smaller doses, the chocolate, teal and green would end up being my focus fabrics with the red as and accent punch.

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this line, my be my favorite of yours.

  28. VickiT says:

    I really love the aqua and turquoise colors. Actually I love them all but those especially. Home dec and Quilty types, I think I would use more of the quilty type but having both is a great idea too since the fabrics can be used to do an entire room The first thing my eyes went to was that rug so I hope you find a way to get that figured out. I am sure that would be a huge seller because it is SO pretty the way it appears in that picture.

  29. Deb C says:

    oh it’s all just so gorgeous. My favorite is the red set. Of those, I love the large scale print and the complimentary smaller scale print as second. It’s hard to find a nice red and these are exquisite.
    Then there’s turquoise. That’s a lovely shade as well. Green in that particular shade and print is also a keeper. I guess I do love them all!!!

  30. Becky says:

    Love the brown with turquoise…stunning. Also really like the circle print with the flowers inside…fun! Polka dots are always good too.

  31. Leslie Schmidt says:

    My favorite color in the line is the green, but I’m also partial to the chocolate (subliminal influence perhaps?) The geometrics are very neat, and I like the red with the black leafy designs on it. All in all a very pretty line.

  32. Ruth B says:

    I love large and small prints. Large prints are great for piecing and small prints work really well for applique. Although sometimes a large print lends itself to fussy cutting which is always fun. Your colors are always stunning and the new line looks amazing.

  33. Jen says:

    I heart the big viny flowers! Gorgeous line!

  34. I think you have a fantastic line here. The mix of prints and tone-on-tones is perfect. I also like the dots and stripes. This kind of a line gives so much opportunity for creativity – Great Job!

  35. jolyn olson says:

    love it all!! I especially like the black with the others and would like to see a few more black prints to add to it.

  36. Kim Hartwig says:

    You are soooo talented! I absolutely love the deep turquoise and red with the dark(black or brown) branchy looking thing. (Sorry for the bad description) Good job on a great fabric line, will start looking for it this winter. It will brighten up the gloomies here in NE Wisconsin.

  37. I am a small scale gal for myself but often purchase larger scales for quilts that I gift. These are great! Now how about another quilt book like Living Large using those beautiful large scale prints.

  38. Mary Ann says:

    I can’t just pick one! I just love it all and can’t wait to see it in a quilt store. I really like black in any quilt or fabric.

  39. Kathy says:

    Just put your design onto a piece of good burlap or linen and use wool strips to do a primitive Hooked rug. It would look gorgeous! Since you love yarn, you could also do it with wool’rug yarn. Hooking is not hard. That is a big rug, but it could be done easily.

  40. Jessica says:

    Very creative and you seem to be very talented!! I am blog hopping today and came upon your blog…I hope you will visit and follow my blog. Have a blessed day!! :o)

  41. Dana B says:

    I love it! Especially the greens and browns with the touch of black. I’ve been thinking of making a new quilt for our bedroom and these colors look perfect. Do I really have to wait until February? :)

  42. Jess says:

    I love the green and teal fabrics with the large circles and flowers! Your colors are just beautiful!

  43. Irma M. says:

    I always love your bright colors. I, too, love the red, especially the large and small floral. And, yes, that rug is awesome. I also like the turquoise with the black twig. Thank you again for another wonderful line of fabric that is so versatile.

  44. Nel says:

    Oh wow I Love Them All!. Beautiful. I am so glad I stumbled on to your site. One of my bloggy buddies mentioned you because of your tips for doing binding on quilts. Oh I cannot wait to have time to really look over your blog. I hope you do not mind I am going to add you to my list of favorite reads on my blog!
    until next time… nel

  45. Kay M. says:

    I love the large print red & the brown & turquise. Can’t wait to get my hands on some of this. I can picture redoing a room to use these.

  46. Kari says:

    Is it on home dec weight fabric, or regular quilting weight? My favorite prints are the ones that make the sort of diamond shape with the feathery crosses.

  47. Marsha says:

    Love the red line and the aqua line. I like having the large and small florals including the tone on tones. Beautiful fabrics. Thanks, Marsha

  48. Linda P. says:

    Always for me is RED – just plain love any reds, but really like the black you pulled with all of it. Unless it’s for a leaf or tiny accent, I don’t do much green. I used to love it. I have green eyes, and my maiden name was green, and seems like all the gifts I ever received used to be green – LOL. My grandma used to have some red shoes – I fell in love, and have loved red ever since, and don’t ever tire of it – yes powerful!!
    They are all beautiful, Heather. Is your (& your mom’s) sewing rooms still on here? Was searching for it the other day for some ideas, and it was heaven in a room!! I also going to study on the ideas she had for the drawers and all. Thanks!!

  49. Lara says:

    I would like a rug out of that material too, and an order of the turquoise- aqua fabric. Got it on my list to ask my local store to order it in.

  50. Shari says:

    I’m seeing a tote bag in the future with the large print home decor fabrics – beautiful!

  51. Jennifer says:

    Great line as usual! I like the green and aqua ones with the big circles with flowers in them. They’d make a great purse!

  52. Karin says:

    Beautiful! Love the chocolate and aqua floral print and the green and chocolate version. The green medallion is very pretty as is the flowers in circles. I find myself drawing away from the red/aqua combo lately and moving on to softer color combinations. Maybe it’s because cocoon weather is on its way!

  53. Sharlene K says:

    I love them all….but I guess I’m partial to polka dots! Where did you purchase the iron piece that’s above your bed? It’s so unique!

  54. A Betty says:

    My favorites are the aqua and the red prints with the dark little sprig in them. I prefer the smaller prints.

  55. Alice says:

    As always, another beautiful line of fabric. I like each and every print. Georgeous and can’t wait to see the quilt you create with the line.

  56. Hmm . . . the greens look delicious, but I LOVE that you threw in that darker turquoise, and while red is my very favorite color of all time, the chocolate pieces are great. OK, so I love them all and can’t decide! As far as Home Dec vs. quilt-y, I think the Home Dec fabrics look GREAT in quilts.

  57. Laura says:

    I LOVE the new line…i will be honest…I saw photos from market of it and wasn’t overly impressed so I had to come check it out on your blog…and the colors and prints are SO MUCH MORE STRICKING here…I think the photos I must have seen were taken in a weird light because the colors are so vivid and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the mix of prints and the scale! The cover drawing is amazing and if you ever figure out how to get that rug let me know :o) Congrats on another fabulous line and I will totally be requesting it from my quilt shop :o)

  58. Paula says:

    All are yummy. I especially like the large-scale floral. If I saw them in a quilt shop I would be torn between the aqua and the red. I especially love the black print, as well.

Leave a Reply

