Moving On

Greetings from MN!

I hope you all had a good Thanksgiving.  We celebrated Thanksgiving twice yesterday.  So, not only did we get to hang out with both sides of the family, but I got to have pie twice in one day!  Perfect, right? 

 The only bad thing that happened yesterday is that the lake froze over.  It was one of the coldest Thanksgivings that we’ve had in Minnesota for a while.

I think that’s all the more reason to stay inside and finish up our current house project (see my last post).  I have to say thanks to everyone who commented on my last post and wished us well.  I knew I could count on all of you for a little encouragement!  

The painting and cleaning has been done, but as you can see, we just have to finish up the fireplace.   (Joel is getting a start on planning out the layout of the stone.)  Tomorrow the stone will go up.  Then I will have to figure out what color I want the grout to be and do the final cleaning up. 

It’s been really nice to have our house back to normal.  After three weeks off from cooking, I have been trying out some new recipes in the kitchen. 

So much for things staying cleaning!

Many of the new recipes that I have been trying out didn’t turn out well enough to make again.  One that I will be making again was PW’s Roast Chicken.

It’s very simple to make and involved these fresh herbs ~

It’s so easy to make and looks like this before roasting. 

(I think I need a larger roasting pan.   Ever heard the expression “That looks like a fat guy in a little T-shirt?)

Here it is after roasting, along with another one of PW’s recipes – Risotto.  I had never had risotto before and it was SOOOOOO good.  If you haven’t made it before, you should!

In addition to cooking, I’ve been doing a little bit of sewing.  I got this one machine quilted and finished the binding.

As you know, I love stripes and this fabric line had the perfect stripe for the binding.

Details:  Quilt pattern:  Square Dance from my book Livin’ Large

Fabric line:  Fundago by Kate Spain

I also got the machine quilting done on this one.  My Mom made this quilt for my cousin and his wife.  They just had their first baby and Mom always makes a quilt for the baby shower gift.

This fabric line had the perfect binding fabric too!

Details:  Pattern:  Wild Thing by Camille of Thimble Blossoms

Fabric line:  All Star by Riley Blake

So that’s what’s been happening in my world this past week.  Have a great weekend and I’ll see you back here next week!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Machine Quilting, Quilting, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Moving On

  1. maree says:

    Your Right those Stripes for both bindings go perfect with the quilts which are both Gorgeous…
    that chicken looked Great too…
    cheers

  2. Sandra says:

    Ha, yup, I think you need to ask Santa for a roaster! The chicken looks yummy.
    I have to agree, stripes make the greatest bindings. Love the quilting pattern.

  3. mariajhmom says:

    I had some guy put in gas inserts in our fireplaces and we love them now that we found out about a couple of switches to make the flame look real and a blower to make the room nice and warm. I could tell you who did ours so you could get rid of the yahoo that’s working on yours!

  4. glenda says:

    Your house is shaping up so fast. I can’t get over how quickly you guys work!
    Good job.
    The chicken looks delicious. I love new recipes too.
    Love your quilt and fabric choice, so pretty.

  5. Koye Hendrix says:

    I love the stripes for the binding. How do you do it? Mine never swirl around like a candy cane and I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. Koye

  6. A Betty says:

    Your room looks beautiful. I knew it would though. Great quilts and quilting.

  7. Pinkying says:

    Hi Heather,

    The room looks fantastic! Keep on working away – it will be perfect in time for Christmas :)

    I have often admired your “skinny girl” kitchen sign – do you happen to recall where you got it???

  8. Annette says:

    Your room looks great, must be nice to have that all back to normal.
    That roast chicken looks very delicious!

  9. Edna says:

    The room looks great and so do the quilts. Is the ceiling textured or smooth? I couldn’t tell from the picture.

  10. Linda Cartwright says:

    I am so looking forward to visiting all the different blogs, reading all your stories, and free patterns! Thanks

  11. Shannon says:

    I have never done anything like this before. I am excited to learn about every designer and enjoy their stories and free patterns! Thanks!

  12. Joyce says:

    This blog hop is such a great idea! I’m so enjoying getting to “meet” you and the other designers! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

