SNOW!!!

The winner of the Grand Prize from the Henry Glass Project Parade has been announced today.  It’s  Erica from Sweet Grass, Montana.  Congratulations Erica and thanks to everyone for playing along!

In other news, did you hear about all the snow we’ve been having in Minnesota?  You may have seen it on the news or heard about the roof of the Metrodome collapsing?  I guess we aren’t the only people who should have shoveled our roof sooner.

But seriously, 6 guys to shovel that huge roof? 

Not gonna happen. 

The roof collapsed on Sunday morning.  Luckily the game had been canceled because the opposing team couldn’t fly in.  I guess 21″ of snow will shut down the airport.  Good thing too, because this could have been really bad if the roof had collapsed with a dome full of football fans.

Out here in west-central Minnesota, we only had about 5″ of snow.   The problem is we’ve been having a snow storm every weekend, so we already have a lot more snow than we usually do.

Keeping the side-walk shoveled and the drive way plowed has turned into a part-time job.

Last Sunday we decided to have a family fish fry at our house, and put the snow to some good use – Sledding.

All the kids gave it a try. 

This little guy was a first timer and you can see he’s not too sure about this!

We loaded up the sleds with as many kids as we could fit

The only bad part is when you get to the bottom

Sometimes it takes two adults to get the kids back up to the top of the hill!

But with smiles like this, its all worth it.

When the cheeks are starting to turn a certain shade of red, we know it’s time to get the kids back inside.  They are still game to keep having fun, so despite some crying and whining, we get them all back inside.

After supper the kids were getting bored.  We have a lack of toys at our house, so I decided to try to entertain the kids with making snowflakes. 

I found some templates on-line and printed them off.  The kids would select which one they wanted me to cut for them and take turns opening them.  They seemed to enjoy the surprise, though my 3-year-old nephew Gavin informed me that one of his didn’t look like the picture.  I thought it was pretty good of him to notice!  I tried my best, but some were challenging.  The kids decorated my fireplace and posed with their handiwork.

I think I had even more fun doing this than the kids did.  I love trying to get them interested in doing crafts.  Hopefully they will discover their creative side (and plus I get a chance to behave like a kid again)

After the kids left, I decided to keep the snowflakes and hang them in my dining room.

I had read on Jill’s blog about how she hung them, so I gave it a try.  (click here to see her room this year – it’s beautiful!  You can tell she has a lot more experience at this than I do!)

I may even keep them for next year.

Anyway, I just thought I would share this.  I’m sure many of you know some little ones that would like to give this a try.  It really is fun!

Edit:  I’ve had a few people ask where I got the snowflake patterns.  I’m sure there are lots of place to try but the two that are found are:

http://highhopes.com/snowflakes.html

http://www.papersnowflakes.com/6sided.htm

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Family, Minnesota and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to SNOW!!!

  1. Sandra says:

    It looks wonderful!! We are getting pouring rain here in Eastern Canada…. so sad to see the snow go and look at all of that brown and grey again. Hopefull it will turn cold and we will have some snow.
    Love the snowflakes! That must have been a fun afternoon. It’s like making a stack and whack or a one block wonder, you don’t know what you will get until it is opened up!

  2. Chris says:

    I always love yur pictures! And of course your quilts. I have a question–or a strange situtation. During the blog hop I could never get Jill’s page to open and I thought she must have a problem. But today, using your snowflake link, I still can’t get anything but her blog background. Do you know if something special is needed to see her pages?

  3. Jocelyn says:

    oooo I love the snowflakes. Can you post the website where you found the patterns??

  4. LaDonna says:

    Gosh, I haven’t seen that much snow since we lived in Germany! Down here in South Texas, it’s sunshiny and 62 degrees! Paper snowflakes will just have to do!

  5. Jill Finley says:

    Heather the snowflakes are beautiful! I love reading your site. It has been so fun for me to get to know the other designers better. I was almost your neighbor. My husband works for a Minneapolis company, and we thought we might have to relocate to Minnesota. But it turns out that we are staying in Utah. This week I am glad, seeing your temps. He is there this week, so wave to him as he goes by!

  6. Kaye M. says:

    The snowflakes are beautiful! They look really great hanging from the ceiling in your pretty dining room. They are a nice way to remember a fun afternoon.

  7. Megan Z. says:

    Hi! Thank you so much for posting your beautiful pictures! I always love getting on your site. I visited Minnesota 2 summers ago and just fell in love with the state. That being said, I’m not sure about those winters?! I think I would definitely need to stock on heavy sweaters and winter coats! LOL Thanks again for the photos!

  8. Sharon D says:

    Looks like you are the fun Aunt to be around! The snowflakes look gorgeous hanging in your dining room. We got over 17″ of snow in Woodbury, with over 4 feet of snow in the driveways. School is canceled for the second day in a row in Minneapolis and St. Paul, this never happens.

  9. Leslee Downer says:

    Great looking snowflakes! What a fun day for your family! It’s a bummer the dome caved in. Up here in the northland when snow loads a big roof like that, they bring in a helicopter to hover and blow the snow off…it’s alot easier than shoveling and it prevents the cave in. Happy Holidays!

  10. Linda P. says:

    Congrats to the Henry Glass winner, but honestly the whole thing was fun for me too!!!
    Heather, I love seeing pics of your beautiful family, especially those little ones – their faces, smiles, are priceless!! Loved the first timer’s face – He’s got lots of fun ahead!!!
    Merry Christmas!!

  11. Linda P. says:

    Loved your dining room as well with the snowflakes hovering!!

  12. WendyMT says:

    Pretty cool to see a fellow Montanan win so I won’t pout too long :) :) Actually I had lots of fun and found new blogs so consider myself a winner already. Thank you!! Love the snowflakes and thank you, thank you for the links to them!

  13. Pat says:

    Just love your snowflakes, they look so beautiful hanging in your dining room. Thanks for the websites, I’ll try this with the grandkids.

  14. Hi Heather,
    can you tell me about the picture on your computer? I love it. Did you take it and would you share it? I’d love to print it out and put on my wall.

    Merry Christmas,
    Robin in cold, snowy Virginia but not like yours

  15. Rachel says:

    I loved the snowflakes. I found a utube video that showed how to make them….and I ended up making about 40! It is addictive. I decorated my Christmas tree with them! Thanks for your beautiful pictures of your quilts, your crafts, and your home.

Leave a Reply

