Cold Weather Therapy

I’ve been busy sewing on lots of projects this week.  As you can see, none of them are finished yet, although both of these projects are a little further along than when I took this picture.

I’ll share more when these projects are actually finished.  In the meantime, I do have a couple of knitting projects that are finished.  They’ve been finished for a little while now, but I am always behind on blogging about what I’m doing.

The pattern is called Sorelle Lace Edged Pullover.

It’s not my favorite project, as it turned out a little small.  I used one of my favorite yarns – Waterlily by Classic Elite.

For the Ravelry link, click here

This next sweater is the Leitmotif Cardigan.  I have wanted to make it ever since I saw it in Interweave Knits.  (Fall 2010)

It’s full of great details and lots of cables.  You know how I love cables!

Those cables continue around to the back.  (Wow, my hair is messy.  It looks like I have been standing under the dryers in a car wash.)

There are more cables along the hem.

Again, here’s the Ravelry link for more details.

It’s been a pretty intense winter here in Minnesota, which really makes me want to knit.  I think knitting helps me stay sane through all the long, dark, cold winter evenings.  In fact, with so many projects going they just fly by!  What would I do without it?  Lots of therapy?  I guess I’ll have to keep knitting until I can afford to move south for the winter  ;-).   Considering all the cold weather that the rest of the US is having, I’m guessing there are a few of you who understand what I’m dealing with here!!!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cold Weather Therapy

  1. Kerstin says:

    I love these kind of blocks and have finished my quilt in january :-)
    viele Grüße
    Kerstin from Germany

  2. Kris says:

    Your knitting is amazing. I am a new knitter, and cannot for the life of me, imagine knitting something with such gorgeous detail! I love the rust colored one especially. My knitting is mainly washcloths. But I crochet too. And with that, I am more adventurous.
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Mary-Kay says:

    Beautiful knitting!

  4. Connie says:

    I’m not a knitter but your work is so beautiful it almost makes me want to start! Love what you have on your design wall and can’t wait to see it finished.

  5. Monika says:

    I love your sweaters! They are beautiful! What is it that you have rolled up in the basket on your fireplace?

  6. Carol says:

    Your quilt hanging on the wall is cool. Your sweaters are really pretty. I really love your cardigan. It looks awesome with your brown turtleneck and your necklace. Winter is really cold here in Michigan and we had a huge snowstorm Tuesday and our owner shut down all his restaurants on Wednesday. I am happy because we are on vacation in 5 weeks and it starts when we move our clocks forward :) .

  7. 4dreamsr says:

    Your knitting is beautiful. I’m learning to knit now by watching videos on the web. I have been crocheting for years & it was really strange having to handle 2 needles. Thought a time or 2 I was gonna have a melt down especially when the needle would slip out & I didn’t know how to save my stitches.

    Love your fabrics even more. Cute design on wall. Aren’t ya glad ya got the black. Just can do so much with a little black. Stay warm; that’s what I’m trying to do in AL. It’s cold down here.

  8. Susie says:

    Hi Heather I love the sweaters, but, like Monika, my question is what’s rolled up in the basket on your fireplace?

  9. Rene' Sharp says:

    What gorgeous projects!!! I want to knit like you when I grow up :)
    I know what you mean about your knitting being therapy for you. I was just saying to hubby the other night how relaxing it is to sit down with my knitting at the end of the day. We don’t have winters like you do here in South Africa, they are actually very mild, but it is my favourite season by far!! I am busy knitting Thermal at the moment, quite a lot of mindless knitting, but it’s just what I need right now. What do you have on your needles at the moment. I posted a sneak peak of my Thermal on my blog if you want to check it outhttp://stampinginsunnysa.blogspot.com/2011/02/wip-wednesday.html
    Have a lovely weekend!! Sending you Smiles from Sunny South Africa :)

  10. Susan says:

    That red cardigan is gorgeous!

  11. Jen says:

    You always knit the prettiest sweaters!

  12. marsha nelson says:

    I can’t even imagine knitting those sweaters. Just beautiful, especially the cabled one. You quilt looks so cheerful, something we could all use this time of the year. I tend to hibernate when the days are dreary and cold. Making colorful projects sure helps. My crocus’ are starting to poke their heads out of the ground. YEAH!!

  13. Cathy Buel says:

    Your quilt is beautiful. I love using black, it makes the colors pop.

  14. 4dreamsr says:

    Don’t know if anyone will come back to read this, but, if you look close, the basket by the fireplace, to me, looks like it has rolled up quilts; small ones like table toppers or lap quilts.

  15. Linda P. says:

    You all ready know how envious I am of your knitting, but………… I must admit quilting also!!! I love the change with the black centers in the keyhole – makes a world of difference!! Love, love, love!!! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

