What I’ve been up to . . .

So, it’s been two weeks since I have done a blog post.  In that two weeks I have made absolutely nothing to show you!  I have been busy putting the finished touches on my next booklet for market.  I’m a little behind with everything, as I seem to be suffering from some Quilter’s Block.  Then I decided to add size options, so instead of the book having 9 projects, there are actually 24 size options.  That makes for a lot of math, drawing extra diagrams, refiguring, testing, etc.  Then repeat it all a few more times to double, triple, and quadruple check for errors.  I am SOOOO happy to have that all done.  I am ready to move on.  The books will be delivered in a little over a week, so I will show you a preview then.   Next, I have to start preparing my booth for market.  I’m waiting on the fabric, so I hope it gets here soon!  Only three weeks left to go . . . .

That doesn’t make for a very exciting post, does it? 

I always have to show some pictures . . . .  . . .  so I will show you a project that I haven’t quite finished yet.  Last December I decided to repaint my bathroom.  Here is what it looked like then:

It was based on this painting, that later became my Serenity fabric line (from about 4 years ago).  I liked these colors then, but now I find it a little dull and boring.

I originally set out to look for some wallpaper.  Have you seen all of the beautiful large-scale prints in wallpaper these days?  They are absolutely gorgeous.  And seriously expensive.   The average cost was over $600 for this teeny, tiny bathroom.  I decided that was a bit steep for something I would probably change in about 18 months.

So, I decided to spray my bangs up with some aqua net and go back to the 80’s when stenciling was all the rage.  I based my stencil on a print from an upcoming fabric line (yes, it’s that line that I am waiting for!)

Many of the wallpapers that I liked were all-over, really busy florals.  I thought that might be too overpowering in my little powder bath, so I decided to tread lightly with my stenciling (that I figured the more I did, the more dorky-home made it would look).  

I added the stems first.

When the cream painted had dried, I added in the turquoise roses.  As you can see, I used my hand to blot the stencil brush.  You are supposed to use a paper plate or something, but this just seemed “handier”.

In this photo, it looks like I am smoking my paint brush, but I just realized that I did something wrong.  So, in this photo, I am caught mid gasp and bringing my hand up to my face. “Oh, no.  I screwed up.  I’ve got to repaint that left side.”

I realized that the corner needed to mirror image – like this:

Much better.

My bathroom is so tiny, so it’s really hard to even photograph how it turned out.  My favorite part was getting to paint the tub that wonderful turquoise color.

I even put on my wide-angle lens, but it didn’t really help that much. 

I’m still trying to find some things to decorate the space.  Something with some snap and color.  I also need to make a little quilt to hang above the tub.  Something like this -

But cuter and made out of actual fabric.  Someday . . . .  After market! 

I hope you all have a great weekend.  I’ll be back soon to show you some of the projects from the new book.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Fabric Trends, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to What I’ve been up to . . .

  1. Marsha says:

    Very nice! Love it!

  2. Cathy says:

    I loved this post! I came away with the idea that I need to add a quilt to my new bathroom. Never thought of hanging a quilt in there and this would solve the problem of finding a piece of art for the wall. Thank you! Your bathroom is beautiful; nice job.

  3. Sarah Cooper says:

    Love the stenciling (especially when you changed to the mirrored image) in the corners only, it really draws your eye down the room without being overpowering. Perfect!

  4. Heather J says:

    Love the bathroom. My bathroom is a pale aqua color, but I don’t have anything hanging. Never thought to hang a quilt in there.

  5. Turned out great. How did you remove the painted area that was wrong? Great idea to make a quilted wall hanging for above the tub.

  6. Kelly O. says:

    i am loving your 80’s stenciling! so gorgeous! I’m jealous that you can paint your tub to match your decor! we had a avocado tub when we moved in and I loved it!!! hubby not so much….

  7. Your house is so beautiful. I wish I lived there! haha!

  8. marie says:

    Would you like to come to my house and paint my bathroom? I love yours! It would be hard to leave a so inviting room.

  9. mariajhmom says:

    Yay! You’re alive. I miss you. Oh, and I love the bathroom. You’re amazing.

  10. 4dreamsr says:

    Lovely! So much impact! I like the mirror image better too. Also the quilt idea.

  11. Kaye M. says:

    Your stenciling is gorgeous! And I like that you painted the tub too. Its always fun to see your home dec projects. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Nancy says:

    It looks absolutely gorgeous…makes me want to light some candles and relax in the tub!

  13. VickiT says:

    Crossing my fingers that your fabric arrives very soon so you’re not stressing about that the week of market. You sure don’t need that type of stress while getting ready to go.

    I really love your bathroom. It’s very pretty. I like how you can see through the candle holder next to the door and still see the vine running up the wall. Ok I HAVE to ask…………so? Spill. What color is the back of the tub? LOL That looks like it would be impossible to twist your body around enough to pain the back.

    I’m really surprised you didn’t use fabric to ‘wallpaper’ the bathroom. I’ve been SO tempted to do that to one of the rooms in my house since I saw a ‘how to’ show about 2-3 yrs ago. It looked so awesome and was SO much easier to remove than wallpaper which means you could change your mind in 18 months and have no problem doing it.
    If you haven’t seen that before, here are a few links:
    http://www.decoratorsecrets.com/diy-fabric-wallpaper.html
    OR you could always do it this way and if you are really energetic and lots of fabric, you could change the walls weekly. LOL http://www.hgtv.com/video/fabric-wall-magic-video/index.html

    Oh and I love the painters palette you used. I guess the back of your hand/arm is always good for stuff like that. LOL

  14. Dorian says:

    That’s lovely Heather, I LOVE your tub!! What about adding a touch of red here and there?

  15. Joanie says:

    WOW!!! What a cool idea! I love the color combination and I love the fabric that inspired your stencilling. I hope that I can snag a few yards of that fabric when it hits the stores. When will it be released?

  16. Cloud Mom says:

    Love love love the new bathroom. The teal looks wonderful with the brown. The tub has to be the best surprise. It adds a great pop of color to the room.

  17. LaurieC says:

    The bathroom looks wonderful! You can come decorate at my house any time you want!

  18. Darlene B says:

    I love your decorating style – even your bathroom is cute! Thanks for sharing these pictures – I always find them so inspiring.

  19. Ginny says:

    i absolutely love what you did in your bathroom. the color combination is beautiful. i was hoping there would have been a picture of you with your bangs sprayed up!

  20. Michele says:

    I love the bathroom! We just painted our living room chocolate brown a few weeks ago. Also, I just pieced the Framed Four Patch table runner with Easter fabrics :-) love it!

  21. Diana P says:

    Love the bathroom! So pretty!

  22. marsha nelson says:

    That is a fun bathroom. Can’t wait for your new fabric line to come out. Good luck with market.

  23. Pat says:

    Glad you finally posted, I was wondering what had happened to you. Most of the designers must because no one has been posting. Absolutely love your bathroom. How hard was it to paint your bathtub? I’ve heard there is paint especially for that but wondered if it worked. Looking forward to your next post.

    • I just used regular wall paint on the outside of the tub (though it has been primed and painted before). I have painted the inside of the tub in the past – using that special paint. I have had mixed results, but I expected that. For only $20, you aren’t going to get the results that the professionals get!

  24. deb says:

    omg, love your bathroom. You did a fantastic job with color and space available.

  25. Jill Finley says:

    Hi Heather, I love the new look in your bathroom. You are so talented. I’m amazed you can find time to do that! See you soon in Salt Lake.

  26. SuzK says:

    Wow – amazing what paint can do for a room … oh, and an extremely talented artist! Beautiful.

  27. Sallee from NH says:

    Wow! That is a great way to create a new look while incorporating what is already there. Nice. I like your fabric colorways too – especially the blue. Hope to bring some home from my LQS. Good luck getting ready for market.

  28. Mel says:

    love how the stenciling turned out ~ the ‘new’ bathroom looks wonderful!

  29. amandajean says:

    your new bathroom looks great, Heather. i love your stenciling.

Leave a Reply

