Something for the Knitters

I’ve been so busy with all things quilting, that it has been quite a while since I’ve shown any of my knitting projects.  I was really surprised by how many people I met at market that commented on my knitting.  I really thought you were all here for the quilting posts!  I guess that means I could probably post about knitting more often . . . . .  that is, if I get something that turns out well enough to show.

Back in March, I finished this little hat for my newest nephew..

I don’t have a picture of him wearing it, as I intended it to be for next winter.  Here are the Ravelry details.  (For those of you who aren’t members of Ravelry, I heard that you can look at project now, even if you aren’t a member.  I’m not sure how it works though.)

In April, I finished this vest, called Star Crossed Love.  I’m not usually a vest girl, but that was what I ended up with.  I initially bought enough yarn for a compete sweater, but this yarn was so off gauge, that I had to hold the yarn double to get the gauge that was listed on the yarn packaging.  The yarn is Queensland Rustic Tweed.  I have used a couple of their other yarns too.  The others weren’t quite as off for gauge, but I like my knitting a lot tighter than what their labeler (?) does.  (I find the same thing with anything ordered from Knit Picks also).

The Ravelry details here.

Even though I wasn’t thrilled with the gauge on the yarn, it really is a pretty color and I love the tweediness (is that a word?)

In May I finished Aidez, a pattern that I just love.  I don’t have very good pictures of it, but this was a fun knit and really, Really quick, for being a full sweater.

Front:

Back

Ravelry Details

This last one is my favorite project that I’ve made in quite a while.  However, it was not a quick knit.  I knew that going into it, but I think it’s worth.  I started it back in February on vacation and just finished getting the zipper into it.  It’s called Vivian.

You may have heard once or twice that I adore cables.  In fact, cables rank right up there with chocolate, Diet Coke, audio books, and sunsets.  They don’t rank quite as high as nieces and nephews, the ocean, and quilt fabric, but still.  This project is perfect for cable lovers.

It’s designed by the talented Ysolda Teague.

I love how the cables going up the arms continue up and around the hood.

The yarn is an older one, but you might still find it on Ebay, etc.  It’s Cambridge by Classic Elite and it’s a cotton wool blend.

I had a really hard time finding a zipper for this.  I purchased a metal zipper with fabric on either side.  They I dyed that fabric to match the sweater.  It doesn’t match very well, but it’s better than a white zipper.   I always have a little trouble getting my zippers to lay flat.  Does anyone have any suggestions for me?  It’s looks flat when I pin it to the sweater, but then after I sew it in, it looks wavy.  It looks less wavy when I’m wearing it, but I can still see it . . . .

You can find the Ravelry details here.

Well, I’m off to work.  Have a great weekend!

PS – Check out this blog - They are having a give-away with my Artful Home fabric!  – Plus there is a little interview about how I create my fabrics.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Something for the Knitters

  1. mariajhmom says:

    Do you ever sleep? You’re going to need to come back to the yarn shop!!!

  2. Lori says:

    Gorgeous sweaters.

  3. Lindsey says:

    Wooow but also, where did you get those jeans in the Vivian pics…i love ‘em!!

  4. Judy Werner says:

    When I sew in a zipper for a sweater, I pin baste with the flower head pins. Then hand baste with a contrasting thread so it is easy to remove, finally I machine sew it in. Then I hand sew the “fabric” of the zipper down.. I have done it this way for over 28 years. Has worked for me

  5. Mary Ann says:

    All your knitting projects are just gorgeous. I am not a knitter but appreciate all the work you put into all those projects when you aren’t quilting.

  6. 4dreamsr says:

    Beautiful knitting! I think I would enjoy cables, but just no time to get back to knitting.

  7. Peggi says:

    Oooh even though I’m not a knitter, I LOVE seeing all your knit projects! I’m thinking I might have to put quilting on the back burner and take some knitting classes. Please do keep posting all the knit stuff – it’s very inspiring!

    p.s. You make a pretty model, too!

  8. AnnieO says:

    Your knitting is as nicely done as your quilts! I adore tweedy sweaters. I have a deep green one that my DH hates because it is terrifically oversized but it is heavy and oh so warm. The last cable sweater is beautiful. It is easy to tell how much went into it!

    I knit a sweater once, but knitting was not my true love. I may pick it up again someday :)

  9. LeAnn says:

    I flirted with knitting, but we broke up. My true love is quilting. LOVE the adorable little hat — and your sweaters are gorgeous! You are definitely one multi-talented lady!!

  10. Linda P. says:

    Absolutely beautiful, Heather!! The sweaters, and you!! Thanks for sharing!!
    Love the hat too – adorable!!

  11. Mama Dub says:

    I really enjoy seeing your knitting projects as much as your quilting projects! Thanks for sharing.

  12. Penny Fraley says:

    I love the little hat. Wish you could tell us exactly how to make it. Penny

  13. Katherine says:

    Wow. I’m in awe with the number of projects you create in such a short time span! Your knitting is simply gorgeous. I adore Vivian and am swooning over the colour you chose to make it in. I love everything about Vivian… the cables, the colour and the fact it’s a zip front hoodie. I would love to make one for myself – thanks for the link and your inspiring photos, Heather.

  14. LOVE your Vivian! It’s been in my queue for a while. I’ll have to check out that yarn.

    Love the color of your Aidez.

  15. barbara says:

    Thanks for the knitting pics. I LOVE the green one and the blue hoodie is to die for! Beautiful, just beautiful.

  16. Emily Davis says:

    I am new to your blog and have enjoyed looking back through many of your posts. I recently came across your pattern for shams, but was most attracted to the triangular quilt on the bed under the shams. Can you tell me what fabric collection you used for that quilt or was it just random pieces? I think I found the pattern for it, but also loved the bright, summery colors.

  17. Colleen M says:

    OMG you are a wonderful knitter (in addition to a fantastic quilter)!

  18. Eastporter says:

    Love your knitting projects…found my way over here via your post on your mom’s sewing room, which is A-MAZING! But love the rest of your work too. I’m not a quilter, but a knitter, so I was thrilled to find this post.

    Here is a great tutorial I have been holding on to for sewing in zippers–I think it’s brilliant! http://splityarn.com/2011/03/27/easiest-knitted-zipper-install-ever.html

  19. quarkee says:

    What a lovely blog. I’m off to look around…

  20. Ariadne says:

    Hello,
    Em seu blog tudo e lindo,tudo maravilhoso
    parabens

    beijos

    Ariadne

  21. Donna S. says:

    That hat is adorable!!!

  22. Karen says:

    You are such an amazing knitter. I admire that you always seem to find a pattern that looks great on you, and you really know your size and colors! I am always amazed by your bold choices. Obviously, with your beautiful lines of fabric, you really know color, but it makes me wonder if I should be more adventurous.

Leave a Reply

