Playing Catch-Up

It’s been a busy last few weeks, so I hardly know where to begin.  That’s what happens when I get behind.  I don’t know where to start blogging, so I just don’t.  There is also the problem of that I have hardly been taking my camera out.  I thought it was because I didn’t really have much to show for my last few weeks.  Then I started making a list and realized that I have been busy!

1.  I’ve put the finishing touches on four knitting projects.  I have yet to take any pictures, but I will.

2.  I have painted up a new fabric line that will come out next year.  I don’t have pictures of this either, because I’m not allowed to give a teaser yet.

3. Six prints are painted up for a second line for next year.  Again, I have nothing to show for it – yet.

4. We have had 3 lake day parties over the 4th of July.  That means lots of people, eating, cooking, cleaning up, tubing, swimming, and eating some more.  Again, I hardly took any pictures, which is so rare for me.  I took this one of the initial clean-up.

This is the lake weed harvester, stopping to help us pick up some weeds on the beach after a big storm.  The harvester is such a strange looking contraption, that I thought you might  it interesting.We live in a bay that traps lake debris when we get the wind from the right direction.  In addition to weeds, our score also included a large tree.

The weather has been really hot and humid, so if you don’t gets the weeds moved out, they start to smell like you have been snorting pond scum.  Just lovely . . .

Speaking of lovely, the only other two pictures I got were of these kids decked out in the 4th of July gear

And this little one, who enjoyed playing with my fabric scraps in my studio.  I will have to make up for my lack of pictures on our next lake day!

5. Joel’s good friend from high-school and his family came to visit.

There was more swimming . .

and more eating.  (BTW – this is Paula Dean’s strawberry shortcake.  It’s very yummy)

6.  I have worked on just one quilt in the last couple weeks.  This is up on the design wall:

The fabric line is Jovial, by Basic Grey.  I had one layer cake to get me started.  The black tonal is from my Artful Home line and the dot is from my current Christmas line, Deck the Halls.  The pattern is “Simple Gifts”, from my Living Large 2 book.

I still have to get my borders on, but I have been having issues with my back.  It doesn’t want me to sit for sewing or blogging, so I decided to garden instead.

I’m really smart like that.  Did you know that gardening is good for your back?  Actually, Joel did most of the digging for me and I did the planting. I also put out new mulch and all the bending forward really did stretch me out and make my back feel better!  I will try to get some pictures shortly.  I tried to take some, but it is so sunny, that the pictures didn’t turn out at all.

I’m sure I’m not the only one for whom the summer is flying by.  With all the hub-bub, the blogging sort of goes by the way side.  Hopefully you are so busy you didn’t even notice!

 

 

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Minnesota, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Playing Catch-Up

  1. amber says:

    Looks like you’ve been busy and having lots of fun. You must be tired! Just had to tell you that I LOVE your quilt. Gorgeous!!!

  2. Gawquah says:

    What a blessing to have so many interesting and exciting things filling your life. Even back issues are good reminders of joy in our lives, expecially when they are resolved! You always make me want to make an immediate trip to my local quilt shop. I have been drooling over my copy of Living Large 2.

    • marsha nelson says:

      Wow, have you been busy. It’s a wonder you can blog at all. Loved the pics and the cute quilt. I am excited that you have been working on new fabric lines. It’s fun hearing about them and then watching them develop. Sorry about your back and hope it gets better soon.

  3. Nancy says:

    Lots of quilters are having your same problems but really I think youv’e done amazingly well. I find it very hard to stay on task when it’s beautiful outside. It’s always fun to see your projects, the pictures and those little kids. Thank you for what you do!

  4. sandi olson says:

    wow! you get so much done and garden as well. IT can also hard on your back. I find if I can pace myself it helps. I am a really inpatient person and like to do it all in one day so then I really pay for it.. Do lots of stretches that helps to start and quit… Just love your house and wow to even have it on the water even nicer. Have a good summer. Sandi

  5. Dolores K. Petersen says:

    Hi there, I’m new to your blog spot. It’s very interesting to see all that you have accomplished.
    Your yard is beautiful, your children are very cute and your fabric talents are amazing. You are an inspiration to everyone. Like you, my back, than sciatic nerve has been giving me fits this summer. The icy gel pack and ibuprofen are getting me thru, maybe they’ll help you too, if your are not already using them. Go slow but steady, so the saying goes. Hope to see more of what you are designing in the future.

  6. Wanda Birkestrand says:

    Your new line is beautiful. Now I know where you get your inspiration, just a walk outside your door and looking at the flower garden overlooking the lake. I love the ‘Brunneria”, I will have to check with the garden center. Thank you for your continued good work in fabric design. You are an inspiration to us all.

  7. Judy W says:

    Heather,
    I love that teal/lime/grey combo! Your fabric really inspires me — I’m headed down to my sewing room right now to get started! Thanks again for the opportunity to win some fabric!
    Judy

  8. Kris Anderson says:

    Hi Heather Love your new fabric! and thanks for the quilting tip on your whimsical flower…I am going to have to try that. I agree with you I like the browns and teals too. Thanks for the fabric giveaway! Have a blessed day!

    Kris

Leave a Reply

