Whimsy Winners

Before I get into today’s post, I’ll just start with the most important part – the winner of the Whimsy fat quarter pack from my last post:

Mary of www.meatsmj.blogspot.com

Please email your shipping address to hmulder@wecnet.com and I will ship out the goods asap!

Good news – I finally finished a quilt.  It probably sounds terrible, but I don’t think I have finished anything since quilt market!  I’ve started a few things, but I seem to be getting distracted lately  – mostly by knitting, being outside, and entertaining.   In fact last week, we had four different groups over, so it really cuts into my quilting time.  I’m not complaining, as I like an excuse to play in the lake and make some of my favorite desserts!

Enough excuses, now back to that quilt I finally finished.  It’s called Spaghetti Junction and can be found in my Living Large 2 book.

This color combination was my first attempt at this design.  I ended up using the color combination below for my book, which is why the quilt didn’t get finished sooner.  There was no deadline, so I kept putting it off.

I love quilts with high contrast, so I think the dark brown was so much more dynamic, especially for the cover of my book.  I still like the cream option, but as you can see, it’s more subtle.   If you would like to see more color options, you can see another of mine here and one of Maria’s here (as part of quilting her way through my Living Large 2 book)

I did get a chance to use up some of my precious Amy Butler prints that I have been saving.  The prints are quite busy, so I decided to do some simple, all-over type machine quilting.

You can see it better from the back side of the quilt . . .

The quilt blends nicely with some of my flowers along my front side-walk.

Speaking of flowers, I have even more things blooming than when I posted a few photos of my garden here.  I have been waiting all summer for my perennial hibiscus to bloom.  Just yesterday, the first bloom popped open.  Now there are five blooms, all about 10″ across.  They are by far the largest flowers in my garden.  Just to give you a perspective, those are zinnias blooming behind the hibiscus.  In fact, they are huge zinnias, about 4-5″ across, but they are dwarfed by the showy hibiscus bloom.

I’m really curious to see what becomes of this plant.  I have only seen it in one garden, so that makes me wonder if they are hard to care for.  If anyone has some feedback on this plant, I’d love some tips, advice, or thoughts on this plant – because she’s a beauty and I’d like to keep her that way!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Whimsy Winners

  1. Alyson says:

    Beautiful quilts and flowers! I love seeing your hibiscus! Aren’t they amazing? I love the tropical look here in Minnesota. I had one just like yours for three years and it sprouted this year but then it was gone. Bunny? Deer? I have no idea. I’m not sure what to do, I would like to plant another but I’m wondering if I will see it next year. I think they are pretty hardy, mine grew in a spot right next to my house that is not ideal. Looking at yours I miss it!

  2. Cat says:

    I think the Hibiscus are native to warmer climates, we have several that grow spontaneously here in Southern California, and bloom continuously, but more and larger blooms during the summer months…..I do know that the colors are based upon the variety, as I had several yellows and pinks, and the new ones this year are a peachy cross…..along with last years yellow and hot pinks…so the color coordination at my place is severely lacking.

  3. patti jarvis says:

    First, love the quilt. Second, I have two Hibiscus(I live in Michigan). I do nothing to them. I mean absolutely nothing. They are currently in full bloom also and I have a the red one just like you. I also have a white w/ pink center. I leave their stems in place thru the winter so that I know where they are. They are a VERY late grower in spring. I mean late. You will be digging around to see if they are still alive when everyone else is up and 6 inches tall. I also put the leaves from my trees on my flower beds to help with weeds and help retain moisture. They eventually start peaking through all the junk then I cut back their old stems. That’s just me, if dead stems drives you nuts then put something there so you know where they live and don’t be tempted to look for them or you may hurt them.

  4. Cathy Anderson says:

    I live in southeastern Wisconsin and my Hibiscus have returned every year for the past three years. I moved them from my former home where I had them for at least four years. I never do anything with them and they return. Must be because I love them so much!

  5. Gail G says:

    I have some hardy hibiscus in Minnesota, They are different than the tropical kind. See here:

    http://www.americanmeadows.com/perennial-planting-guide/hardy-hibiscus

  6. Debbie says:

    Very beautiful finish!

  7. Carrie says:

    I have a hibiscus that looks just like yours! Here in Western New York (hot and humid summers, cold and very snowy winters), I trim my plant back after it dies in the fall – almost to the ground – and then it grows right up in the spring/summer. Mine just showed its flowers in the last few days, and they are gorgeous! I have a notorious black thumb, but really, mine is very low-maintenance.

  8. Congratulations to another Mary!
    Your Hibiscus is fabulous as is your Amy Butler fabric quilt.

  9. VickiT says:

    That’s just gorgeous and filled with some of my favorite colors.

  10. Caro says:

    I believe Hibuscus are warmer zoned plants unless yours was bred for northern climates. I know that mine in Texas were killed when we received a freeze in January. You might want to think about digging it up and potting it for the winter.

  11. Diane R. says:

    What a gorgeous quilt — I love all your patterns and fabric lines. And I REALLY appreciate the fact that you do your own quilting — I am so inspired. I never feel that a quilt is my own unless I quilt it myself. I feel like I’ve improved with each attempt. Haven’t tried doing an allover feather design, but this looks just great — I think that will be my next attempt. My daughter lives in Washington and you see hisbiscus plants blooming all over in the spring — they are just glorious! Thanks so much for your blog– I enjoy it su much.

  12. Martha says:

    Hello,
    I love all your projects,!!! congratulations!!! , its seems to be that you really have fun quilting… I just started to learn about quilt, all my projects are very small, I havent tried doing something like this.
    But some day I will, .
    My the Good Lord continue blessing you and your family .
    Martha ( Costa Rica )

  13. Patty B. says:

    I am always asked the question of – what do you do with the quilts you make? I haven’t made a ton of them so I give them away.
    What do you do with your quilts? They are all so lovely.
    A person can only keep so many.

  14. Colleen says:

    I love the quilt and the beautiful hibiscus. The name “Spaghetti Junction” reminds me of a certain section of freeway that I’m happy to not have to travel everyday:)

  15. Jean Ruter says:

    Not only are the fabrics, patterns and quilts beautiful, the photography is stunning. We should have a couple of these pictures on the Nest Lake web site. I am thinking especially of the one looking over the lake from your house and the one of the kids tubing with the island in the background. Also, thanks so much for the gift Joel delivered Monday. I am going to need that pattern!.

  16. Elizabeth says:

    I live in South Dakota and have two hardy hibiscus–one deep red and one white with pink centers and pale pink rimming the edges of the petals. They do come back every year, but they are extremely slow in doing so. It is not unusual for them to sprout out of the ground towards the end of May, long after everything else is already up.

Leave a Reply

