Summer Memories

Every summer I like to do at least one post of our lake play days. We usually have a couple each summer.   I had mentioned in a previous post, that I have been really bad about taking my camera out this summer.  A couple of weekends ago we had a birthday party here for my Dad and sister and I remembered to take the camera out.  It may not be the most interesting post for all of you, as the kids and memories aren’t yours, but I love looking back at posts like this and remembering when . . . . . .  So this post may be just for me, but go ahead and look if you would like.

Kids always love to play on the dock – or should I say “run” on the dock.  It’s a good thing they are partially padded and the dock surface is rough.

There was swimming with Daddy.  I hadn’t seen this little guy for a couple of weeks and all of a sudden he is swimming like a fish.

There is also kayaking with Grandpa.  Or Papa or Bumpa, depending on which kid is along for the ride.

It was an important day for this little gal, as she learned to jump off the dock and swim to the lader (with some assistance from Joel, though she insisted that she do it by herself).

This little guy wanted to give it a try too.  If his big sister could do it, so could he.  He insisted that “Jewey” hold his hands at first, as you can see he is a little hesitant.  Maybe worried is the more appropriate term.

Before we knew it he was jumping off the dock and even going underwater.  I thought that was pretty brave for a 21 month old.  He was having so much fun.  You can just see it on his face.

The older kids were more interested in being launched up into the air.

I thought this looked rather painful, but they kept asking for more.

When they grew tired of swimming, they wanted to drive uncle Joey’s fishing boat.  It always makes me a bit nervous, kind of like when the kids want to play in my sewing studio.  Joel’s fishing boat is full of hooks, fishing poles, and more hooks, just as my sewing room is full of pins, rotary cutters, and scissors.  No kids were harmed or hooked though . . .

We also went for a few tube rides.

We stacked four in the tube for this ride

Just the two girls this time.  I was happy to get Addi (the littlest one) out again, as last time a huge wave came over the tube and she went under water.  For two weeks, all we (and everyone she met) heard about the big wave.  She held on for dear life this time and didn’t get hit with any big waves.

We did all this in two hours, as it was over 100 degrees and the adults wanted to go inside to the air conditioning.  This summer has been horribly hot and humid to the point where it is so humid it feels like you are trying to breathe with a large weight on your chest and a mask over your mouth.  The kids don’t even seem to notice the heat and humidity, so when we told the kids it was time to go in and nap, there were a few tears.  I had to smile, cause I hope that means she likes it here . . .

Speaking of the weather, August has been better so far.  Yesterday and today were so beautiful that I took my sewing machine outside to start a new project.  I have my quilt top almost finished.  If the weather holds and the wind doesn’t pick up, I should have it done by tonight.

It’s been wonderful to finally open up the windows and sit on the deck.  In fact, I may have to start another project tomorrow so I can enjoy it a little longer!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Minnesota and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Summer Memories

  1. Diane says:

    So beautiful! These kinds of days are my favorite, and I love these kinds of posts. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Kris says:

    Such fun to live on a lake! We are going to “our” lake on Saturday. Bass Lake up near Yosemite CA. I have been going every summer for 40 years. Taking the whole family this time. Should be a hoot!!!
    Loved the pics!
    Kris

  3. Darlene B says:

    I love seeing pictures of your family – everyone is so photogenic!! Thanks for sharing your fun summer memories.

  4. countrygirl64 says:

    Oh how idyillic that looks. Family fun in the sun. I would enjoy the view to much to get any sewing done.

  5. Jocelyn says:

    Wow what a fun time. Thanks for sharing the great family pictures.

  6. Jackie says:

    I can see why you like to sit on your deck and sew with such a beautiful view! It looks like the family had a grand time.

  7. mariajhmom says:

    Hmmm…..my spinning wheel would have been perfect out there!!! Hope you enjoyed making those “x” blocks!

  8. Susan says:

    Beautiful photos! What’s the name of the lake? Let me know if you have a neighbor selling their lake home? This is my dream!

  9. Chris says:

    Heather I loved the post and the pictures! :) Even though I don’t know your family it was neat to see all the happy faces and all the fun the children were having. I too love looking at pictures of things our family has done. It brings a smile to my face and I think..”wow, that sure was fun and such a blessing to all be together!” BTW, your quilt on the back deck is soooo pretty! How nice to have cooler weather to be able to sew outside. I LOVE that grey sashing and the white lines running through. (I have your pattern! :)) The fabric colors are so refreshing as well. Looking forward to seeing the finished product!

  10. marsha nelson says:

    What a fun time your family was having and so lucky to live on the lake. Having fun with our families is one of the best blessings we have. You quilt is turning out beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Martha says:

    Hello friend, beautiful photos , !! wow ! you and your family have a great time.
    Congratulation .

    Martha

  12. amber says:

    that quilt top (and lake view) are gorgeous!!!! You do amazing with the big block-show-off-your -fabric quilt designs. Love them!

  13. Linda P. says:

    I never tire of your posts that include your family, I love seeing the joy on those little faces!! Love the photos of the lake – it’s always been a dream to live on water like that. I have a friend who also takes her machine out on her deck – nice lighting!!!

  14. Sheri says:

    How beautiful. Family vacations are the best. We just came back from nine days of camping and we even had sunshine at the beach!

  15. 4dreamsr says:

    Great pics! Looks like everyone had a blast inspite of the heat. I love to take my machine outside too & sew. Peeps pass by & look at me like I’m crazy, oh well.

Leave a Reply

