A Knitting Fool Part 2

I haven’t had any quilt projects to blog about lately, so I have been taking a little break from blogging.  Instead I have been busy repainting half the rooms in my house.  I’m still finishing up, putting things back into place and cleaning up.  I have one room left to finish.   So that means I have been pretty busy for the past week and a half, but have nothing to show for it.  I will get to that, but in the meantime I can finish up with showing you my summer knitting projects.  I don’t think I have ever been quite so obsessed with starting and finishing sweaters.   That phase has come to a grinding halt with all my painting, but I’m sure the long winter that is coming will provide plenty of time for that!

First one up,  the Sage Remedy Top by Sarah Shepherd.

Don’t you love this neckline?

I also love the back of the sweater, as if the front didn’t already sell me on the design!

As usual, I changed the design a bit, as the original is less fitted. (photos taken from Ravelry,  from the pattern page.

It was a fun pattern to knit, though figuring out the changes was a little bit of a challenge for me.  I don’t know if anyone will notice, unless they look at the underarms of my sweater.  I’ll just have to remember to keep my arms down so no one sees my mistakes!

Click here to see the Ravelry details.  The yarn is a new one by Classic Elite called Cricket.  I would definitely use this yarn again.

 

Next up is a scarf.  I rarely make scarves because I never seem to get them finished.  This was my car project and it took me over a year to finish.

Despite the fact that I don’t usually wear scarves, I wanted to make a project with this yarn because I got it as a souvenir on one of our trips.   (The trip was in 2007, so I really put off working on it.)

I was in Calgary teaching at a quilt shop there.  After I finished my work, we rented a car and drove from Banff and up to Jasper.  We stopped at Lake Louise and I discovered a sweater shop in the Chateau.  The already-made sweaters were $600 each and absolutely beautiful.   $600 is more than I would ever spend for a sweater, so I bought enough to make a scarf.

The yarn is from Quivick and is made from the Alaskan Musk Ox.  It is supposedly the warmest fiber in the work.

 

Though I could make use of a really warm garment, my reason for buying the yarn was that I wanted a souvenir from our trip.  This area was one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.  In this photo, you can see the Chateau in the background.

Everywhere you go, there are lakes of colors I have never seen before in nature.

I have loved turquoisey-blue ever since (as you can probably tell!)  The thought of such a place, just makes me smile!

The rest of the details can be found here.  The pattern is the Falling Water Lace Scarf by Bonnie Sennott.

 

I also have to include a project with cables, as you know they are my favorite.

The pattern is called Sunlit, by Kim Hargreaves Hargreaves.

I love this neckline – and designs with raglan sleeves.  They are so much more flattering – in my opinion.

The yarn  is Sublime Soya Cotton and was really nice to work with.    It  has such wonderful drape and it’s very soft.

Before I go, I want to thank all of you for the nice comments on my knitting.  I never even used to show my project on the blog, but several of you have commented that you have tried knitting after seeing my projects.   I’ve also had several of you say the same after seeing my quilts.  My favorite comments are when I hear about a daughter, granddaughter, etc who wants to start quilting or knitting after seeing a project here.  That just makes my day, so thanks for sharing!

That’s all for today – my front door needs another coat of paint!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Knitting Fool Part 2

  1. Amy says:

    Your sweaters just blow me away. You do really good work. I had to laugh about the scarf taking you so long to finish because you seem to finish the big projects lickedy split. I have never knitted a sweater before and I may just give it a try this winter.

  2. Karen says:

    Love seeing your knitting and quilting projects. You do such beautiful work! Thanks for sharing!

  3. 4dreamsr says:

    In high school I had a teacher that taught herself to knit. She began turning out sweater after sweater. She would sit at her desk & teach as she knitted. I have tried, but I need way more practice before I tackle such a project. If only I could borrow a little of your energy!

  4. Cathy says:

    Love, love, love your version of Sage Remedy. The other sweater and scarf are impressive too. I know it is supposed to be a quilting blog but please keep showing us your knitting and home decor projects too.

  5. Love all your projects. We were in Banff/Lake Louise years ago, it really is one of the most beautiful places ever.

  6. Kathleen Sullivan says:

    I also love to see your knitting projects, and you look so well in them! Thanks for the inspiration, lovely, lovely work and color selection.

  7. follower in West says:

    Your knitting is wonderful! Lake louise is looking wonderful right now. The lodgepole pines have turned a wonderful color, and they are supposed to be the prettiest in the entire year. This is the best two weeks of the year for the emerald lake, and the trees.

  8. Debbie says:

    Beautiful knitting, I look forward to all your posts. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Cindy says:

    I must say…
    Your rendition of Sage Remedy Top is much more flattering! I absolutely love the cable sweater. I wonder if my mom would make that for me for my birthday in February!…hint, hint to her :-)

  10. Jennifer W says:

    I agree with anyone who compliments you. You have amazing talent with knitting and quilting. I can’t imagine making something that would look so wonderful on me. You must have a great wardrobe just from all your projects. Thank you for sharing with us.

  11. Peggi says:

    Beautiful! I’ve never been much of a turquoise fan, but I bet if I saw those lakes I’d fall in love with that color too! And that scarf is delicious. Love your version of Sage Remedy. I’m SO glad you post your knitting. And I can’t wait to see the paint, too!

  12. maripen says:

    Your sweaters are fabulous and I love seeing all your knitting projects.

  13. Connie F says:

    All I can say is WOW…you do such beautiful work. My mom knew how to knit and crochet and I always asked her to teach me, but she said that was hard for her to do since she taught herself. She past away last December, and I not only have my wonderful memories of her, but I also have a lot of her beautiful creations.
    We went on a family vacation to Canada when I was around 10. And we were at Banff, Jasper, Lake Louise, Columbia Icefields to name a few it was a great trip. It is on my bucket list to go back and visit again.

  14. Carla says:

    Oh my word. You are a knitting machine!! Love the first sweater. The fact that you altered the pattern is mind boggling……..and it fits you so well. Glad you enjoyed our Banff. Come again!

  15. Carol T says:

    I really love your first sweater. You picked a really good color to make it with. Your last sweater is really pretty. I don’t know how you can handle necklines like that ( I would be so cold even in the summer). Your scarf is really cute. You should wear it to cover your neck in the winter. Didn’t you just redo your house and now you are repainting? We just redid our house last year and I hope to never paint again.

  16. Kaye M. says:

    Your sweater projects are lovely! I hope you will show us pictures of the rooms you have painted. I thought your house was lovely already but you must have something new up your sleeve! I can’t wait to see the new look!!

  17. Susan says:

    I love Lake Louise! I visited it many years ago, when I first visited the US & Canada, and have been wanting to go back ever since.

    I love all the cute little short sleeved knit tops you make!

  18. Donna S. says:

    Love everything! They all look great! I like the fit 100 times better after the changes you made to the first sweater. Does the sweater with the ragland sleeve slip off of your shoulders? I like that length of sleeve.

  19. Brooke says:

    Hi Heather,

    Your Canada photos are breathtaking.

    I love that you share your knitting projects. You are certainly one of my favorite reads, as I am a big fan of both your fabrics and your quilt books.

    Funny you should mention being inspired to knit as a result of your blog, because that describes me exactly! I dearly love quilting, but I’ve had a growing interest in learning to knit. I went into a yarn shop last week for the very first time. (I was looking for hair for a homemade doll.) I’m sold! I fell in love with all the colors and textures. This is the perfect time of year to learn a handcraft that I can work on when not at my machine.

    So…..any good tips for beginners? Would you be willing to do a post with recommendations for those of us who love seeing your sweaters and would like to try our hand? Basics….what to look for and what to stay away from in patterns, yarns, and equipment. I’d love to read your opinions!

  20. Deb says:

    Heather,
    I love how you share both quilting and knitting projects on your blog. You do such AWESOME work!!! Thanks for the inspiration! I went to Ravelry to see if you posted the changes you made to the Sage Remedy Top and I couldn’t find them. I love that sweater and was wondering if there would be any way that you could share how you made the sweater fit you so well. Thanks again for your wonderful blog. Please keep it up!!!

  21. Teresa Kidd says:

    Keep sharing your knitting, Heather. You are very prolific. I knit before becoming a devoted quilter. I still do both but now my knitting consists of mostly scarves since I have a better chance of finishing these. Funny you like the big projects better. Your photos are gorgeous and keep me coming back to your blog. Who takes the photos of you modelling your knitting?

  22. Nancy says:

    I love your quilt pictures, your knitting but also love to see your decorating andthe colors you use. That really gets me motivated as we are doing a couple bathrooms and maybe more!!!!!

  23. Diane R. says:

    I’ve been so inspired by your knitting! I know I’ll never reach your level, but I love to knit, and so far it’s been mostly scarves, just because they’re easy and don’t have to worry about fit. I was in Washington last week babysitting my granddaughter, and took a little side trip to Port Orchard to Debbie Macomber’s knit shop and bought some yarn and pattern for yet another scarf, but can’t wait to get started!

  24. Ruth K says:

    Your knitting is wonderful, I wish I could do it, and you right I love those kind of square necklines, you are such an inspiration…

  25. KrisL says:

    Your sweaters and scarf are just so Gorgeous !! Yours are prettier than anything the yarn companies advertise ! I will have to try some knitting again, I’ve crocheted since I was 10 and been quilting for 25 yrs. There’s just something about knitting, intricate and lovely. Happy Fall !

  26. Stephani in TX says:

    As usual, love your knitting. Wonder if you shape your sweaters piece by piece or if the sweater is all sewn together.

    I’m looking for your quilt books, Living Large and Living Large 2. I find one at Amazon but not both. Henry Glass site was not very helpful to navigate for a book search. Can you give me a head’s up where I can get both of these books, even a shop local to you would be a good choice.

    Thanks for any help.

  27. The foothills are one of my favorite parts of my home province. They have had snow down south in the mountains and in Calgary. I live in Edmonton and so far the white stuff has not arrived but the sky is kind of white tonight so I won’t be surprised if there is a bit of it on the ground tomorrow. One of the best parts of the mountain are the gorgeous color of the lakes- and the reflections of the mountains in them. Unfortunately the Columbia Ice Fields glacier has retreated a great deal due to global warming . The parkway drive between Banff and Jasper is still quite spectacular. Perhaps you will get a chance to visit the province I proudly call home again.
    You do beautiful knitting – I love the one with the raglan sleeves.
    Warmest regards,
    Anna

  28. Pingback: Knitting Update | Trends and Traditions

Leave a Reply

