Scrap Lab

Finally, a new blog post.  Can you believe it?  I wish I could say that I was busy with fall quilt market and new products, but that is not the case.  I have been taking a little break from blogging, then I got too busy with other things and time has gotten away from me.  Those other things include some fun things – like my sister having a new baby (pics to come), preparing for and teaching for 6 days at Lake Beauty Bible Camp – and a few not so fun things like the flu and catching up.  But, I’m back to share about something fun. 

Have you gotton your Winter 2011 issue of Quilts and More yet?

 Cover_540

Inside you will find the newest addition of Scrap Lab.

If you aren’t familiar with Scrap Lab, its a design challenge with Camille of Thimble Blossoms and Joanna of Fig Tree Quilts.  They are given a challenge of making a small project using a set amount of fabric.  This time the challenge involved one charm pack of Ruby (Camille and Bonnie’s newest fabric line for Moda) and some jumbo rickrack.  Each time they invite a third designer to join them in the challenge.  I’m happy to say that this time I got to join them!

Here’s is my little my little project:

It’s a pillow (obviously) with a fun, little, dimentional bow.

The entire project is completed with just one charm pack of Ruby. 

For Camille’s project, she made these cute little baby blocks.  (she is also responsible for making that cute little baby too)

wCOR_3790

Joanna made these charming little placemats.

6a00d83451a6c969e2015392e87418970b-800wi

Have you noticed part of the theme here?  Everything is little and quick to make.  That way they make great gifts (just in time for Christmas) or the perfect project to complete in an evening.  Or if you are ambitious, you could whip up all three this weekend!

In that case, you will need to run out and pick up the magazine right away today.  If you want to get started right now, you can find the directions for my pillow online at APQ’s website, right now!  Just click here to get started now. 

Enjoy!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Scrap Lab

  1. Cute, cute pillow Heather! I saw Camille’s post and everything is adorable in the magazine!

  2. Anna says:

    Very cute pillow. Great to have you back. You were missed.

  3. Megan says:

    It is nice to have you back! Love the pillow :)

  4. Camille says:

    Love the pillow, but you made it, so no surprise there. Thanks for playing along.
    I’ve missed you- we need to catch up one of these days!

  5. marsha nelson says:

    Very cute pillow and baby. I wondered where you went. So glad you’re back. Missed you.

  6. Jocelyn says:

    Love the pillow!! We have all missed you :-) Glad to see you back.

  7. sequana says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE the little bow done with the charm! What a great idea. Of course, you always have good ideas. I was thinking of you this morning as I did the binding on a quilt exactly how you do it. I’ll never do it another way. Thx again for that.

  8. Linda P. says:

    Yay!!!! You’re back!!! Thought maybe your computer crashed or sick, glad you’re better!!
    Adorable pillow, and I am a sucker for them!! Of course, I’ll be making this one too!!
    I’ll look forward to new baby photos!!

  9. Carol T says:

    I saw your pillow on Camille’s blog the other day. It is just so cute!!! I am going to pick up the magazine tomorrow and make some Christmas presents with your pillow pattern : ) .

  10. Jan says:

    I have MISSED you! I have checked everyday for over a month for a new post, so I was excited today to see that! CUTE projects!

    Looking forward to seeing some new knitting projects, projects with the fabric in your banner and your holiday decorations! I am ready to see Christmas stuff. For some reason, I want to skip Thanksgiving decorations and put up my Christmas things this year. Think I will, just cause I want to!

    Congratulations on the new baby in the family! Your holidays will definitely be exciting with a new little one to cuddle and hold!

  11. Chris says:

    SO glad you are back! I have missed you. :) I was also one who kept checking everyday for a month to see if you had posted anything. :) Congratulations on the new little baby in the family, little ones sure keep things fun! :) Your pillow is very cute, especially the bow on the front. Wonderful fabric as well. I may just have to go get that magazine and put it in my “to-do” pile for AFTER Christmas. I would love to hear more about your 6 days of teaching, I bet you all made some beautful things.

  12. Denise Briggs says:

    HELLO! Glad to see you are still posting!

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving. Can’t wait to see the baby pictures. We have a brand new baby Granddaughter. How many times can a person say “AWWW,isn’t that sweet?”….in one day?

Leave a Reply

