Seasonal Fun

Hi Everyone ~ 

I have a couple of things to share about today - Things that have brought some joy to me over the last week or so.  The first being a newish Christmas quilt that I finished.  I say newish, because as you can see in the photo below, there is green grass in this picture.  The other pictures that are further below in this post show snow and ice, which is more accurate to December in Minnesota.

I finished the quilt earlier in the year, but forgot to blog about it.  As I have been unpacking and displaying all of my Christmas quilts around the house, I was reminded that I have yet to share about this one.  The fabric is Jovial by Basic Grey and I love the colors and prints.  In fact, I have made a Christmas quilt from the Basic Grey Christmas lines the last three years and they are always a favorite.  I added the cream and black dot, which is from my last Christmas line.  The pattern is called Simple Gifts and is yet another from my “Living Large 2″ book.  (You are probably getting sick of this book by now, so I promise that my next quilt will be from another book :-). )

I love making Christmas quilts and add another one or two to my stash each year.  Many of them are left up for several months, as I find that January 1st, is just to quick to say good-bye to some Christmas decorations.  Eventually, there will be one in each room, but I have a few years to go yet!  If you want to check out some of my other Christmas quilts, you can click here.

The second thing that I have enjoyed in the last week was an afternoon spent ice skating on a local lake. 

Many of the lakes have just frozen over in the last week, so it is was just perfect for ice skating.  Just to give you an idea of how perfect the ice is, in this next picture, you can see that the ice looks like a sheet of glass (which is also perfect for this guy with his ice-glider thingy). 

In the past 10 years, we have only had two times where the ice has frozen on a calm night.  That, in conjunction with the fact that we have had little snow and it was pretty warm out, made for ice skating perfection!   It was too perfect an opportunity to let pass, so Joel and I called up the local nieces and nephews to join us.  It was the first time out on the ice for all of them, including my oldest niece Bella.  She took to it like a natural and went up and down the shore with me.

My other niece Addi will be four shortly, and she gave it a try too.  If you look closely, you can see her double blades, which helps keep such a little one on her feet.  If you look closely below her feet, you can see how clear the ice is.  You could easily see all the sand and rocks on the bottom.  It was so clear, that all the little kids were freaked out to walk on itt.  After a little coaxing, they warmed up.

For the kids that were two little for skates, they ran around in their boots or got chair rides from Uncle Jed.  The chairs are really helpful for getting your skates on, but way more fun for sliding!

The littlest ones even came out on the lake in the stroller, which isn’t something you see everyday.

When the kids weren’t busy skating, they were busy exploring the lake bottom.  We saw a few fish and even a few muskrats swimming under the ice - we could see every fish bubble and muskrat claw.

Really, who needs a big screen TV when you have this?

I have to admit that I was a little worried that the one of the kids would get hurt, but I guess I should have been worried about my hubby instead.  After catching his blade on a crack, he tried to stop his fall with an eyebrow.  Not on purpose of course, but on ice these things can happen really fast.

This brought an end to his skating and resulted in 8 stitches.  We have decided that if the kids can skate as fast as Joel can, they will need to be wearing a helmet.

 

Despite the stitches, we had a great time (even Joel).  We hope the kids made some good memories too.  We can’t wait to do it again some time soon.  If you are in the area, you should try it too!  (don’t let those stitches stop you)

PS – Later that evening, when Joel and I were reminiscing about the day, he said that it would have been so cool if I would have gotten pictures of him falling to use on the blog.  I admitted that while he was seeing stars, I had snapped a few pictures.  He was a little dissapointed that it didn’t show any blood, but I figured this was already brutal enough.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Minnesota, Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Seasonal Fun

  1. Diane says:

    Fabulous pictures! My grandmother had lake front property in western New York. It was beautiful like yours. I remember visiting twice at Christmas (I lived in California at the time), and watching my mom and her sister skate across the lake. This post brought back those fun memories for me. Thank you for sharing (and I love the quilt).

  2. Anna says:

    Heather, your quilt is beautiful! Absolutely love Christmas and everything that goes with it. What a wonderful day with your kids. Memories that they will always treasure. Couldn’t believe how clear the ice is. I am a winter person and so miss all the snow. (I know… people think I’m crazy). Really enjoyed your look back to other Christmas quilts and your home all decorated for the season. Thank you so much for sharing. Wishing you, Joel, and all your “little ones” a wonderful Christ filled Christmas.
    Merry Christmas!

  3. carol broughton says:

    Such nice pictures! Sorry about Joel’s eye, but he was a good sport to let you show it on your blog! Your Christmas quilt is gorgeous!! I love your Living Large 2 Book and I made the Simple Gifts quilt for a dear friend for Christmas. Can’t wait to make more out of that book – if only there were more hours in the day!

  4. Kris says:

    Hi Heather. That does look like fun. Poor Joel! But, I have a question. How do you know that the ice is safe to go out on? I would be terrified of falling into an icy lake!!!!

    • The lake we skated on had about 6 inches, but because it is so clear, it actually looks thinner. My husband is an ice fisherman, so he grew up “walking on water” as he calls it, so he is much more comfortable on the ice and knows more about it. Typically when the ice first freezes, we stay off it for a while until it’s safer and the ice gets thicker. Where we were ice skating, there were already a bunch of people out on the ice, along with a four wheeler, so that was reassuring to me that it was safe. We stayed near the shore though (all except Joel and Jed) cause the rest of us are all a little more cautious. Later in the year, it is really easy to tell if it is safe. Sometimes the ice can get to be 3 feet deep!!!

  5. DianeY says:

    Living in Hawaii, I’ve never seen a frozen lake though I did walk on a glacier in Alaska once. I had no idea it could freeze & be clear like that! Beautiful.
    Keep up the photos of your quilts! I have the book & can’t make up my mind which to make first!

  6. Jennifer W says:

    You have a great sport for a husband. I love the pictures. Being in West Texas, we don’t get to see much in the way of frozen lakes (or lakes for that matter). Don’t worry about Livin Large 2. I love seeing the pictures. It’s on my Christmas list so I’m hoping to see more of it!

  7. Linda says:

    What fun! I love that quilt – and please don’t stop showing the quilts from your book – I have the book and a quilt from it is #2 on my list – should be in the works by mid January :) I love SO MANY quilts from that book!

  8. Pinkying says:

    I am completely mesmerised by your home, it’s fabulous location and what looks like a little slice of heaven!! I doubt I would be able to succesfully find such a perfect summer/winter location here!!! :)

  9. Christine says:

    Ici en france, pas de neige ni de glace, nous avons un hiver exceptionnellement doux cette année… Noel ne se fera probablement pas sous la neige.
    De très belles photos et bien sur un très joli patchwork…
    @ bientôt – christine

  10. sewprimitive karen says:

    I can’t get over how clear the ice is in your photos; fascinating that you can see everything underneath. I never saw ice like that while skating in Illinois as a child. How do you know when the ice is thick enough?

  11. Dorian says:

    Thank you Anna, for bringing up some nice memories. I, too, learned to ice skate on a frozen pond, when I was about 3 or 4. What a wonderful time your family is having, and such great memories! Glad your honey is ok, ice cuts sure do hurt.

  12. Darlene B says:

    Cool lake pictures! Too bad about Joel’s accident – hopefully everything heals well. If Joel is anything like my husband, he’ll try to convince co-workers that you punched him rather than admit that he fell ice skating! The truth will come out though…. :)

    • How did you know? That is exactly what he’s been doing. He’s been sending pictures texts of the stitches to his friends and family with the comment “Now I know what not to say to my wife”. Any ideas how I can get him back????

  13. Lori says:

    Been a fan of Jovial since I first saw it and your quilt is no exception. Beautiful! I’ve never seen ice freeze so clearly. It would have been a bit freaky walking on top of it.

  14. Love the pictures! Heather! Thanks so much for sharing! We too are anxious to get out on the lake and try a little ice fishing….I can taste those fresh crappies now…LOL! Last year we took a week-end and went up the North Shore…in Two Harbors, the ice had frozen so smooth and there was a guy skating all around in the harbor there…by the light house, it was an awesome sight to see…I was so jealous of him skating…what seemed like for miles…it was truly a skaters day in Heaven!!! Oh! And I LOVE the quilt too…I can’t wait to start some quilts out of the book too, maybe in January!!!

  15. marsha nelson says:

    I really enjoy seeing your quilts because they’re always so cheerful. Thanks for sharing your pictures. I have never seen ice so smooth. What a fun family time. Sorry about Joel’s fall. He does look like someone socked him. I too learned to ice skate on a frozen pond in Utah.

  16. Julie says:

    Love the quilt – the way the colors/patterns/dots all work together :D

    And the ice! So fun! Except your poor husband. Helmets for everyone :D “Our” lake froze clear like that when I was young. We found all kinds of things we later dove for, the next summer… pool (billiard) balls, records (back in the day…), and all kinds of old chains and equipment from long-gone saw mills. It IS a little creepy at first, seeing so far down! But mostly FUN!

    Julie

  17. Diana P says:

    Looks like a great time! Sorry about the stitches & love the new quilt. I decorate in more of a winter theme & leave the decorations up until the beginning of February. I love white lights!! Merry Christmas!

  18. Linda P says:

    What a fabulous post!! Loved the skating, and I too was wondering about the safety issue and I too was wondering about the safety issue and how you would know it was safe. I would probably be the one on the chair! How wonderful and fun to look down deep and discover things on the bottom! Loved the photos of the kids looking through the ice.
    You sure live in a fabulous place that holds so many activities each season. Poor Joel, you should make him a boo-boo bunnie. He will be so proud of his manly scar once the stitches come out – LOL!!
    I especially admire the quilt. I’ve never had any Basic Grey, guess I will be on the look out. I think that stripe binding is perfect, and really sets off the quilt. Thank you for sharing!
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!!

  19. Mary-Kay says:

    Your quilt is beautiful. The ice looks like it isn’t even frozen. I think I would have been a little chicken to skate on it. Too bad about your husband’s stitches. Helmets for all!

  20. I really like your quilt!! Did you use a pattern? If so, can you share which one? Happy Holidays!

  21. Megan says:

    Your pictures are beautiful as usual! That is amazing about frozen lake and how you could see the bottom! Hope Joel heals well!

  22. Lorrie says:

    I really enjoyed this post! You guys look like you had a great time!

  23. Pam Bossman says:

    Every time I visit your blog I’m so inspired! I love all the bright colors in your quilts and your decorating style. Just wish I had the time to make them all.

  24. Pat Plucker says:

    Your quilt is beautiful. Also.. thanks for sharing the photos of your home and all the cool Christmas throws displayed throughout your home. AWESOME!!! You inspire me. I’m working on a Christmas project for next year already so no sense in stopping there. Hope I’m the lucky winner. As always I enjoy your posts!
    Pat Plucker

  25. Liz says:

    I just can’t get over this quilt! It’s absolutely gorgeous! Are your quilts for sale?

  26. Suzanne says:

    I also love the quilt, but I’m wondering how you set the blocks together with the little black squares?

  27. Maria says:

    I wish someone made me one of these quilts. I sure love it! Love quilts but have R.A. & hard for me to do sewing.

Leave a Reply

