Fall Knitting

It’s been about 3 months since my last knitting confession.  To be honest, I haven’t finished a knitting project since!  That’s pretty bad for me.  I have started two projects, but they have been pretty challenging, so the going is slow.  Since they aren’t far enough along to show yet, I will share three projects from this fall that I haven’t blogged yet.

I will start with my favorite project first, because it involves my new favorite yarn.  It’s it bea-uuuuuu-ti-ful?

 

It’s Madeline Tosh Vintage  –  a hand-dyed yarn, so that means you have to alternate skeins while you are knitting.  That’s not my favorite thing to do, but the beautiful color variations in this yarn make it worth the extra effort.

The pattern I selected for this yarn is called the Zoe Cardigan by Cheri Christian.  It was so quick and easy to knit, that I was done in no time!  

As you can probably tell, it’s a top-down cardigan, so there is no time spent seaming.  The lace and cable patterns are really easy to memorize, so that saves time as well. 

The cute lace/cable detail is also done on the shoulders.

You can find the Raverly details here.

 

My second project is the Whisper Cardigan from Interweave Knits, Spring 2009 issue.

It took me a little longer than I anticipated, as I am not used to working with such a fine gauge of yarn.  I do love this color though, as I may have mentioned about a hundred times before.

I am debating about adding more length  to this cardigan.  I’ll decide next summer when I can start wearing it . . .

{Ravelry details here.}

 

My last project is another short cardigan, though I will not be lengthening this one.  You start at the bottom and work your way up, so that won’t be happening!   This cardigan has really unique construction, which made for a very interesting knit.  I learned a few new tricks too, so I always love that.  The pattern is called Watershed and was designed by Amy Swenson.  The yarn is Pure Pima by Berroco.

I love the details along the edge  . . .

The edging works its way up the sides and meets in the back.

There are more fun details that carry up the back of the sweater.

The only thing I don’t like about this project is if the whole sweater isn’t adjusted right, it looks like this:

Of course it only stays in place about two second, so mostly it looks all slouchy in the back.  I’m not sure what to do about this.  I already took the collar apart and did short rows, eliminating about 2″ of extra width along the top of the collar.  That took care of some of the sag, but if anyone else has any suggestions, I’m all ears.  I’ve heard that celebrities use sticky tape to keep their clothing in place.  Maybe I will have to try that.  Sounds comfortable, right?  Or maybe I will have to starch the collar like my Great Grandma Anka used to do with her doilies.  Again, if you have a more comfortable suggestion, I’m game to try it cause I like this little cardi and want to be able to put it to good use!  

That’s all for now – I’ll be back shortly with my last Christmas quilt of the season.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fall Knitting

  1. Tina McNamara says:

    I have only one comment/question (maybe 2). First the sweaters are beautiful. I wished I liked to knit. Secondly, you wear sweaters in the summer?!?! I have a hard time wearing sweaters in the winter at times. But then again I live in Louisiana where it will be in the 70′s this week. UGH! I’m a quilter. Love you quilts and home decor, location and quilt room. Merry Christmas.

  2. Ruth B says:

    You are an amazing knitter Heather and an extremely talented lady. Now that we have your confession I’d like to offer you absolution. Merry Christmas!

  3. Anna says:

    Your sweaters are beautiful! Can’t wait to see your Christmas quilt. You have so much talent! Great to have you blogging again. But a break can be good for the soul.

  4. Wow! I am awed by the beautiful knitting that you do.

  5. LJ says:

    I read this post and AGAIN saw the most amazing hand-made sweaters; I have a hard time wrapping my mind around the fact that they are hand-knitted! YOU are so talented. I did some kniting as a young person but they looked just that – hand knitted! lol
    Then, I read your previous post and wanted to say that I understand how depression can be so devastating. Some years ago I, too, experienced an extended period of depression; not fun. Thankfully, medication did help me and eventually I no longer had to take it. I’m not sure if things have happened in your life or if you are suffering from a chemical imbalance. Regardless, of the cause, I will keep you in my prayers.

    • Hi LJ – Thanks for stopping by the blog and for your concern, though I have no idea what blog post you are referring to!?!? I have never blogged about depression and I am grateful it is not something I suffer from. Thanks for the prayers anyways – we could all use a few more!

  6. Jan says:

    Gorgeous, lovely sweaters! Love the soft grape color of the Madelinetosh. Your knitting is always amazing with all the details and cables.

    I have a HUGE request~ I have been watching and watching, and waiting for you to post photos of your holiday decor. Even if it is the same as last year, I LOVE seeing your house all ready for Christmas! ;)

  7. marsha nelson says:

    Your sweaters are always so beautiful and the colors are my favorite too. Tell me, is there anything you can’t do.

  8. What absolutely gorgeous cardigans – I LOVE your choice of style and colours!

  9. Colleen M. says:

    Your knitting is gorgeous! One question, what do you do with all the sweaters, do you actually wear all of them or are your family members lucky recipients?!!

  10. Evie Gorecki says:

    Very beautiful sweaters.
    You are very talented. Could you write an entry about how to block a quilt? Sometimes after I quilt something it will not hang straight – I think it has to do with the amount of quilting on it.
    I also enjoy the postings showing your home decorating. Thank you for sharing.

  11. Penny says:

    Hi Heather ~ I am reading your blog post regarding your sweaters a little late but wanted to tell you that I took a class on how to knit Watershed. No one in the class finished … unfortunately except our instructor. She wore the back of the sweater at the neck folded over. So she folded that part of the neck edging over/down and the rest as it came down the front on either side laying flat. I don’t know that this will help. Hopefully, as the holiday season ends, I will get back to this project and finish it:) All of your sweaters are simply gorgeous!!!

  12. Wow!! Congrats and so happy for you. Your Christmas Quilts and decos in you home are lovely.
    I am a quilter and love your designs. Keep us posted on baby bump!!

Leave a Reply

