Thank You!

Where do I begin?  I can’t thank everyone enough for all the nice comments, encouragement, prayers, e-mails and support that have been sent my way since this post last week.  I really was nervous to share it all – but somehow just saying that we were having a baby left so much out! 

I kept waking up during the night, thinking about how I was going to tell everyone.  After several nights, I finally got up and just wrote it all down.   Shortly after posting it, the comments starting coming in.  I couldn’t believe how many people were praying for us.  I also couldn’t believe how many people had already sensed that something was up and had started praying for me without even knowing what was going on –  Even though most of us have never even personally met.   It just goes to show, that quilters are some of the best people around!  (You too knitters, crafters and other blog readers!) 

Joel and I have read each and every comment, and even though I can’t send each of you a personal e-mail, please know that your encouragement has meant so much to us.  We have been blown away!   I know I will go back to these comments in the future and reread everything that has been shared.  It’s amazing how many people have been on similar journeys or know someone who has been through this.   We feel for those who have been through a similar process.  We are excited to continue on in this journey.  I am grateful that the (evil) drugs are now out of my system and I am feeling more like myself.   It is getting easier to forget all of the past year and just be happy for today and the future. 

On a lighter note, Joel and I also enjoyed reading about how many of you got the Gandalf reference in my story.  Who knew quilters were into fantasy novels!  It sounds like many of you use LOTR quotes regularly.  For those of you who haven’t seen the movie, here is an image from the scene I referenced in my story:

If you have never seen the movies, it’s on TV practically every other weekend and would give you about 10 hours of sewing time if you wanted to watch the whole thing!

And on another lighter note, do you think Joel’s Beloved Daisy knows that she is about to be dethroned?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Thank You!

  1. Susan says:

    You (and your baby!) will continue to be in my thoughts in these coming months!

    I bet Daisy is thrilled at the prospect of being a “big sister” :)

  2. Daisy will have fun taking care of the baby. Our pooch was “dethroned,” too and at first didn’t know what to think. But the baby started laying on her, playing with her, etc. Now the baby is 7 years old and the two are best friends. It’s totally fun to watch.

  3. Nancy C. in Utah says:

    Awwww, look at that face!!! I think that Daisy is fully aware that something is going on around there, but she is probably just preparing to watch over ‘baby bump’, as dogs tend to do over the people they ‘own’ and love, especially the kids. By the way, Daisy is a wonderful name… we used to have Daisy…she was a pure bundle of love.
    I’m will continue keeping your family (you, Joel and ‘BB’ *baby bump*) in my thoughts and prayers. I do hope you will keep us updated, including pictures. Big Hugs all around, including Daisy *wink*…

  4. Leslie says:

    Congratulations! I’m sorry I missed the announcement. It’s been a little frenzied around here and I missed it. I loved the reference and amazed at your hard work. I had my daughter at 42 — so you are young to me!

  5. Pinkying says:

    just as an aside – if you are a reader of Fantasy… you must must MUST read “The Name of the Wind” and “The Wise Man’s Fear” by Patrick Rothfuss… brilliant! Possibly 2 of the best books I’ve ever read!

  6. Christine Thomas says:

    Daisy can come live with me. I want a dog like her. Dogs do seem to sense that “something’s up”…it will be really cute to see her with the baby. But you’ve had that experience with all the nieces and nephews, though.

  7. Good morning Heather,
    You know, our loving heart always has room for a new love and Joel will understand this.
    My kitten that the species of it, since it’s harder to accept changes, also learned.
    I wish you lots of health and happiness for everyone
    Silvia

  8. DianeH says:

    Blessings to you and Joel. What wonderful news – I will keep you in my prayers. Please give Daisy a pat and tell her she will have a beautiful new baby to love and watch over.

  9. Linda P. says:

    Heather, I am thrilled beyond words! I’m sure Daisy won’t be dethroned but will share the throne and protect the baby as if it were her own! I’ve said it before – I truly love seeing photos of your family and will look forward to seeing your very own. Have you started knitting tiny sweaters? Would love to see them!! God bless!

  10. Diana P says:

    Wishing you blessings & may you always have wonderful strings of little moments that make you smile. So happy for you both!!

  11. Kris Bair says:

    If Daisy is like our German Wirehair, she will love the baby and have fun playing with the baby as he/she gets older. Granted, our 2 are 12 and 8 (and Barlie is 2), but Barlie absolutely loves those kids – and torments them every chance she gets – especially if they are not paying attention to her. Hope your house can stand up to the roughhousing and chasing! Blessings to you!
    Kris

  12. Jen says:

    Poor Daisy😄I also went through a similar situation trying to get pregnant, so my sincere thoughts and prayers will be with u and your family through this time. And yes, I have a very loved yellow lab, who has been put on the back burner, but tell Daisy there will be many food scraps flying her way soon!

  13. Vic says:

    Daisy won’t be on the back burner … just a different burner to simmer and steep. She will have something new and wonderful to protect. It is obvious that you, Joel and Daisy will have open arms filled with love for this new little one … what a lucky, lucky little person it will be.]
    So my big question … will you find out what your having so the quilts can be gender specific? Ha ha ha! Keeping you all in my prayers as you continue on your adventure.
    God bless,
    vic

  14. Karen says:

    Daisy will love being a “big sis” to the new baby. Trust me she has known all along that something was going on. Take Care!

  15. Moneik says:

    I’m sure Daisy will adjust to being the big sister in the house. Continuing prayers for a healthy and safe pregnancy. Enjoy the nesting time and sew now. The first few months were way easier to sew with baby. Once she started moving, she wanted in everything in my sewing room!

  16. Daisy will be just fine…. ya know… they have like a sixth sense about these things…. she will be a very good protector of the little one…. when you bring the baby home, she will go over and sniff a little here and there and then probably just go lay down… they know they are not being replaced… just shared! Enjoy the rest of winter to do some baby quilts or sweaters…. Fun…Fun…Fun…

  17. Mary-Kay says:

    I don’t know much about dogs but I’ve heard they have a way with children. Daisy and the new baby will probably be best friends. Good luck!

  18. Karen Simpson says:

    Dear Heather,
    Just read your touching story and certainly am thrilled for you and your husband. I have been following your blog for a long time and had a feeling that something was different for the past several months…really missed you. Now that the great news is out I can’t help but think about the fabulous sweaters your child will be wearing and the sweet dreams that will happen while sleeping under one of your quilts. I think a line of baby fabric is in order. Love and prayers go to you and yours.

  19. Kris Bair says:

    My hubby was reading your blog (he likes the Daisy stories and checks in periodically) and reminded me about what we do when we brought our babies home – when you are in the hospital with the baby, take a cotton blanket and wrap the baby up in it, but then take it home before the baby comes home and give it to Daisy – she’ll be familiar with the scent, and our dogs then have always treated the baby like theirs.

  20. Erica says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am sooo happy for you. You are right… some personal things must be shared and they do help us feel closer to you. Infertility is a long lonely journey… so glad you have made it through. You will be stronger as a couple and as a mommy because of your experience.

    Isn’t it amazing what a little bean in your belly will do for your creativity?

  21. Linda says:

    She will always be your first baby—-and this special dog will have enough love for one more…..

  22. SuzK says:

    I just got caught up with your blog and finished wiping away tears. I’m so happy for you. I had several miscarriages before I became pregnant with my son – he was born just before my 33rd birthday. That was 30 years ago last Thanksgiving and my family was horrified that I was so OLD and pregnant. They were just coming out with books about women having babies over 30 and I read them all! I didn’t have to go thru what you did, but the options really weren’t that available then. Now my “baby” has been working for a few years and is going to grad school in the evening to get his MBA. He’s been my absolute joy and was definitely worth the wait! I’ll keep you in my prayers over these next months. Congratulations to you both!

  23. Susan says:

    My heartfelt congratulations to you both. I have been away and am just catching up on all the blogs I have missed. I had suspected that you were having “issues” with something in your life and am so pleased that it turned out to be a positive result.

  24. Pam Peterson says:

    Congratulations on your miracle baby. What a beautiful gift of life you are carrying. i will add my continued prayers to all of the others’. Take care of yourself!

  25. Deb A says:

    Congrats on your new addition that will be coming soon! Having a baby is truly a miracle and you’ll enjoy him/her so much!

  26. Victoria says:

    Oh my goodness… Heather, you made me cry… I’m so happy for you two! CONGRATS!!! How very exciting! Daisy definitely knows! Keeping you all in my thoughts. Big hugs.

Leave a Reply

