The Other Coat

I’m glad to hear that my last posts got a few laughs.  I ended up with only one person wanting to join my support group, though I think many of you understood what I was getting at.  I hope that you all know that I was only half serious about Joel’s coat and was just looking for a chance to tease him a bit.  He can really dish it out, so he has to take it once in a while too :-)  I think after seeing him sewing on his own buttons, some of the ladies thought he could do no wrong.  He kept up with the comments coming in and took great joy in pointing out how many of you liked his coat!

I have to admit this isn’t the first time I have been wrong about his coats.  A few years back, I bought him a coat off the clearance rack as a practical joke.  I am always teasing him about his old man tendencies and I thought this was the perfect old man coat (and yes, I realize that I am the kettle calling the pot black here.  I didn’t know anyone else in college that quilted!  And back then there was a huge stereotype that all quilters were of  . . .  um . . . advanced age.  Plus, there are all those homemade sweaters!).  Turns out that he loved the coat, and kept it.  Again, shows you how much I know about fashion. Now, everywhere he goes, he gets compliments on the coat.  To top that off, last week he had a big motorcycle dude, with a shaved head, goatee, and tattoos offer to buy the coat off his back!

Before I go, I have a favor to ask.  Joel and I are heading to Florida for a few days of vacation before the baby comes.  We are going to be spending 3 days driving the coastal highway from Miami down to the Florida Keys.  We are looking for any advice on fun things to do down there – from good places to stop for food, snorkeling, beaches, sunsets, catamaran rides, other activities or even places to stay.  Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!   I am just hoping I am not to pregnant to enjoy it!  I am just entering the third trimester and this is my view of the world. 

Joel assures me that I still have feet, but I guess I am just going to have to take his word for it.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Other Coat

  1. Cathy says:

    Ha ha! My husband’s the same way. There is a menswear store chain called Today’s Man, but I joke that Bill needs a store called Yesterday’s Man or Last Decade’s Man. He teases me that he is planning to become even more curmudgeonly in his old age. I tease him back that he was born old.

  2. I don’t know much about that area, but 3 days in the car, pregnant… my only advice is to be sure to find time to put your feet up so you don’t get too swolen! Have a great time, and thanks so much for sharing your journey. So excited to meet your little one!

  3. Michelle M. Bailey says:

    We want more belly pictures!

  4. Jocelyn says:

    On your trip down, you may want to stop in St Augustine, and go through the fort. It is a wonderful historical area. There is always the Space Center too, which you may or may not want to wait until the little bump is old enough to take it all in :-) I’m in Central Florida so I don’t really know that much about the Keys or the East coast. But I’m sure you will find fun things to do. I agree that you need to be careful about traveling too long. Make frequent stops and walk around so your feet don’t swell. You have picked a perfect time to come to Florida. The weather has been absolutely beautiful :-) The sunsets are going to be breathtaking! Enjoy your visit.

  5. We were just in the Keys a few weeks ago but did not do any snorkeling but saw a huge catamaran ready to take off with guest right from the marina in Key West. It looked like lots of fun.
    We had wonderful Key Lime pie at Kermit’s Key Lime Pie Shoppe and great fresh fish at the restaurant right on Higg’s Beach on the outdoor patio with a great view. Have fun you two (three)!

  6. Kathy Brown says:

    Heather – you have to take a detour over to the gulf side right below Sarasota to Venice beach. There you can get these pans with a screen bottom – and go “panning” for sharks teeth! Because of the gulf stream currents, prehistoric ( and modern day!) sharks teeth are continually flowing into that area. Just like panning for gold – just a little less profitable!! Seriously – its a gorgeous area and fun. The Ringling Brothers home and museum is in Sarasota and its well worth the stop as well!

  7. Tilda says:

    I honestly thought I was the only wife in America that has a husband that wears his “old man jacket”!!!! That is EXACTLY what I call his favorite plaid flannel jacket. LOL!!! So so funny. Now that he has mastered wearing an Old man jacket he has upped his accessories to a Indian Jones hat to go with it…..(insert snort here) LOL…..so girl I feel your pain! And your view of the world right now…..SPECTACULAR!!!! Keep on growin!

  8. Jan in Cody says:

    I lived in South Florida all my life. We’ve since moved to Wyoming, but I can give you a few ideas about things to do in the Keys. Key Largo & Islamorada are beautiful and you can find nice spots to swim and enjoy being on the water. Marathon has a great beach ‘off the beaten path.’ Turn left at the traffic light by Kmart and go to the end of that road to Sombrero Beach. (My in-laws had a house down there and we spent many, many week-ends in Marathon)! Leaving Marathon, driving south you’ll cross the Seven Mile Bridge and Bahia Honda which is a nice place to walk and enjoy the beach. Watch for Key Deer around Big Pine Key–they’re tiny, protected deer. Once you get to Key West DO take the Conch Train. You’ll see interesting places and learn quite a bit of history doing that. Key Lime pie is delicious so be sure to try some along the way! Key West is also famous for sunsets which you’ll be very impressed with I know! The Keys are built up and more crowded than in the old days, but you’ll be amazed at the views and the gorgeous water all around! Have lots of fun and enjoy the sights!

  9. Sharon Dimberg says:

    My husband still has his high school baseball jacket. He graduated in 1981, the jacket has seen much better days. It is ratty, faded, the lettering is falling off, and it is too small. Okay, the jacket did not shrink in size, my husband grew. That coat is the bain of my existence. I don’t like him to wear it where we live, but I do let him take it to Canada fishing. The guys he goes with give him so much grief over the jacket .

    Have a great trip.

  10. My husband still has his Navy uniforms from the late 60′s and he sure can’t fit into them anymore. The same with his accordian from childhood. I’m glad you were just teasing, he probably needed it!
    Have fun on your trip and good luck on your delivery. You have so many wonderful years ahead.

  11. Gene Black says:

    I have to say I think that coat is very fashion forward. (everything old is new again!)
    Of course I am another guy! LOL

  12. Camilla says:

    Congratulations to you two, I’ve been slow to catch on :) I read the earlier blog and it brought back memories for me – IVF, IUI – horrible. I was 37 for my first and a positively ancient 41 for the second both were lovely surprises after giving up. Have a wonderful time on your last holiday as just 2, it will never be the same but different! Much joy to you both for all those new firsts that will happen for you :)

  13. Denise in pa says:

    Stopping at Alabama Jacks in Cardsound on the way into the Keys is always a must for us – not fancy, but the best conch fritters ever! It’s a famous place, so everyone knows it in the Keys!

  14. Pam says:

    I’m am so happy for you two. What a sweet family you will have!

  15. Ann says:

    My husband and I just returned from a trip to the Keys. We flew into Miami and stayed in Tavernier on Key Largo. We drove the entire length of the Keys and our absolute favorite part was Bahia Honda State Park. The beach itself was covered with sea grass that washes up, but the water is the best part. There are sections that are shallow so you can walk way out and just sit and cool off and watch the palm trees on the shore or boats out in the water. Very relaxing and a good way to beat the heat. The park has 2 beaches. We turned left after the main entrance and headed to the beach up there. It seemed a bit more remote and less busy than the beach to the right. There is also an old train bridge at the southwest end of the park that you can walk out on and watch the sunset.

  16. Candie from Alaska. says:

    Just so you know, I am not quite of fond of the brown plaid, but whatever :) Love the Florida Keys drive. There is an awesome sporting goods store in Islamorada that has some nice history & clothing in it, cute kids stuff too! Do take a detour and look for the tiny deer, we saw several and in nearly hit a couple as they ran out of some bushes right along the road. Other than just getting out at the parks & unfinished bridges along the way, we didn’t do much until we got to Key West which is so much fun, lots of people and chickens! But mostly I agree with Jan as we did everything that she mentioned and really enjoyed our trip. I want to go back very soon too!

  17. marsha nelson says:

    Love the coat and the tummy. Sorry, I don’t know too much about Florida but I could bet you will find lots of fun stuff to do and yummy things to eat on your adventure. Have lots of fun.

  18. Ann says:

    We absolutely adore the Keys. We usually stay on the island of Marathon. Two not to miss restaurants: Lazy Days and Keys Fisheries. Snorkeling: there’s a tour that goes out of Bahia Honda State Park out to Looue Key. It’s been a marine sanctuary for decades and the coral is spectacular. Closer in is Sombrero Lighthouse. Nice snorkeling around there. Dolphin Research Center in marathon is also great. Islamorada is the artsy key. Lots of fun shopping there. Key West is a great place for people watching. Audubon house is a nice place to spend an afternoon. They have a few quilts, but they’re not original to the house. El Siboney is a great authentic Cuban restaurant in Key West. Huge portions. Go see the crazy cat man on the waterfront near sunset. There’s dozens of state and national parks all around. Grab a guide book before you go. The whole place is really laid back. There’s also many good stopping places to rest and put your feet up and enjoy a margarita or key lime pie.

  19. Kathie L says:

    Eat at Sarabeth’s. Wonderful food. Kathie L in Allentown

  20. Bari Jo says:

    Love the coat posts! And love that he sewed on his buttons!!! :o) Too bad you weren’t with him when the offer came in on the coat! :o) Don’t know anything about Florida – but I am hoping this will be a sweet time away before the baby arrives! Enjoy your time! (and be thankful that it will probably be too warm there for him to wear his coats! hee hee)

  21. Alice in WV says:

    I loved the Hemmingway House in Key West. Have fun. It sounds like a great trip.

  22. Jennifer says:

    Enjoy your vacation! My husband and I did the same trip about 13 years ago. The best crab cake I ever had in my life was at Crabby Dick’s in Key West. We also had a fun night at Irish Kevin’s. Tell Joel to leave the coat at home ;)

  23. Cyndie Salvatore says:

    We stayed in Key Colony, right off of Marathon, quiet! About half way down the keys so drove to Key West for a day. The sunset cruise was nice as the pier has way too many people. I believe the resort is under new ownership but was called Ocean Beach club. The Sea Turtle Hospital is pretty neat in Marathon. Some nice quaint restaurants in Key Colony too. I would go back in a heart beat.

Leave a Reply

