Freedom

Since I last checked in with everyone, I have been busy celebrating my freedom.  My latest quilt booklet has been finished and is being printed right now.

I have been celebrating that “freedom” in several ways:

1.  I cleaned my studio.  My studio is only clean about twice a year.  Honestly, if it is really clean more often than that, it means that there is no creative work being done.  So, I love when it is clean, but I don’t feel all that bad when it isn’t!  It usually means that there are quilts in progress!

2.  In addition to celebrating my freedom from work deadlines, I am celebrating my last bit of “pre-baby freedom”.  What better way to do that, than to host a quilt retreat in my clean studio?  I have a group of quilters that I have been meeting with once a month for the last 12 or 13 years.  We meet in the evening to do handwork, have dessert, and visit.  Every so often we get together at someone’s house and bring our machines for some marathon sewing.  There are about 9 of us in the group, so we just barely fit into my studio.

All the furniture is moved out of the way to make room for tables. All of the quilts that were piled around as trunk shows have come back from shops have been neatly stacked under the quilting machine to make more room.

New Ikea bookshelves have helped me clear out some clutter and provided some much needed storage.  CD storage towers work great for organizing my fat quarters.  A few favorite quilts are displayed on long poles between the two bookshelves.  We set up an extra ironing board and were ready to go.  I had lots of fun and hope the others did too!

3.  The next week a hosted a sewing day for another quilt group that I hang out with periodically.   They are called the Qui-Knitters, as half of us quilt, and the other half of us knits.  I have been meaning to have them over for a while now, and I really wanted to get that into “celebrating my freedom”.  (I didn’t harass either group by taking their pictures)

4.  The last little celebration was a sleep-over with two of my nieces.  (The guest room where they slept will soon be taken apart and turned into a nursery).  We had a movie night and spent several hours the next morning painting and crafting.  I probably had more fun than they did, as I hardly ever get to do silly crafts like painting rocks or making tissue paper rainbows. (again, sorry – no pictures, but I had paint all over my hands!)

5.  Next, I get to celebrate my freedom by working on the nursery.  I told myself I couldn’t start the nursery until the book was done, and I actually stuck to my rule.  About that book coming – several of you have asked why I haven’t been sharing any pictures of the baby quilts that I have been working on.  In case you haven’t already guessed, the theme of the new book is:

The book arrives Wednesday, so I’ll be back as soon as I have a post put together with the rest of the projects from the book!!!  Can’t wait!!!!!

Edit:  I should clarify that Ethan is not our baby’s name.  We are keeping that a secret until he comes.  All of the quilts in the book feature names of my neices and nephews.  (It will just give me an excuse to make all of the quilts again, this time with our baby’s name!)

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in My Studio, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Freedom

  1. fabriholic says:

    Oh yay, how cute is that cover quilt!! Love your clean studio. You clean up nicely!

  2. busyquiltmom says:

    Sounds like fun! The quilt on the cover looks really good. Enjoy your time….

  3. Mary Ann says:

    Oh my a post full of inspiration, those cabinets and the towers, just what I need to get the clutter off the floor. And the book….well with several little ones arriving in my circle of family and friends this year it looks like a perfect match. Glad you’re enjoying these last few months…a whirlwind of joy, love and sleepless nights await!

  4. Linda W. says:

    I love the fish you have appliqued on the quilt. Perfect for a little boy in MN.

  5. Brooke says:

    Hooray for freedom!!

    Congratulations on the new book. It will be lots of fun to see your new designs.

    I love a clean studio – and how awesome that you shared it with friends. I really love the quilt hanging on the back of the white chair….the one with the squares, made with Verna, I think?? I’d love to know which of your books that pattern is from. :-)

    Have fun starting on that nursery. Of course, you better plan on sharing pictures here or you know we will be hounding you!!!! :-)

  6. gale says:

    Can’t wait to see the book! Your quilt studio is amazing!!

  7. Pat says:

    I love the quilt on the front of the book, can’t wait to see the rest. What a lucky baby!!!!

  8. Cathy Anderson says:

    I always enjoy your posts. I love what you can do with color; I am so jealous. I’m going to steal your idea of thowing a quilt over the French door. How clever! Another place for a quilt!

  9. Gosh, what a pretty quilting room you have! Congrats on your new book, and on your soon-to-be new member of your family.

  10. Oh my lord your sewing room is breathtaking! Wow!

  11. marsha nelson says:

    My, you have been busy and the studio looks great. I can’t wait to see what you do with the nursery. Your new book looks like it’s going to be fun.

  12. Sandra Davidson says:

    Love your beautiful studio, especially how roomy it is. The idea of using CD tower for fat quarters is really interesting. Congratulations on your new book and I will look forward to seeing the nursery and all the quilts you make for that lucky wee guy. Blessings Sandra

  13. carol broughton says:

    Oh, your studio is lovely! I can’t wait for your new book as I have seven nieces with another one on the way from China in a few months. Making smaller quilts is very rewarding, especially since they are much quicker to finish. Enjoy your time before the little guy arrives!

  14. You new book looks really cute Heather. Can’t wait to see more.

  15. AnnieO says:

    What a beautiful studio–many happy hours are spent there, obviously, and I hope only a few frustrating ones while you are doing MATH or something pattern related :) Love the storage and the piles of beautiful quilts. Ethan’s quilt looks great! I’m glad you’re keeping your baby’s name private for now. It’s a very personal thing and I never ask people straight out what they are naming their baby–I always say, “So, have you argued about names yet?” LOL

  16. candy says:

    That room looks so inviting!

  17. Enjoy your freedom. Sounds like you’ve been having a good time.

  18. Linda says:

    I love those cabinets—I might have to drive to IKEA to look at them….I have never had any idea for storage that would work to make a sewing room…..enjoy your free time….

  19. Rhonda says:

    Your studio is gorgeous!

  20. Jan says:

    My favorite part of your studio is the fireplace with the cozy chairs around it. What a great escape
    for peace and quiet!
    Congratulations on another huge accomplishment. The cover is just the cutest thing!

    You are so smart doing those things now so you can totally enjoy the baby when he arrives. I’m so excited to see his room!!

  21. MarciaMarciaMarcia says:

    I loved the photo of the entry to the studio! It says, “Come on in!” The bookshelves were a great idea! Love them! Sure wish I could have joined you earlier! But….I’m coming back to town! (To hold a baby Peterson!)

  22. Carla says:

    hello there. I haven’t visited your blog for such a long time. I have missed it! I changed sewing rooms, and left the computer downstairs for a bit. I love all your new stuff. Your baby bump is beautiful. Thanks for such inspirational posts : ) Blessings on that baby.

Leave a Reply

