Winners of the Kids Book

Happy Monday!  I hope you all had a good weekend.  We had beautiful weather this weekend (after three weekends of rain), so I took full advantage by enjoying a few Minnesota sunsets up on the deck.  As you can see, it was beautiful!

It’s time to announce the winners of the new book – drawn randomly from the last two posts. 

The winner from Part 1 is: Nicole J, who commented on 5-5-12 at 3:36 pm.

The winner from Part 2 is:  Linda Tenhage, who commented on 5-8-12 at 8:08 pm.

Please e-mail your shipping address to me at hmulder@wecnet.com and I will get your copy out right away.  Thanks to everyone who participated!

For those of you who didn’t win, many of you have asked when the book is available.  It is available now.  International Quilt Market is this weekend and that is usually when we market it to many of the quilt shops.  Unfortunately, we won’t be at market this spring, because of our coming baby.  To be  honest, I am just too nervous to travel that far with only a few weeks until my due date.  Our distributors will be there showing the book, so you can ask your local quilt shops to order the book from them at market (or call us directly to order.)

Those beautiful sunsets that I mentioned earlier allowed me to work on (and finish up) a few knitting projects.  I have a couple more sweaters ready for the new baby.  I made the first one for his three-month pictures – It’s called the “Gramps Cardigan” by Kate Oates.

I love this pattern and will probably do it up in multiple sizes, as I have time.  It’s done in a soft blue yarn called Vintage by Berroco.  It took less than two skeins, so I might have enough leftover to do a matching hat.

The back  – 

You can find my Ravelry link here.

 

The next one I finished up is hardly blog worthy because it is so simple, but I was just using up leftover yarn.  I made my first sweater for myself about 7 years ago out of this yarn, and had been hanging onto the leftover skeins ever since.

The pattern is called the Easy Raglan Sweater from the “Baby Knits Book” by Debbie Bliss.  The book is full of really cute projects for babies, including several that will probably be worn by my little boy!

I added the stripes to the pattern, in hopes that I could draw in a few more colors to coordinate with a matching hat.  I made the puppy hat below for my nephew Zachary, using the two brown yarns in the sweater.  I hope to make another puppy hat with my leftovers, to complete the “dorky hand-made” look ;-)

I learned a valuable lesson adding those stripes – I should have added them above where I divided for the sleeves.  By adding them below the sleeves, I had about 24 tails to weave in.  Yuck!  (and super bulky under those arms).  If I had done the stripe above the division, I would have had only 6 tails to weave in.  It’s one of those lessons you learn when you change the pattern!  (or have no foresight)

You can’t really see it in the photos, but trust me,  it’s a total mess from the inside!  Lesson learned…..

You can find my Ravelry link here.

I’m off to go hang out by the curb and wait for the UPS man.  My new fabric is supposed to show up any day now and I am (im)patiently waiting!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Winners of the Kids Book

  1. treadlemusic says:

    I was just thinking to myself how perfectly placed those stripes were!!!!! And then, your observation……..although the ‘tails’ are a royal pain on several levels, my preference would be right where they are–seems like the ‘balance’/proportion is a little better. It’s been many years since I have done sweaters for my, then, little boys (now 42 & 45!!). The puppy & cowboy themed sweaters were such fun!!!! Lovely work….and Blessings, D

  2. Monika says:

    I love the little sweaters! The stripes look great! It makes me want to knit sweaters for my little boy, but it is far too warm for him to wear sweaters here any time of the year. So I knit my kiddos socks, like that makes any more sense. :-)

  3. Samantha K says:

    Amazing work!!! I sure wish I could knit! NEW FABRIC—-How exciting!!! I always love your fabric lines!!!

  4. Bari Jo says:

    These sweaters and puppy hat are just precious! I am so excited for you to have a little bundle to knit for and cuddle and love and enjoy! Happy Mother’s Day a day late… sooo very happy for you all to be having your baby! :O) Praying your labor and delivery go smoothly – it is a joy like nothing else in this life… there just aren’t words. :o) It’s a sweet time for you and your husband!!! Enjoy!

  5. Denny Aleckson says:

    Heather, the little blue sweater is adorable…love it! Thanks for sharing…Can’t wait to see the new fabric line and what you do with it!

  6. marsha nelson says:

    I can just see your baby boy wearing those sweaters. Soooo cute. I can’t wait for the fabric or the book!!!

  7. charlotte says:

    My daughter got the Gramps sweater pattern to make for her baby, due any day now. I am glad to hear its pretty easy, although she is an excellent knitter. She wants to do multiple sizes too.

  8. mariajhmom says:

    You don’t have a curb!!!!!

    Love Gramps!

  9. Linda Tenhage says:

    Yay! I won a book! I love your stuff – I’m a lover of knitting and quilting too! All the best with your little boy; I’m a mom of 5, and these boys truly are a joy!

  10. Mary Ann says:

    A couple of my friends and I went and bought your book at one of our local quilt stores. I had mentioned it to the two of them and they couldn’t wait to get their hands on it!! It is such a great book with all the cute patterns. Love the things you are knitting for the little guy.

  11. You’re going to have the snuggliest, coziest little boy in all those sweaters. What a treat! I adore that Grampa Cardigan.

  12. Linda P says:

    Heather, I’ve sure missed reading your blog. Between being very busy, and new computer and new place for favorites on it…. I’ve been missing out!! Don’t tell my you’ve only knitted for 7 yrs!! Really?? There is still hope for me? I love your knitting as much as your quilts! God bless!!

  13. The sweaters are soooo cute!! I love the hat.

  14. Linda T says:

    Heather, I’m not sure if this book ever got sent, but I’ve not received it. Did I forget to send you my address? I’m looking forward to receiving it! Thanks, Linda

Leave a Reply

