Photo Shoot Bloopers

I may have mentioned in the past, that taking the photos for my books can be a bit of an adventure.  Part of the problem, is I don’t know what I am doing.  The other part is that sometimes things just happen.  I shoot many of my photos on hand-made backdrops that I lean against our garage doors. 

Most of the time, it works fairly well.  The windy days can cause some problems and several times the backdrops have blown over.  Many props have been smashed to bits.  Two tripods have had broken legs, though luckily my camera wasn’t on the tripod at the time.  My trusty assistant is supposed to run to my rescue if he sees the backdrops falling.  Though he is quite professional (as you can see below), he isn’t always very quick and the wind sometimes wins the battle. 

Even though he isn’t quick, he is quite helpful at hauling the heavy backdrops, carrying all the furniture from the house out into the front yard, and running the power tools required to level the backdrops and the quilts.  So, if he forgives me for the above photo, I will still let him have the job as my trusty photography assistant.

Sometimes I use a quilt stand to hang my quilts, if I want a different background.  As you can see from this photo, that is a bit of a challenge too.  I have ropes tied from the side poles to the neighboring trees, just to try to keep the darn thing upright (much less keep the quilts hanging level).  I also have bags of sand that I tried to stabilize the stand with.  It still blew over several times.  And all this hassle just because I love natural light! 

My favorite photography bloopers have involved my nieces and nephews. 

Check out this photo shoot from my Bella Bag Pattern.  It was all going along fine until . . .

one of the “props” (my niece Bella) gave me a zerbert.

Sometimes the “props” eat the other props – like before you can even try to stop them – it happens so quickly!

Let me just clarify that I am not against eating the props – I just prefer to wait until after the photo shoot.

Our dog Daisy has also eaten props, though I wasn’t quick enough to get a photo of it.  Apparently, she likes chocolate chip cookies and tirimasu as much as I do.  Don’t let this innocent looking face fool you, the edible props are not safe around her.

At that same photo shoot, one of the “props”  made some awfully cute faces at us!  That was obviously before the props were eaten by Daisy.

Sometimes the “props” keep running out of the photo.   It starts with a smirk like this, and is followed by that “ready, set go” pose and about 5 photos with a blurry, running kid in them.  That is then followed by his mom chasing him down and me promising to be a little quicker this time!

I have tried to learn from these experience by having something for the kids to do while they are in the photo.  It works pretty well with 4-year olds.

Not so much with this little boy.  We tried bubbles, water squirting toys, cookies, etc.  He just kept crying and yelling “Done”. 

Not that I blame him.  We did put him outside in his swimming trunks in forty degree weather.  But he is so cute, that I had to try!  Plus, his outfit matched the “Here Fishy, Fishy” quilt so perfectly and he has the best dimples in town.

He did eventually quit crying, though he wouldn’t look at us or the camera.  He didn’t like my trusty assistant at all and would turn his head to the side and yell “Done,  I’m Done”  anytime Joel tried to talk to him.  I’m pretty sure that we have traumatized him enough not to want to come to our house again. 

We settled on this for our final shot:

So, if any of you have wondered about the empty chair or who belonged to those shoes, now you know the answer.

I have to say my favorite blooper of all times involved my nephew Gavin.  The photo shoot started out like this – All sweet, innocent and cute.

My last photo looks more like this.  It wasn’t until I loaded the pictures onto my camera that I realized the situation wasn’t so innocent anymore.  Check out the middle finger on his left hand.

Yes,  that little stinker is giving me the finger.  It makes me laugh every time I see it!

So, there you have it – my adventures in trying to be a quilt photographer.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Photo Shoot Bloopers

  1. Patti Taylor says:

    Very fun! What a great post

  2. DianeY says:

    Too funny!

  3. Linda says:

    oh, the last pic…LOL!!! Priceless.

  4. Ranch Wife says:

    Well I think it’s the stories behind the quilt (and the darling quilt photos!) that add so much character! Too cute!

  5. candy says:

    Funny story! Kids and cameras………..

  6. treadlemusic says:

    What “life” is all about!!! Art Linkletter’s success with his TV show of years ago (“Kids Say the Darndest Things”) was no surprise!!!!

  7. Jill says:

    Your bloopers made my day! How funny! You have an adorable family

  8. Dawn says:

    It will be so fun to look at the book now and know the hidden story behind some of the photos!!

  9. Candie from Alaska. says:

    You soooo made my day! Thanks for the bloopers!

  10. Joan says:

    What a great post! You have a lovely family!

  11. Cosmos says:

    Great post! The photo with your niece eating the cupcake is so cute! That shouldn’t be blooper, I would have put it in the book! I laughed when I saw the empty chair.

  12. Hysterical! I love the little guy’s face in the shot before the empty chair – totally toddler :)

  13. Mary Ann says:

    Funny!! Enjoyed all the bloopers!

  14. sillyandrea says:

    I think I love some of these more than the pics you used. :)

  15. Amanda says:

    Those are great! Thanks for sharing. It was fun to see what was on the outside of the photo.

  16. VickiT says:

    Oh how funny. LOVE hubby in that sexy bathrobe and flowered coffee cup. LOL
    And that last one is just too funny.

  17. This was a great post Heather. It made me smile and laugh while enjoying your quilts!

  18. Mary Ann says:

    Oh I loved these out takes Heather. And the final products are so good it’s worth the patience. Truly those little faces make your quilts glow with the all the love you put into them! a lovely post with my coffee!

  19. Gene Black says:

    HA HA. never expect children or animals to do what you want them to in a photo.

  20. Mary says:

    These are better than the published ones. They are so true to kids. Thanks for sharing them.

  21. cindy hagen says:

    those pics are just tooooo cute!! soon you will have a new ‘prop’ to contend with…bet you can hardly wait!

  22. SuzK says:

    those photos were too funny … years from now you have some valuable blackmail! :0)

  23. Kathy says:

    Loved the post, the kids are adorable!! You should have put a “Gone Fishing” sign in the chair.

  24. Linda P says:

    I’ve always enjoyed seeing all the photos of your nieces and nephews, but didn’t really realize what a challenge it was to get the “perfect” photo shot for the quilts. This post just cracks me up!! I must confess…. I would have been ready, set, go to eat props too!!!

  25. Tessa Marie says:

    I just bought one of your books and so had to check out your blog. Thanks for a good laugh! I love seeing how things are done behind the scenes. Your final photos are always beautiful so you must know what you are doing after all!!

  26. Karen says:

    Pretty soon, you’re going to have your own “prop” :)

  27. Pingback: Almost There . . . | Trends and Traditions

  28. Pingback: The Winners | Trends and Traditions

Leave a Reply

