Puerperium Cardigan and Hat

I finished up another little baby sweater that I want to share with you.

It’s called the Puerperium Cardigan.  The designer states in the pattern that it is designed to be easy for new parents to dress their baby,  thus the side buttons from top to bottom of the sweater.  That idea sold the sweater for me, as I have tried dressing my nephews and found it to be a bit of a challenge.  In fact, it may have taken me a half hour, give or take a few minutes. 

It is designed for the first 6 weeks post birth – or a 6-8 lb baby.  My baby will probably be bigger than that when he is born, so I cast on 8 extra stitches.   I love how easy it is to adjust the size on top-down raglan style sweaters!

I made the sweater to go with this little football hat.

The football hat can be found in the Itty Bitty Hats book by Susan Anderson.  You can click here to see other cute projects from the book.

The yarn is Rowan Purelife Organic DK.  It’s probably not the best yarn for a hat, as it doesn’t stretch much, but it worked just fine for the sweater.

Now I just hope the hat and the sweater fit him at the same time!  Both were fun projects to make and are now in the diaper bag awaiting a trip to the hospital.  (Only 11 more days to my due date!)

(Ravelry links for the sweater and the hat.)

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Puerperium Cardigan and Hat

  1. Christine says:

    The big day will be here soon
    I love this cardigan for baby, so cute

  2. Deb C says:

    How stinkin cute is that! Soon he will be modeling for us, I hope.

  3. Samantha K says:

    Super cute!! I can’t believe that he will be arriving so soon already! Best wishes to you, I hope all goes well!!

  4. Mama Dub says:

    The cardigan and hat are both adorable! Soon you will be holding your precious baby as he models them!

  5. 4dreamsr says:

    Know you are so excited & anxious! I so envy, uh, admire your knitting. Best wishes & prayers for your special occasion!

  6. Cute sweater – adore the sophisticated buttons! Good luck :)

  7. Elaine says:

    Another great sweater for little ones – has a hood attached and ZIPS up the back from the “peak” of the hood to the bottom. No pulling anything over their heads! My nephew had one and he was born in 1968! He was a whopper kid and was NOT a happy camper when it came to pull-overs! I can’t wait to see your little guy in the sweater and “helmet”!

  8. Peggi says:

    Wow, how cute is that! I can’t believe it’s only 11 days – boy did THAT go fast! I’m so glad you’ve been sharing much of your journey with us, it’s been so fun.

  9. GeeGee says:

    What a darling little sweater, BUT I am very leary of buttons for babies clothes. Hang in there, the BIG day will be here shortly. Have a great day!!

  10. marsha nelson says:

    The sweater is just darling and different from others I have seen. The football helmet matches perfectly. A wonderful experience is a head of you and Joel. Keep us up to date.

  11. Barbara (WA) says:

    Very, very cute! I keep checking daily to see if your baby has arrived yet :) Also, my sister in law was visiting recently, she lives in Willmar. I asked if she knew you and she remembers taking the same quilting class with you when you were probably in high school yet. When I showed her your blog and photos of your house she recognized it. Small world! BTW, she works at the hospital in Willmar.

  12. Kari says:

    Those are adorable! The colors are great. I hope you have an easy delivery and will soon be cuddling your little one. Maybe I’ll have a chance now to catch up to some of the quilts I want to make in your books without you releasing a new one. LOL!

  13. Sandra Davidson says:

    Everything you do for that baby is so cute. He will be one well dressed little guy. Hope that all goes well and looking forward to seeing that little guy. Blessings Sandra

  14. Pat says:

    What an adorable little sweater and hat for a lucky little boy. Pretty soon he will be here so he can get to wear all those clothes while they still will fit.

  15. Kristy says:

    You know you are going to have one very lucky little boy! I also hope you know we are going to want to see this lucky little boy wearing his awesome sweater and hat. We will look forward to lots of pictures.

  16. gale says:

    Adorable. Your baby will look so cute in that little hat-it reminds me of the pilot caps from hanna andersson that my kids wore when they were babies.

  17. SuzK says:

    I’m always so jealous of people who can knit. Your work is amazing and your little one is going to look adorable in that sweater. The hat completely cracks me up!

  18. Linda P says:

    Can hardly wait to see your little bundle modeling these beautiful creations!! Hope you’re feeling good!! xo

Leave a Reply

