Knitting Update

I have been getting a whole lot of nothing done lately, but I do have a couple of knitting projects that I finished a while ago that I can share with you.

The first is this owl hat that I made for my nephew.

I found the pattern on Ravelry (link here).  I changed the pattern only a little bit by making the hat a bit shorter, the beak bigger, and the eyes a bit smaller.  I wish I would have made the eyes a little bit bigger, but I didn’t realize that making the beak bigger would result in my eyes being smaller ;-)

This was a really fun hat to make – but then again, I always enjoy making little kids hat.  I will probably make another one for Carter, once I see how he does with wearing hats.   In the meantime, I will enjoy seeing it on this little guy!

You can find my Ravelry link for this project here.
I also finished up this little sweater vest a while ago   –   like a couple of months before Carter was born!  The pattern is Pembroke by Kirsten Kapur.

I made it from some leftover yarn from this project. (ravelry link here)

I had two skeins left, which was just barely enough for this little vest.  Thanks to my yarn scale, I could weigh my yarn as I went to make sure that I had enough to complete the project.  I worked the back first (shown below), as that took slightly more yarn than the front because of the v-neck.

I took this photo of Carter wearing the vest several weeks ago.  He didn’t really cooperate very well for the photo.  He just kept wanting to curl up and go back to sleep!  I will try for another photo again later . . .

You can find my Ravelry link for this project here.

Anyone knitting anything fun lately?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Knitting Update

  1. Chris says:

    I wish I could figure out knitting, you make such beautiful things! My grandmother taught me to knit years ago, but I don’t know if I remember it. Maybe I will give it a try!

  2. Chris says:

    Oh my goodness–that picture of Carter in the vest is the most precious thing! How you can be a new mom and get all those things done is amazing to me.

  3. Oh my gosh. The cuteness of a baby in a hat! Such a sweet boy!

  4. Diane says:

    Important safety tip: taking care of a new baby is not a whole lot of nothing! I’m amazed you get anything done besides taking care of that darling boy. He’s beautiful.

  5. You’re picture of Carter in his vest is wonderful! Love your knitted projects. Even though the weather has been in the 100*s the last couple of weeks, I have been thinking of doing some knitting. Just need to finish a quilt or 3 first! lol

  6. Awww Love the hat and the vest! Carter is growing so fast!!

  7. Megan says:

    That is such a cute picture of Carter in his vest! I actually have started to take knitting classes this month! Yay! We have our last class this Thursday and I can now say I feel more confident knitting :) I am looking forward to the day when I can post “finished” pictures on my blog. Your blog has definitely been an inspiration for me to learn! Thanks!

  8. Bari Jo says:

    You do such a great job with the knitting and the quilting and the designing… AND THE BABY! Love those pictures and also the ones of your cute nephew! :O) I smile every time I see these posts – so thankful for your sweet blessing!!!! I know that even if you post you’ve gotten nothing done… you’ve actually gotten the most important things done – taking care of your family! So happy for you!

  9. Pam says:

    More sewing/quilting going on here than knitting, but I am committed to finishing another Mini Mania scarf from Ravelry. Uses leftover sock yarn, so that comes right out of the stash! Then more baby hats for my 5 month old grandson, his chubby cheeks and thunder thighs are just a little bit ahead of Carter’s! The better to cuddle with. Remember that you are working on the UFO of a lifetime, so might not get much else done for 18+ years!

  10. Marji says:

    Of course he felt like going back to sleep, he felt peaceful and comfortable wrapped up in his Mother’s love….just like those quilts….

  11. marsha nelson says:

    The picture of Carter in his hat is really so cute. And I love your new sweater.

  12. ColleenM says:

    Absolutely adorable! What a cute baby:)

  13. Cheryl says:

    Carter is so cute and adorable! Oh, and the hat and sweaters are cute too!

  14. Mary Ann says:

    So cute…the baby of course! The projects are wonderful too Heather and the models are priceless.

  15. Chris says:

    As always your knitting projects are beautiful but Carter is more “beautiful-er!” :) I know thats not a word but he sure is a sweetie pie. Love seeing the pictures of him, keep them coming! BTW that little vest is cute on him too! :)

  16. Sue says:

    Lovely knitting and you have a beautiful baby, I have had my 6 month old Grandaughter Isla her for 5 weeks but they go home on Saturday, how you find time I do not know!

  17. Your family makes adorable babies! That owl hat had me giggling, and the vest looks quite fetching on Carter. Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

