Knitting Update

Happy Monday Everyone . . .

Thanks for all the nice comments on Carter and his room (from my last post).  When I posted those pictures, I forgot to ask everyone for help locating some fabric.  I would like to make a bed skirt for the crib and possibly some valances.  I found this brown and green dot that I like, but I really wish the dot was aqua blue to match the walls. 

I have done some searching, but haven’t had any luck.  Has anyone else seen anything matching that description?  Any help would be really appreciated.

 

Now I have a few knitting pictures to share.  I started this easy little cardigan before Carter was born.  The reason I selected this pattern, was that I wanted something easy to work on in the hospital during labor.  My thinking was that I would have about 12 hours during labor, then a couple of days in the hospital to get lots of knitting done.

Silly Goose. 

Turns out I didn’t pick up my knitting at all during those days in the hospital.  Or the days that followed, for that matter.  I did eventually get the sweater done.

It’s a very simple design, so I chose a fun yarn, with good color, nice sheen, and a slightly slubby texture – kind of like how simple quilt patterns require fun quilt fabric to make the design work.  I wish I could share the name of the yarn with you, but I lost the tag that comes on the yarn and can’t remember what it was called.  (I am blaming it on the mommy brain.  I hear I get to use that excuse for the next 18 years.  I think I will be using that one a lot, because I don’t think I see things improving any time soon!  lol.)

You can find the details for the sweater here.  If anyone happens to recognize the yarn, I would love to know what it is, so please leave me a comment ;-)

I also wanted to show you some pictures of my Baby Sophisticate sweater again, this time on Carter.  He has just grown into the sweater, so now he can model it for you.

I also made a little hat to go with it.  The funny thing is now that the sweater fits, the hat is too small!

It doesn’t quite cover his ears anymore.  I guess that isn’t a huge deal, because he doesn’t like to wear the hat anyways.  He just rubs his head back and forth until it slides up off his head, and down over his eyes.

 

Lastly, I want to share a sweater that Carter got as a baby gift.  I wish I could claim that I had the mad skills to make it, but I have to give the credit to my “Moron” friend Maria. (click here to check our her blog, Passing Down Crazy).

Let me clarify that – in this case moron is a compliment.   We have been using this word to describer her for many years now.  She is always tackling “moron” projects that the average knitter and quilter wouldn’t think of trying.

Like doing intricate colorwork.

Or knitting with a size 1 needle.

Or doing steeks and fancy buttonholes.

See what I mean?

Yep, she’s a total moron. 

It’s such a beautiful sweater and I can’t wait for him to wear it.  I still can’t believe we got to be on the receiving end of her moron skills!  You can check out Maria’s Ravelry page on this sweater here.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Knitting Update

  1. Alice in WV says:

    Clearly your friend Maria is barking mad. But the sweater she made is gorgeous.

  2. Anne Heidi says:

    Oh I love his new sweater, it’s a traditional Norwegian pattern called ” Fana”, and the sweater is called a “Fanakofte” They are very popular here in Norway :-)

  3. sillyandrea says:

    I have some aqua / turquoise fabric with chocolate dots on it. It’s from Cranston Village.

  4. Leslie says:

    Riley Blake Designs has a line to be released the end of October, from Amanda Herring & THe Quilted Fish, called Flutter. In the blue color way, there is an aqua & white dot called “Blue Flutter dot” C3135.

  5. Ashley says:

    I don’t really get the joke about her being a moron. Apparently wanting to make nice knitting projects makes you dumb or crazy? I got that comment a lot in my old knitting group because of whatever colorwork or lace I was doing, so I stopped going.

    • Ashley – I wouldn’t normally call someone a moron, but I do believe that Maria started calling herself that first and it has just turned into a joke between the two of us. The sweater is such an amazing gift, that I was trying to think of the highest compliment that I could for her! With Maria’s sense of humor and our past history, this just seemed like the right way to say it.

    • Ashley, your mittens are so cute, and you are so talented. We make the things that we are passionate about, and people who don’t do what we do don’t understand. Keep up the great work!

    • Peggi says:

      I would guess the person who laughed in your face is not creative at all and would much rather purchase something made in China rather than make something with their own hands, because for them it’s easier. Truth be told, THEY’RE the morons, in the truest sense of the word.

    • Mom says:

      This is Maria’s Mom. I think I started that when I saw a pattern that was so hard that “only a moron would attempt it”. She took that as a challenge and knit it. Whenever she started a hard project she would tell me she started another moron project. It is indeed a compliment to her knitting and quilting abilities.

    • gale says:

      Holy cow-those mittens are adorable!! I think someone was jealous. I would be thrilled to pieces if I could knit something like that. I can’t even knit anything.

  6. Synnove says:

    Wow so much beautiful knitting! The sweater your friend made is gorgeous! I have a sweater in the same pattern, that my grandmother knitted for me years ago.
    The Fana sweater is based on an old Norwegian knitting pattern for men, and was part of the traditional everyday folk costume. So your son got a really special sweater based on a lot of old traditions! In norway, it was usually knitted in blue and white for boys (or black and white), and red and white for girls. But it’s now being knitted in all kind of colors:-)

  7. Carter’s sweater is fabulous! (As are all of Maria’s projects.)

    Of course I had to do a quick fabric google as I love the challenge of finding OOP fabrics…and spend far too much time doing so. This decorator fabric came up: http://warehousefabricsinc.com/POTKEE.html , which made me think if you are not familiar with a quilt fabric of what you are looking for a home dec fab may be the way to go.

    High Fashion Fabrics in Houston has a separate store for home decorating fabrics and has a huge inventory. They are willing to help over the phone and I have had them send several swatches which are always labeled nicely since we’ve moved back to MN. Good luck.

  8. Marsha Nelson says:

    Lots of beautiful sweaters. You and your friend are very talented. Knit during labor hahahaha. Carter looks darling in his sweater and hat.

  9. DianeY says:

    Michael Miller has – or maybe had – both chocolate on aqua & aqua on chocolate dots in their Dumb Dots line. I have a few small scraps of both, but I don’t know if they are still printing those colors. Someone might still have them though

  10. DianeY says:

    I got curious about my reply & checked Etsy. I found quite a bit. If you find one you can always contact the shop owner for a lengthier piece

  11. Jean Ruter says:

    Amazing! Love getting to see your new projects and your not so little guy as he grows.

  12. Karen says:

    You look fantastic for just having a baby :)

  13. Kathleen says:

    Carter looks adorable in his outfit! What a handsome boy. That sweater your friend made….wow. It is amazing. Obviously one makes it in a larger “grow into” size….how awful to finish and not have it fit baby! I found this fabric online….http://www.bearpawquilting.com/cgi-bin/Store/store.cgi?product=dotcha_322_polka&productid=322_do_03&tracking4=search%20322_do_03&pid=1#322_do_03 Might do the trick!

  14. Did a quick search and found this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/SIMPLE-STRIPE-Light-BLUE-BROWN-Fabric-Quilt-Yd-/200378433184 (Scroll down to see the dot…)
    Your knitting is amazing, as is your friend’s, and your Carter is the cutest! :-D

  15. Verónica says:

    That cardigan is so nice and the color looks great.

  16. Beth says:

    The sweater is just beautiful that your friend made. Wish I had those skills! Sounds like you got some help on the dot fabric. Personally, I love the contrast of the brown and green against the aqua wall and the green dots goes with the quilt over his crib.

  17. Peggi says:

    LOVE that gorgeous sweater your friend made! And Carter is getting cuter by the day! Oooo – have you seen that YouTube video a dad made of his daughter? He filmed her (I can’t remember if it was once a month or once a week), then spliced cuts from each video together into one 5-minute (or so) long piece. It was uh-maaaze-ing! You could literally watch her grow from birth to age 13 in just a few minutes. I wish I’d done something like that with my kids, who are now 12 and 18. :(

    I understand the “moron” thing completely! I like miniature quilts and quilts with small pieces. My quilting friends call me crazy, insane, and nuts for some of the quilts I’ve made – they hand over their scraps and tease me about making an entire quilt out of them! My record so far is a quilt I made for my mother-in-law that has 9196 patches in it. I like that they tease me and joke about it, it’s a form of affection in my opinion.

  18. Kathy says:

    Hi Heather, you are such a goodhearted trip and so lucky you have a friend in Maria…the sweater is awesome. As for the hat you made for Carter, could you pick up and knit ear flaps ?? It would probably fit well & since they (earflaps) are the rage right now, it would be really cute!!!!

  19. Sandy says:

    fabric.com has a brown/aqua dot, and in clearance.
    it is called Contempo dots polka dots brown EZ-841
    http://www.fabric.com/clearance-fabric-cotton-prints-clearance-discount-fabric-20-off-quilting-contempo-dots-polka-dots-brown.aspx
    Hope this helps

    Love your style and colors.

  20. Sarah says:

    Hi Heather, I wonder if Mischief Aqua Cookie Dots by Nancy Halvorsen is what your looking for. It’s a two tone aqua blue which I think would look beautiful with your walls and orange cot. Carter is so gorgeous, all chubby and blue eyes!

  21. Judy Werner says:

    Heather, I have a fat quarter that I believe is “BonEful Fabric FQ Brown Aqua In the Beginning”. If you want to see it give me a call. I did also find it on E-Bay. http://www.ebay.com/itm/BonEful-Fabric-FQ-Brown-Aqua-Beginning-Lily-Pond-Small-Large-Polka-Dot-/230818586717.

  22. That baby in his hat just makes me laugh. How cute is he anyway?! Your friend probably gave you that sweater cause she knew you could and would appreciate what went into it. You are about the luckiest person I know except for me!

  23. Victoria says:

    HE IS SO CUTE LOVE HIS SWEATER. MY BEOTHER HAVE IS FIRST SON JUNE I WOULD LOVE BUY SOME OF THOSE SWEATER FOR EDWARD 111

Leave a Reply

