A Good Day

Yesterday was a good day.

I had my quilting friends over for a relaxing night of hand sewing.

That means my house is clean – which always makes me happy.

That means I got to make a dessert – which also makes me happy. 

This is SO my kind of group – there is always desert and they like to serve chocolate hors d’oeuvers before dessert.  It’s usually in the form of a Dove chocolate, a truffle or a yummy snack mix.  (There are only certain groups that understand that chocolate hors d’oeuvers before dessert is very important.)  Good food and good fellowship make for such a sweet evening!

DSC_0969

(This is my tiramisu recipe that I have been fiddling with.  It’s different from most, in that it has a caramel-chocolate ganache.  Click here to print off my recipe.)

I also got to finish up a little project – These booties .  I read they are supposed to stay on those tiny feet.

DSC_0978

To top it all off – my Summer House sample yardage arrived at my doorstep yesterday.

DSC_0956

So, guess what I am doing this weekend?  

Looking forward to sewing, a cup of good coffee and some of that leftover tiramisu.

I hope you have something sweet planned for this weekend too!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting, Quilting, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Good Day

  1. Cassandra says:

    Your day sounds perfect. Those booties are CUTE!!

  2. Marsha Nelson says:

    Sounds like such a good time. And yes, chocolate before, during and after is GREAT! Your recipe looks so good, but since I don’t do coffee, is there anything I could substitute that would be good? Your booties are cute. Good luck keeping them on those every moving tootsies.

    • I’m not sure what to substitute for the coffee. I did serve it to several non-coffee drinkers last night and they ate it (maybe I need to check under the couch cushions? lol). I don’t think it’s overly strong on the coffee flavor, but then again, I love coffee so maybe that’s why I don’t notice ;-). You could just leave out the instant coffee and dip the ladyfingers in weak coffee and that would cut down on the coffee flavor (but still soften the ladyfingers – they need moisture to become more like a cake layer)

      • Cat says:

        For the non-coffee drinkers…..dipping the lady fingers in chocolate milk (homemade bittersweet), will soften them into sponge, retain the consistency and not over sweeten it.

  3. treadlemusic says:

    Your recipe is slightly more complex than mine but definitely something I will have to try!!! And, absolutely, multiple chocolate courses are very understandable!!! Aren’t they???? Love the fabric, too! Hugs and have a fab weekend! D

  4. JudyK says:

    The dessert looks wonderful, but I couldn’t print the recipe

  5. rosa says:

    have an awesome weekend.Thanks for the recipe!

  6. Chris says:

    Definitely LOVE the idea of chocolate BEFORE chocolate dessert! :) lol Also what better combination than coffee and chocolate…my favorite Tiramisu.!!! YUM. How exciting to have your fabric arrive, I know you will be making some pretty things with it. Looking forward to seeing your work. We are baking today for our family tree decorating “party” this weekend. Only 5 kids left at home to help but we will surely enjoy all the treats, (fudge is included :)) and the memories that get talked about as we pull out all the decorations. Have a great weekend! BTW, those booties are adorable, hope they stay on.

  7. Yum, your cake looks wonderful! I love a little Dove choc too. ;-) LOL Gorgeous fabrics! Happy sewing and creating!

  8. Bev says:

    I LOVE your fabrics! You are so talented and used my favorite shades and tones! Just beautiful!

    Cheery wave!

    Bev

  9. What a wonderful time with friends, sewing, & Chocolate! lol I’m envious! Your fabric looks wonderful, too!

  10. Jean Ruter says:

    Chocolate before dessert, great concept. We celebrate our grandson’s second birthday this weekend. To top it off, he will be a big brother in June. Smiles all around!

  11. Cathy K. says:

    I can tell you what I wish I was doing this weekend…having some of that delcious looking tiramisu!!!! Love those booties! That fabric…WOW! Gorgeous!

  12. Annie says:

    love the colors of fabric !!! dessert looked wonderful too

  13. Rene Sharp says:

    Oh that dessert looks sooooo yummy, must try it!! Your new fabric is absolutely gorgeous, can’t see what you make with it!! Enjoy your sewing time. Smiles xx

  14. Kristy says:

    Nothing better than a good day. Life is wonderful…treasure every moment.

  15. Judith M Keefe says:

    Thanks for the recipe (I got it in print, finally–my error). It will be dessert at my next Book Club meeting.

  16. Diane W says:

    Oh wow! What a perfect weekend. Clean house, beautiful fabric, chocolate and time. Time to be spent in the sewing room. Hmmm. Maybe i try that today. Have 16 potholders to finish for gifts.

  17. Pingback: Friday Finish | Trends and Traditions

  18. Sue says:

    The fabrics looks as yummy as the tiramisu! (But no calories!!)

Leave a Reply

