Here Fishy Fishy

Today is a fun day for me.  I get to spill a few more beans about my fabric line that comes out next summer.   The reason that I am sharing this now, is that the line is out on the road with the Henry Glass fabric reps and I wanted to give the shop owners a head-ups that it is available for order.

The line is called Here Fishy, Fishy.  (I will explain the name a little further down in the post.)

Fishy Fishy Fishy Page 1Bb

I had a lot of inspiration for this line!  At the time I painted this up, I knew we were pregnant with a boy.  I asked Joel what type of baby quilt he would like for our son.   As an avid (obsessed) fisherman, his request was something with fish.  I designed a quilt with fish (his favorite thing) and Chevrons (one of my favorite things).

(This quilt pattern can be found in my Little Quilts for Little Kids book)

I had so much fun with this quilt, that when Henry Glass asked me to design a kids line, I used it as inspiration for the line.  I wanted the line to include a few fish related prints – like bobbers, waves, and bubbles.  I also wanted to include a few generic prints like dots, plaids, and a houndstooth.  Those thoughts became the images you see below. (Sorry the lighting is so bad in these shots.  Winter in MN can mean some pretty dark days!)

DSC_1853 adj

Click here to see the line and the free projects on the Henry Glass website.

DSC_1847 adj

The line also includes this cute panel print.  I will definitely be working on coming up with some cute used for this panel – probably by cutting it up into squares.

Here Fishy Fishy Page 1

Getting back to the name of the line – This was also inspired by my husband.  He has a tendency to talk in his sleep.  One night in bed, he rolled over, cuddled up to me and said “Here Fishy, Fishy”.  Let’s just say that he has never lived that one down!   Now his midnight mumblings have become public with the naming of this fabric line.

How’s that for a unique source of inspiration?

Shop owners:  If you are interested in ordering the line, but don’t have a Henry Glass rep, you can contact me at hmulder@wecnet.com OR you can order through the HG distributors – Checker, EE Schenck, Troy, Needlecraft or Brewer.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Fabric Trends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Here Fishy Fishy

  1. VickiT says:

    I just love that quilt and the fabrics are adorable. Great job Heather!

  2. Jean Ruter says:

    What fun prints!

  3. Marsha Nelson says:

    The prints and colors are so great and the panels are just the cutest. So many things can be done with them. This line is going to be a hit.

  4. rosa says:

    It`s absolutely wonderful!!

  5. Jen says:

    super cute!! but the name is priceless! Thanks for sharing.

  6. SamanthaK says:

    Once again, another wonderful line!! I’m so glad that you were able to design a kids fabric line. I received the Little Quilts 4 Little Kids for Christmas and cannot wait to start working out of it. I surely hope there will be more to come!

  7. Kelly O. says:

    I just LOVE this line! cute but not cutesy and not too busy but great colours! love!
    p.s. Tell Joel he’s not alone… my hubby regularly talks in his sleep… he’s a banker so I often hear alot of $$ mumbling but I think my favourite mumbling after 10 years of marriage was “HEY, COME BACK HERE WITH MY CAR!!”
    it woke me out of a dead sleep but he kept on dreaming :)

  8. Diane W says:

    Funny! Just the other day, I was thinking you should come up with little boy prints, was I surprised to see you did! Little boy prints are hard to come by. And a story at our house- my hubby talks in his sleep too. We had out of town company, so we were sleeping on the couch/loveseat and in the middle of the night my hubby yells ‘f-f-f-FIRE’!! I woke up to that and so did he! We both were shocked and got the giggles! (He was dreaming of a housefire with kids in it). And then we were a lil worried if our houseguests woulda heard. They didnt, but what if they would of came running out!

  9. What fun prints!! Love them all! And your hubby came up with a great name~ LOL! Mine mumbles sometimes too, but I can’t make out what he is saying most nights. Have a happy week!

  10. Sue Benson says:

    Just too cute. The colours and patterns work so well together. When my son was little & we went grocery shopping & saw the fish for sale in the deli part he would always have this sad face & say….”poor fishy”.

  11. amber says:

    Yes, it’s a great line and the story of how the name came to be is too funny! Great job on another great fabric line! Love the fish quilt too!

  12. Candie says:

    Such a fun print! Can’t wait to use it for a baby boy quilt… Good luck!

  13. Carol H Gore says:

    So happy to see this fabric. May be my favorite, as I made the Fishy,Fishy Quilt from the book and can not wait to buy this entire line and make another quilt.

  14. Elizabeth says:

    DARLING!

  15. It’s so cute. And I love that he said, Here Fishy Fishy in his sleep. I dream about quilting, so why shouldn’t he dream about fishing? haha!

  16. I love Here Fishy, Fishy! Wish it were out now as I have a grandson due in two months!

  17. Linda Aune says:

    Super fun, Heather. You are an amazing lady. What a precious baby Carter is! PTL.

  18. Amanda says:

    As the mother of a baby boy not much older than your Carter, I am so appreciative of this adorable fabric! I have postponed making anything other than a blanket for my 9 month old simply because I hadn’t yet found fabric I liked well enough since using my Riley Blake Allstar for a friend’s baby. I am so excited to get some of this and get started!! :) (I also love chevrons!)

  19. Mary Ann says:

    Great line Heather, so cute for a little boy with wonderful colors and blenders. And the name is fabulous…lol!

  20. Connie says:

    Great colors and graphics!!

  21. Dorian says:

    This line is so adorable Heather! My little guy is just a few months older than yours, and I know he would love these fishes. LOL to Joel, my dh is sleep talker too.

  22. Deb A says:

    What an adorable line of fabric, and the name is quite appropriate!

  23. Bari Jo says:

    I.LOVE.THIS.LINE.!!! And Carter’s quilt! Super cute! And, bahahahahahahaha, the story is priceless! What a great name! Can’t wait to get my hands on this fabric! Little boy fabric lines are hard to come by – this one is going to be fun!

  24. Sarah says:

    Cute! Love it. I live in a coastal community with many avid fisherman. I’m sure this fabric would make some little boys and their Dads happy. Love the colours too. Hahaha, your poor husband! Mine probably mumbles golf words in his sleep.

  25. monkeyneedle says:

    Love the quilt and the fabric line. So adorable! I love fishies too. The story about your husband is adorable as well. Thoughts of any giveaways for this line?

  26. Mary McElroy says:

    You are killing me here. That fabric line is perfect for a baby quilt I’m planning for a friends baby whose daddy is an avid fisherman. However, I can’t wait until summer to make it so I will have to plan another for his 1st birthday!!!!! Thanks for the adorable pattern. I will be anxiously awaiting the release of this fabric line.

  27. Lee Cockrum says:

    Do you make scrapbooking paper from the fabric patterns? This line would make fabulous paper!!

  28. Pingback: Almost There . . . | Trends and Traditions

  29. Barbdangel says:

    Love the pattern and the colors are awesome. I need to make some charity quilts for boys.

    They are having cancer treatments.treatments.this looks like a nice happy quilt and could keep them distracted.
    Barb, ma.

Leave a Reply

