Carter – 8 Month Photos

Carter is now 8 1/2 months, so I thought I better take some time today to go through and gather up a few of my favorite 8 month photos.

There have been lots of changes happening over the last month.

He has a little more hair – though this is a pretty minor change.

DSC_2180 adj bw

He is sporting two sharp bottom teeth.  The rest of his gums are pretty swollen, so there may be more soon.  (or not, cause we never know.  We have been expecting teeth for 5 months now because of all the drooling!)

DSC_2390

Bath time is a favorite activity now, so my camera is always handy to try to catch some photos.

DSC_2353 adj bw

Maybe a little too handy . .

DSC_2091 crop bw

He his starting to get interested in books.  I have always loved books and Joel and I love reading, so we are excited to start sharing the world of books with him.  Since Carter was born, I have quit reading adult books.   This may or may not be temporary as I am more into pop-up books, Eric Carle, and googly-eyed dinosaur books right now.

DSC_2650

So far Carter’s favorite thing is to rumple the pages and look under flaps, but it’s a start.DSC_2432 bwrt.

The biggest change is that he is crawling.  This is going to be a huge adjustment for me.  It means he is no longer content the toys in front of him.  He likes the remotes, iPhones, Tupperware containers, newspapers, cords of any kind, and quilt batting.

DSC_2454adj

Yes, quilt batting can provide up to a half hour of entertainment in one sitting.  It’s great for peek-a-boo, which is another of his favorite activities.

He loves to stand up next to things – as you can tell from this photo.  He has started to pull himself up on things, if he can find a handle.  Magazine racks and baskets (with knitting in them – that will have to change!) seem to work best.

DSC_2596

I really do think that last 8 months have flown by faster than any other time in my life.  He is just changing so fast.  And now that he is on the move, everything feels like it is moving too fast!

DSC_2606

I am feeling a bit sentimental about it all right now.  In fact, last night I got out of bed, stuck into his room and rocked him while he slept.  It’s practically the only way to get any good cuddle time anymore. 

DSC_2583 adj

And though I love that he is full of life, holding him while he slept was one way to make time feel like it was staying still  –  Even if it was only for a little while!  I sure many of you know what I mean.

Until next month . . . .

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Carter – 8 Month Photos

  1. Kathy says:

    The picture of Carter setting arm in arm with his stuffed animal just cracked me up! Love it!

  2. marie says:

    Yes, they grow was too fast. It’s hard to believe that our last grand baby is now 8 years old. Enjoy each moment.

  3. Jean Ruter says:

    Yes, they grow and change so fast! Every day is a gift.

  4. Karen Likens says:

    This entry reminded me of this wonderful book http://www.amazon.com/Love-You-Forever-Robert-Munsch/dp/0920668372 The time is definitely too short.
    Karen L.

    • Karen Likens says:

      FYI – On Amazon, lot’s of people hated the book I referenced in the above post. I read it as an adult and liked it. Others apparently had it read to them as children and it scared them. I definitely don’t want it to scare Carter, so I guess disregard my previous post.
      Karen L.

  5. Oh, Heather, he is absolutely beautiful! And you are so right — they grow up way too fast. So glad you’re enjoying every minute.

  6. Cindy says:

    He’s adorable! Enjoy every minute of this time!

  7. Kathy says:

    ADORABLE! What a happy little person! Thank you for the update.

  8. shelley says:

    Lucky boy, lucky parents. Thanks for sharing the photos. I miss those years, but I can tell you, every year, every change, is so worth it! Just hang on to every moment you have! You already are!

  9. Carol says:

    Carter is so precious. I have loved the photos you’ve shared with us as he’s grown……what a cutie! As the mother of two long-grown boys, I appreciate your nostalgia….they do grow too fast. You and your husband are taking such pleasure in him….it’s a joy to see. Carol in Texas

  10. Nancy in Utah says:

    Oh Heather, I know exactly what you mean. Though I was young 20 and 21 when I had my daughters and found that I was in a hurry for each milestone so I missed how very precious each new day was. I do realize it went by too fast. We did have the joy, and yes it was a joy, of raising a second family, my daughters two sons from birth to adulthood. I was 38 when the fiirst grandson came along and the second time around, I found myself doing exactly what you did…tiptoeing into their rooms and holding them as they slept. You put it perfectly, it had the feeling of slowing down the racing time just a little bit. Now they are 24 and 19 and both serving in the military and loving it. Wow, days gone by. Your little Carter is so completely adorable. Does he ever NOT smile? LOL…Thanks for sharing him with us. Hugs…

  11. So adorable! Sewbaby makes a great ABC soft book that you can make with applique and an activity book for toddler/preschoolers.

  12. Paule-Marie says:

    Heather, He is just too stinkin’ cute. The ladies are going to love him when he grows up with those blue eyes, great smile and the personality.

  13. Candie says:

    Thank-you once again for sharing Carter’s milestones. So happy for you three!

  14. Janis says:

    Oh, he is divine! Time goes all too fast. Enjoy the moments and put “chores” aside!

  15. homedressings says:

    He is ADORABLE! Your entire post and the feelings you describe explains why people have more than one baby! I never made it past them turning 3 before I had to have another. So good luck! He is the cutest baby ever. You should enter him to be a Gap baby.

    Cheery wave!

    Bev

  16. Carolyn J says:

    Enjoy…. before you know it, he will heading off to kindergarten or will have siblings and won’t be your only child. Firstborns are very special! Love seeing Carter as he changes. You have a lot of cyber aunties and cyber grandmothers who feel the tug of love in our hearts as we look at your pictures and read your descriptions. The last comment you made, about sneaking into his bedroom to hold him, brought a knowing smile to my face. And all these pictures are real memories that you will have forever. You are a special mom and for that, I thank you.

  17. Noel Williams says:

    Carter is so adorable!! I love seeing all the photos of him and seeing how much he has grown and changed. My son is 5 1/2 now and it feels like yesterday that I was bring this tiny little 5 lb bundle of joy home. Hold onto these moments, they grow and change so quickly. And time really does fly by when you have a child. It’s the most rewarding and amazing job to be a Mommy. Enjoy every second of it.

  18. Sue Farrell says:

    He is adorable, but more importantly, he looks so very happy. That comes from having great parents.

  19. Catherine L. says:

    He looks like his daddy! lol

  20. Phyllis in Minnesota says:

    That is cutenes with baby blues!! Love the 2 buddies with their hinnies hanging out…

  21. Dottie's Daughter says:

    Your Carter posts never fail to put a smile on my face. Thank you!

  22. Janet Adair says:

    Carters eyes are so brilliant and he looks so happy. I love seeing this in a baby. Good job.

  23. Kris says:

    Oh my gosh, he is growing so fast! He is adorable! Looks so much like you!!!!
    XO Kris

  24. Ruth B says:

    Sweet, sweet boy….what a joy he is!

  25. Anna says:

    Heather, He is precious. What a joy. I don’t know how you get any sewing done. You are blessed.

  26. VickiT says:

    It’s hard to believe he’s that old already. Gosh, they do grow so quickly, don’t they? He’s adorable

  27. connandvansmom says:

    He is a very cute little boy. So adorable. I rember when mine were that age. Seems like a lifetime ago now. Enjoy every moment you have with him. They grow up way to quickly.

  28. Judyw says:

    Thanks for sharing. The time does move very quickly. But as for me, the other weekend our nine year old grandson was here, (without younger brother). So it was Grandma time, he asked if I would watch cartoons with him, so as I was getting my quilt all cozy, I looked at Landon, as he was just watching. He said, “Move over Grandma, I’m snuggling up with you, as you know I’m nine & soon I’ll be to big”! So that we did… Enjoy your little one.

  29. Vonna says:

    Heather, you have an absolutely beautiful child. He happiness is beautiful which comes from being loved very much.

  30. SuzK says:

    Carter is beautiful! Thank you for sharing photos of him. Don’t worry about the snuggling – they need it until they are about 10-11. My son would come up to me and ask if I minded snuggling for a bit – needless to say, I never said no! As Carter gets a bit older, keep an eye out for books by or illustrated by Steven Kellog – he is a wonderful artist and every page is filled with neat things – his stories are wonderful The Day Jimmy’s Boa at the Wash is hysterical, as is Ralph’s Secret Weapon. My son also like the Frog and Toad stories. Enjoy every minute. It’s all wonderful. My son is now 31, has his own place, works full time and is going to grad school – we still talk regularly and I still find I’m in awe of him!

  31. Sarah says:

    Yes I know what you mean. My baby turned 4 last week! It just goes too fast! Carter is just adorable. He’s beautiful. I love the pic with the quilt batting the most. And also the expression on his face where he’s climbed into the cupboard – Mum how can I get out?

  32. ColleenM says:

    He is absolutely adorable and he will keep you busy. It seems like yesterday my 18 year old was that size…Enjoy him at every age:)

  33. Brenda says:

    What a precious little boy. Someone else mentioned the the Robert Munsch book, I’ll love you Forever – it’s a good one to have. I also thought of that one when you snuck in his room. Those big blue eyes are so stinkin’ cute!

  34. Jane says:

    Don’t worry…cuddle time is not gone, just temporarily replaced by curiousity. My 12 year old son still climbs in my lap on a regular basis..but only when no one’s looking.

  35. Beverly Atkins says:

    Carter is so cute! Absolutely the cutest! I love your pictures. I love his smile. Steal those cuddles while you can. You can never get too many.

  36. Denise Briggs says:

    Adorable. I loved Carter’s styling, little blue plaid shirt. Paul Bunyon style. Does Carter have a Blue Ox called Babe? Thanks also for the quilt tour, your color sense is inspiring.

  37. Susan Pletcher says:

    Heather, he’s absolutely beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  38. Bari Jo says:

    Love it that you snuck in and rocked him while he slept! Yes – I remember those days – and they are precious and go way tooo quickly!

Leave a Reply

