Knitting Update

It’s such a relief to have all the quilt market deadlines behind me.  And while many other designers are packing or arriving at quilt market, doing schoolhouse sessions, or preparing for Sample Spree tonight, I am home, breathing a sigh of relief.  All the deadlines are over for a little while and I am leisurely making a table runner for my bedroom.  I don’t remember the last time I did that!  Carter is just finishing up his nap, so I won’t get it finished today, but that’s okay.  He is switching himself from taking two long naps a day to one shorter one.  He seems to be adjusting to it just fine – it’s me that is having issues!  I really got a lot done during those naps.  He isn’t crabby about it at all, just as busy and happy as ever.  It’s not like I don’t want to be with him more, I just like to give him lots of attention while he is up and not have to sit at the computer, sewing machine, etc.  I love his timing though – he waited until I was done with my deadlines to switch up my schedule!

Over the last few months or so, I have been trying to finish up a bunch of unfinished projects.  Several are knitting projects that have been on the needles for quite a while.  I think this first project has been going for about a year.  I am so glad to finally have it finished!  (that goofy expression on my face might have something to do with my annoyance over how long this took me).

DSC_8080

The yarn is something I have used twice before and I liked it in this project as well.  It’s called Dream in Color Smooshy.  The color is Lipstick Lava.

DSC_8208

It’s hand-dyed which makes for a nice depth of color, with slight variations.  I much prefer the weight of the Smooshy to the DIC Classy.  In my experience, it blocks much better and isn’t quite as stiff.

DSC_8083

The pattern is called  Chambourcin – designed by Ruth Garcia-Alcantud of Rock and Purl.  I think the only mod I did was to make the hood a bit smaller.  (To keep the pattern symmetrical, it ended up a bit smaller than I would like, but that is still better than a giant hood. )  I do love a nice hooded pullover!

DSC_8084

You can find my Ravelry link to the project here.

DSC_8087

DSC_8195

My next project went a little quicker.  I started with this yarn -

DSC_8202

Madeline Tosh DK, in the color Bloomsbury.  It’s a beautiful soft blue.  The pattern is White Russian by Thea Colman of Baby Cocktails.  The pattern is top down, in the round, which makes finishing it so much easier.

DSC_5617

After getting this far, I decided that I got it a little too long so I pulled the hem out and redid it.

DSC_5611 crop

That also gave me a chance to add a little detail that I forgot the first time around – the buttons at the bottom hem.

DSC_6591

I wanted to talk a little bit about the in-the-round concept.  It has its pros and cons, but I have to say the biggest con is that the patterns are usually written so that the front and back are the same size.  In other words, you usually end up with a lower neck in the back, or a higher neck in the front.  This one has the higher neck in the front.  That results in a little bunch of excess fabric gathering at the front of the neck.  You can see it a bit in the picture below, but also in the first two pictures.  In the future, I want to remember to adapt the patterns to include some short-row shaping so that there are a few extra rows to the back.  Has anyone else tried this?  I don’t see why it wouldn’t work.

DSC_5613

My favorite thing about patterns that are in the round, is that they usually have Raglan sleeves.  I just love the lines – it makes for a much prettier sleeve.

DSC_5615

You can find my Ravelry link for this project here.

That’s all for now.   More knitting soon . . . . . hopefully!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Knitting Update

  1. Beautiful work Heather! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Kaye M. says:

    I don’t knit but I have noticed that when I buy a turtle neck sweater I have that little extra wrinkle of fabric at the center front neckline just like you were describing. I wish the designers would cut the pattern a little shorter in the front neck area so we could have a better fit! Just my two cents worth! I admire your knitting talent and you can make the adjustments so that you get a great fit.

  3. Karen Lange says:

    Really beautiful yarn in both sweaters. Nice work!

  4. Janet Adair says:

    beautiful job on both sweaters. However do you do it all?

  5. Julie Delaney says:

    Oh you do such beautiful work, mine are either too big or too small, guess I should learn how to gauge huh? My program about you and your business went good, hope you get so e business, I gave them your website and all the info, some remember you coming to Aberdeen years ago? Jayne is quilting my fishy can’t wait to see it. I made a bean bag chair to match for Christmas. Happy Holidays😀

  6. angela jean says:

    I’m inspired, but still scared to make anything with sleeves. I am a little less intimidated by the top-down methods I am seeing a lot of. I got a book about sweaters that doesn’t require any sewing. I have a lot of books. Not so many handmade sweaters. LOL :)

  7. Frankie says:

    Your knitting is beautiful!

  8. Marsha Nelson says:

    Your sweaters are so pretty. I really like the red color on the first one and also the style. Keep sharing.

  9. Connie says:

    Honestly, you make the prettiest sweaters………….

  10. Love it and the colour looks fab on you, we’ll done!

Leave a Reply

