More Little Things . . . and Carter’s 18 Month Pictures

I love December.  Maybe not all things about December (like the fact that we have been having frigid January/February type temperatures) – but I usually don’t work as much and take a little more time off.  That means lots of extra time with Carter and time for fun little projects.  I am getting absolutely no quilting done, but that will have to be okay.

And can I just say that I loved doing my shopping online this year?  I struggle a bit with the fact that much of the business isn’t local, but in a short two hours all 14 kid gifts (and some of Carter’s gifts) are purchased.  Two days later they arrive at my door and I didn’t have to drive anywhere or wait in line.  Again, more time to be here with Carter or Joel.  We drink coffee and play Farkle (Carter has his own cup and dice so he thinks he is playing too).  We read Dr. Suess and play puzzles.  We practice our letters and try to color and paint without eating the art supplies.  And just to keep it real – there are LOTS of Nos.  He still likes to sneak his hand into the toilet, turn on the tub water, and other exploring he shouldn’t be doing….. and he is pretty strong-willed about it.  He goes from being totally adorable to throwing a fit, all within 5 seconds.  Such is life with an 18 month old.

Yes, 18 months already!  Today I thought I would share some 18 month pics, along with two little projects I finished for Carter.

First up, I made him a little animal hat to go with his winter coat.  I had a hard time coming up with an animal that would match his coat, but settled on this polar bear.

123

At least, it is supposed to be a polar bear.  I thought mine turned out looking more like a wolf.  You can find the pattern here.  It is written for an adult size, so in the process of downsizing it and adding the facial features, it turned out a little differently than I intended.

116

Carter is enjoying his first taste of snow – quite literally.

114

The ear flaps and the ties are nice – considering our cold winters here in MN and Carter’s tendency to take off his hat if it isn’t well secured (and his mittens for that matter).

124

You can find my Ravelry link here.

Heather-366 crop  2

The second little project I did for him is one I found on Pinterest.  I pin and pin, but rarely do I ever do anything with it.  (anyone else  in that boat too?)   This pin was too cute to pass up.

DSC_9080

You turn a pair of pants with a hole in the knee into a monster face!

176

It only took about 10 minutes, so it is quick and easy to do.  My concern is that I know it will not hold up to washings.  It is done with felt and the edges are not finished, so I know I will have to hand wash these jeans.  I guess if I have to redo it periodically, it will only take a few minutes.

DSC_9067 adj

You have no idea how hard it was to get him to sit still and in a position where you could see the monster face!  Thank goodness, he loves light switches and riding.  I should have photographed them before I put them on!  Here is the link to the original pin.

DSC_9092

Now, onto a few favorite pictures from the last couple months – sorry for the overload!

DSC_8941

DSC_8973

128

 

032

DSC_9017

Heather-236 crop

 

DSC_8965

DSC_8953

Heather-306 crop - Copy

Just a few more things for me to come back and read someday . . .  when I am trying to remember what Carter was like at this age:

His favorite things to eat are:   fruits and veggies, mac and cheese, cookies, juice, chocolate and raisins.  He still doesn’t care much for meat.

His favorite toys/things to do are:  watch the washi (washing machine), play with Dad’s drill and tape measure, read books, play with magnets, phones, things with flaps or doors to look behind, and emptying cupboards, purses, wallets, etc,  watching videos of himself on the phone and playing ipad (once in a while.  We have to hide it).   He still loves to do anything Daddy is doing, especially if it involves some sort of noise or equipment.  He likes to push buttons in my sewing machine and do things in the kitchen (thus the picture with the beaters).  His favorite letters are U, Z, E, and O.  His favorite number is 2.   His favorite book is the Dr. Seuss ABC book.

He talks constantly and is starting to say some two-word phrases – I sit, snow flake, Hi Daddy and Hi Papa being the most popular.   At his 18 month check up, he was still in the 98 percentile for head size (as you cans see from his pictures).  He was in the 90s for weight and in the 80s for height.  He is still drooling and chewing a lot, as we are waiting on those eye teeth.

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Knitting, Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to More Little Things . . . and Carter’s 18 Month Pictures

  1. EvaLyn says:

    I think your hat looks like a polar bear! It is great! And you shouldn’t worry about overloading us with pics of Carter. I have 10 grandchildren ranging from almost 6 months to almost 17. I can’t turn away from a baby’s smile. He is precious.

  2. Quilt Writer says:

    Love to see the wonderful things you create – including your little boy. Your stories take me back to the most precious time of my life. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Carolyn says:

    He is so adorable, what a fun time! Thanks for sharing the pictures, love seeing all his cute little outfits.

  4. Karen Lange says:

    Hello and Merry Christmas to you and your family! I always love seeing pictures of Carter. How time flies. Hard to believe he is 18 months now! What an adorable boy he is and so photogenic. He sounds like my kind of boy……a lot similar in his choices of what to do as was my son about 46 years ago (or will be on 12/21) and his son (now 18) who we cared for from birth to kindergarten and beyond. He is now going to college and has a full time job and a girlfriend.

    How things change over time. I know you’re enjoying this special time in your life with such a cute little guy! I don’t think I’ll ever forget those time with my guys and I’ll bet you will as well.

    Hugs and warm Christmas greetings to you and your family!

    Karen

  5. DianeY says:

    You win mother of the year by letting him lick the beaters while wearing that cute sweater! I probably would have put mine in a poncho!

  6. Karen Lange says:

    P.S……..How could I forget to comment on Carter’s polar bear hat that you made him and the really neat patch on his jeans! Very, very cute!

  7. Kathy Y says:

    What a cutie. He is just adorable.

  8. Susan Depew says:

    So enjoy watching your little grow. Have a most blessed Merry Christmas!

  9. Kris P says:

    Heather,
    I just wanted to tell you I think that little boy of yours is so cute! He is the perfect blend of you and your husband. Thank you for sharing photos of your family with us. It’s fun to hear about life with a toddler. My baby is now 10 years old, and it all gets a little fuzzy in that brief amount of time. While I love being out shopping, we did a good amount of online shopping this year, too. Christmas is just sneaking up on me this year. Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas.
    Blessings,
    Kris P
    Blaine, MN

  10. Bonnie says:

    Wow, it is so hard to believe he is 18 months. Thanks for sharing all the wonderful photos with us. What a honey!

  11. Marie P, Richfield, MN says:

    What fun pictures you have of your totally cute boy. He’s stretched out so much! Have a terrific Christmas with your family, and thanks for sharing yours with us.

  12. Mary Ann says:

    He is so very, very cute! Those bright eyes and happy smile surely melt away a NO!

  13. Joan says:

    Great pictures of your sweet Carter! Love his smile! He looks so cute in his hat.

  14. Ellidem says:

    I subscribe to your blog obviously, but you don’t know me from a stranger on the street! However, I wanted to respond to your comment about his changing from lovable to “evil” in a matter of seconds. That continues until children are grown. At least it did with our three sons. And now, we have custody of two grandchildren: Our 14-year-old granddaughter did that “sweet to ugly” just this morning. I’ve never dealt with a girl before, but it seems she is worse than her brother and our 3 sons combined!! Good luck with your son. Even with all the difficulties, there is nothing like children. Marcia

  15. Patty F says:

    Oh My Goodness!!! He is absolutely adorable!!! The Polar bear hat is equally adorable!! Did you take him to see Santa this year? Have a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2014!

  16. I smiled all through your post! Cute hat and very happy kiddo. I used to do different things to our son’s knees too~ if you take out the seam in the inside, you can lay the leg flat and use your sewing machine.. makes it just as durable as the jeans. I loved using my cottons and even sweatshirt fleece to put little stars, trucks etc on their knees. Have a Merry Christmas!

  17. Mary Jean P says:

    Love seeing pictures of your beautiful son. You are truly blessed to have such a happy,healthy and handsome son. Merry Christmas!

  18. Dianne says:

    What wonderful pictures. Merry Christmas!

  19. RuthB says:

    So sweet! I love the look on his face as he is licking the beaters – priceless!

  20. Connie says:

    Love your Carter pictures! The little hat is so cute and love the Monster Jeans! What a great idea, I will pass that one on for sure.

  21. ColleenM says:

    I’ll say it again, Carter gets cuter every time we see him. The polar bear hat it adorable. Thanks for sharing:)

  22. kelly says:

    thanks for sharing…he is adorable

  23. Toni Anne Potter says:

    PLEASE!!! Overload us, I LOVE it. He is so adorable, I miss babies. My son just started high school, he’s 14. I loved every stage and still do. (Voice changing, some facial hair) Enjoy him, he’s beautiful, I look forward to Carter updates. Merry Christmas!

  24. Carrie says:

    Random observations… All bundled up to be outside, Carter still looks a bit like a baby, almost toddler-ish. But without the coat and hat, he looks so tall and… grown-up! And in one of the pictures, it’s obvious that he has Joel’s eyelashes!

    As with the others, keep the pictures coming. Overload? Not a chance. The pictures of Carter, and especially of the three of you, make me very happy. You and Joel waited a long time for this and your joy at being parents is very evident in the pictures. And Carter’s expressions makes it pretty clear that you’re great parents!

    I hope you, Carter and Joel have a happy, safe, very Merry Christmas!

  25. Theresa Westrup says:

    Carter is such a beautiful little boy.

  26. Marsha Nelson says:

    Thanks for sharing your family with me. The picture with the egg beaters brings back memories. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  27. SuzK says:

    that hat is adorable – I saw “bear” immediately! He is totally adorable – I love the chocolate beater photo – it looks like that was a great day for him! Have a wonderful Christmas – I’m sure it will be so much fun with Carter this year.

  28. glenda says:

    I love all the pics of sweet Carter. Look at those cute teeth! I love the monster face. What a fun idea, my son would have loved that when he was a little boy.
    That hat is adorable and you are a beautiful family.

Leave a Reply

