Carter’s Christmas Sweater

Yes, I am that behind in blogging!  I am just getting to sharing this knitting project, even though I finished it on December 22nd.  I am behind on everything around here work-wise, though I have quite a few things started.  I also put the finishing touches on a new fabric line and sent off the details this morning.  These are all things I can’t share yet, so I appreciate all of you who keep checking in one me, despite my lack of quilting related (or anything, for that matter) posts!

Now, back to that sweater -

I decided Carter should have a hand-knit sweater for Christmas. I selected this pattern.  I stuck with green for the yarn, though mine is a bit brighter.  (Somehow, I resisted the urge to once again knit something in blue).  I finished the sweater the night before our get-together with Joel’s family.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any good Christmas pictures of him in the sweater, as they all look like this.  He didn’t seem to want his picture taken that day (and this time I couldn’t blame it on the Minion, like I did at Halloween.)  Don’t you love Abi, with her hands over her ears?  That’s how loud his crying is.

Christmas 2013 074

 

This weekend, I finally got a few more pictures of him in the sweater.  He won’t sit still, so they aren’t great, but they will have to do.

DSC_9524

The yarn is Weekend, by Berroco.  It’s not my favorite yarn, but it appears to be holding up well.  That can be a hard quality to find sometimes – especially for little kids sweater.  For that reason, I would use it again.  It’s a little hard on the hands, as it doesn’t stretch much, so that’s why I say it’s not my favorite.

DSC_9487

The back of the sweater is plain, so you get a little break from all the cabling.  I normally like some detail on the back of my sweaters, but in this case I think it would have been overkill.

DSC_9517 ADJ

 

I followed the pattern as much as I could – though the smallest size is a 3/4 and I wanted it to be a size 2.  I didn’t really run into trouble until I got to the neck.  I ended up taking it off and making it smaller.  It’s still plenty big and I’m not totally pleased with it.  As you can see in this picture, the bound off edge wiggles back and forth.  I bound off in pattern (k2,p2), as instructed by the pattern, but I don’t care for how that looks.  If anyone has any suggestions on how to get the wobble out of the edge, please leave it in the comments.  Maybe I shouldn’t have bound off in pattern as instructed?

DSC_9509 adj

One last picture, with an “I’m up to no good” expression.

Christmas 2013 027

You can find my Ravelry link here.

Carter is just waking up, so I finished this post just in time!  Off to go get some snuggles ;-)

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Carter’s Christmas Sweater

  1. gale says:

    He is so adorable!! I can’t believe how big he’s getting. The sweater is gorgeous and looks perfect on him. I love the chunky cables.

  2. Joan says:

    The boy and the sweater are adorable! Don’t worry about the neck it looks perfect!

  3. Diane W says:

    Try binding it off with how they say to bind off in “Baby Sophisticate” sweater pattern. I found I use this for lots of stretchy bindings. I finished Hallet’s Ledge(?) sweater. I only did one row of cables up the front. I found that pattern way too confusing and I made my cables mirror image. The cables were not lining up, so i gave up…now to get the buttons on, and wear. Lil Carter is a doll! Enjoy him….and all his boy antics. Something about little boys and mama’s heartstings…

  4. Karen says:

    What a beautiful sweater! I’d leave the neck as it is….He won’t need to complain about it “picking” his neck if it was a bit tighter. The family picture is priceless…gotta love the little girl with hands over her ears! Seems from my experience that at least one kiddo in a group will cry during picture taking. It is what it is!

    I remember a while ago seeing pictures with Carter and his new teeth. Looks like he has many more now. Enjoy these special times……they grow oh so fast.

    Karen

  5. Jean says:

    I have been hoping for a Carter ” fix”. The sweater is very nice but not as handsome as the wearer! I live that he is a reader:-)

  6. Joy says:

    Too cute for words and so is the sweater. :)

  7. Gosh I can’t believe how fast Carter is growing! He is at such a fun age~ into everything, so enjoy those snuggles! I like the sweater, they can’t all be perfect~ it looks like it fits well and he doesn’t pull at it~ good things for busy boys. Have a wonderful week!

  8. Candie says:

    Carter is getting to be such a big boy! My mother made my son (23 years ago) a nearly identical sweater in more of a kelly green. I love looking back at the few pictures I have of him in it. It was too big for him at the time but he looked so adorable with the sleeves rolled up and his little black rubber boots… thanks for the memories!

  9. Susan P says:

    He’s is too, too cute! Your knittiing is amazing.

  10. Peg says:

    He’s adorable and how can you even think of expecting him to sit still for pics. My 3 yr old granddaughter actually puts her hands over her face and she’s been doing that since she could put her hands there. Your knitting is gorgeous and your fabrics divine. Keep up the designing while you try to keep up with him.

  11. Doreen says:

    A lovely family all around!!!! The sweater and Carter are perfect!!!!!! Hugs………………………. (I totally understand busy!!!!)

  12. Sheri says:

    Beautiful sweater! I just finished another “Weasley” sweater (as in Harry Potter) for a granddaughter. When I bound off the neck edge I followed the k2, p2 pattern and it came out just like yours. I wonder if I just bound of with a straight knit pattern if it would come out straighter? The wobbly edge is good for the “Weasley” sweater as it is supposed to be too big and quite ugly! My grandkids love the look. lol

  13. Bev Bryan says:

    That little boy face! Kryptonite for Grandmas! Adorable!

Leave a Reply

