I Love Puppies Strike-Offs

A few weeks ago I shared a sneak peek at my new fabric line “I Love Puppies”.

I%20LOVE%20PUPPIES%20Page%201B 500 image

At that point, I only had the cad drawings and have been anxiously awaiting the strike-offs (where the designs are printed on actual fabrics).  The second set of strike-offs have arrived and I have gone through them and made some notes on a few more tweaks.

DSC_9555 adj

For those of you who aren’t familiar with this process, the plant does a few practice runs on fabric before they print the real goods.  This way we have a chance to get the colors just right.  I compare the strike-offs to my artwork or the cads and make notes on what I want changed.  I email these changes to my design director at Henry Glass and Co, who then sends them to the plant overseas.   This is where I imagine some interpreter trying to explain my notes – such as “The designer wants the pink to be a little less mauve in tone, and a little more coral.”   I often wonder if those colors mean the same thing to me, as they do to the person running the ink mixing machine???  I need to ask my design director  about this sometime.  It sounds like a challenging process!

DSC_9540

My list is usually long and detailed, as I am trying to get things just right, if possible.  Then when the fabric comes, I often have to let a few of the details slide.  I remind myself that I notice things that other people won’t and they won’t have the original to compare it to.  It’s hard not to be critical of your own work, but usually within a few days, I am playing away with the new fabrics, minor differences forgotten.

I am getting off track – so back to the point of this blog post!  Here is the sneak peek at those strike-offs:

The brown and orange prints -

DSC_9538

The grey prints, including the panel -

DSC_9550

The aquas and the cream background print-

DSC_9545

The navy and green prints -

DSC_9551

And one last shot of how nicely the grey and aquas play together.

DSC_9544

It will be a few more months before I get the actual fabric.  In the meantime, I already have a quilt pattern picked out that I want to make with the fabric.  It’s always such a long wait!

So what are you playing with today?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I Love Puppies Strike-Offs

  1. Jean says:

    Another fun line. I love the colors!

  2. Cecilia says:

    Heather, these are adorable and I love the colors you chose. These would be great for either a boy or girl.

  3. darlene macdonald says:

    I absolutely adore this line!!! I made a quilt for my MIL of dachshunds and wish I had this fabric to do it in. Needless to say I had a happy MIL. Can’t wait to see this in my (greedy) hands. LOL Beautiful job… as always.

  4. Marie Pearson says:

    Really, really cute Heather! Carter has a very creative Mom.

  5. Lynda Maram says:

    Looking forward to this being in stores!

  6. Denise says:

    I love this new line. We are expecting our first grandchild anytime now, a little boy. I will definitely find a pattern for this fabric. Thank you.

  7. I love the strings of dots on the navy! Very eye catching. The whole line is very cute and will make some darling quilts! I can imagine how excited you must be! Have a happy day!

  8. Marcia M.M. says:

    What a creative lady you are! These fabrics are adorable!

  9. Mary Thompson says:

    I love these!!!!

  10. Robin Westendorf says:

    I am working on crib bedding for my first grandchild, a baby boy due June 2. I absolutely love your new fabric line and cannot wait for it to be sold in stores so I can make our grandbaby, Carter, a little puppy quilt. How will I know when this will be sold in stores?

  11. Oh my, this is adorable!!

  12. Linda says:

    I’m playing with some Riley Blake prints, but I wish I had these already! Love the puppies! And I think my grandson would love them too. I’ll just have to make him another quilt when these come out! Beautiful work!

  13. Dorian says:

    Oh too cute!! This is such a fun line. I love the colors too.

  14. Deb C says:

    I love your new line.

  15. Moya says:

    Am collecting for a brown and turquoise quilt, your fabrics would suit beautifully.

  16. Linda P says:

    Makes me wish I had a baby on the way!! Can’t decide which colorway I like best, they sure look fun! I missed a few posts, but went back to read – little Carter can’t get any cuter!!

  17. Bridget says:

    I love the green, navy and orange… so cute…. I am finishing up a star quilt that I will be donating to a local fair for auction to raise money for them. Haven’t started another quilt just yet.

  18. Cindi P. says:

    I love the colors! We are expecting our first grandchild, a boy, in April. I am in the process of making a quilt for his nursery but these are in the same colors so he will be getting another one after this comes out!! There’s nothing better than a boy and his dog :) !

Leave a Reply

