Hellooooooo . . . . . ????

Anybody still here?

It’s been well over a month since I have done a post.  I’m hoping that I still have a few followers!  I have been so behind that I just haven’t taken time to do a blog post.  Every spare minute that Carter is napping has been spent sewing projects for a new book.  The projects in the book are all small – in fact they are all runners or toppers – as that is all I can seem to get done!  (Well, that isn’t the only reason.  I happen to LOVE everything about runners and toppers.)

So are you wondering why I am so behind?  I am usually really motivated when it comes to quilting and love getting lots of projects done . . . . So what happened?  Let’s just say I’ve had a couple of things that have set me behind schedule in January and February.

First of all, I took way too many naps in January and February.  And I hate naps!  I didn’t even take naps when Carter was a newborn.  I just couldn’t kick feeling soooo tired.  I also wasn’t feeling well.  I felt like I had the stomach flu (or certain parts of it).  No throwing up, but just dizzy and nauseous.    It really affected my creativity at a time when I was supposed to be coming up with new ideas.  I am feeling much better now.  Let’s just say it’s something that about 13 weeks or so couldn’t fix.

Yep.  You guessed it.  Baby # 2 is on the way!  Carter is going to be a big brother.

march-25,-2014-028

 

I’m sure many of you are wondering if we had to go through as much as we did to have Carter (read about this here).   We were so fortunate that we didn’t have to do IVF this time around.  After all the doctoring that we did with Carter, plus my age, our OB recommended not waiting long before trying, giving it a few tries, then going straight to IVF.  No pressure huh?

We followed his advice and used some routine fertility treatments.  We had some ups and downs in this process, including some early successes, and some disappointments.  After about 8 months, I called the IVF clinic to reserve a spot.  They said there wasn’t a waiting list and they wouldn’t set up an appointment until I knew for sure that the last round of treatment hadn’t worked.   I felt for sure that I didn’t feel anything and wasn’t pregnant.

Turned out I was wrong!  An ultrasound at 5 weeks revealed a normal pregnancy (just one, and in the right place).  A second one showed things were still good.  The third one showed the same, along with a heartbeat.  At this point we told just a few people.  Blood work and genetic tests at 11 weeks showed that everything was normal.   We were so grateful to learn that everything was good!   Unlike the tests of old that weren’t nearly as accurate, this test is like 99% accurate.  (This test is for high risk patients or people over 35).  The test also tells you the sex of the baby – Yes all from a simple blood test!  No more waiting for the ultrasound at 20 weeks.   My way of telling Joel what we were having was to tell him we were getting a permanent fish house, not a sewing machine.  In other words, Carter is getting a baby brother.  I had been joking with Joel, that I was eventually going to have to take up ice fishing if I wanted to see my boys in the winter.  Now we are going to have to get once for sure!

We are now at 18 weeks and I am finally ready to share with everyone.  I have been so nervous to tell people too soon.  I know we have a long way to go yet, but everything is looking good and we are well through the miscarriage window.   I am starting to fill out my maternity clothes, so I am no longer able to hide it.  I felt movement at about 14 weeks and since then, the little guy has been really active.  I love the reassurance that movement brings.  My due date is August 26th.

Here is a short video that we sent to our nieces and nephews to announce our addition –

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3JGnQ2deXgQ

(It isn’t the most creative announcement, but we still thought it was kinda cute.  Especially when Carter’s first guess of the ultrasound picture was a puppy.)

So, now you know what’s been happening around here!  Was anyone suspicious?  I shared the news with my quilting group at our last meeting.  I told them I wasn’t making any big quilts, but have been busy making runners because that is all I can get done.  We joked that after this baby, I will be doing a book on pot holders.  I have been laughing about it ever since.  I sure hope there is a market for pot holders, because I hate to give up time with my precious boys and it’s really hard to break the quilting addiction!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to Hellooooooo . . . . . ????

  1. Sue says:

    Yeah! I was wondering where you were. Congratulations to all of you.

  2. Lindalee says:

    God bless you all, Heather. Yes, have to say I was wondering about you. Smiles all around!

    • Carolyn says:

      I am so so thrilled for you. I was so moved when you shared your challenges about getting pregnant with Carter — wonderful news, thank you for sharing this also!

  3. Mardis Burns says:

    So happy for you two and Carter. He will love his little Brother. And Heather, do not worry about what you are getting done, because you are accomplishing alot. You are having a baby. Children are only little once. Quilting can wait in terms of the big items. About the sickness…. was sick with all three of my children, but none with no 4. And that is how many I had and now years later, eight Grandkids to make quilts for. Take it a day a-time an enjoy

  4. Judy Rust says:

    Congratulations! Boys are wonderful!

  5. Patricia says:

    Congratulations to both of you! Carter will make a great big brother. Enjoy your pregnancy as everything else will work itself out.

  6. Susan J says:

    Congratulations! Excellent news for you and your family!

  7. Sandy D says:

    Congratualtions and a cute video for your announcement.

  8. Jean says:

    Thrilled for you three. Love the kiss on the ultrasound picture!

  9. Diane W says:

    Congratulations! I was wondering what was up, and it did go thru my mind…i wonder if she’s pregnant! 2 boys together is very sweet! Buddies for life. My daughter had 2 children with fertility treatment, and now has had 2 more on her own! They are all blessings!

  10. Sandra Davidson says:

    Blessings to all of you,hope things continue to go well for the rest of pregnancy .

  11. mariajhmom says:

    Awww!!! Love the kiss on the video.

  12. Chris says:

    I am so very happy for you all! Congratulations!

  13. Leslie says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!

  14. Helen Storer says:

    Congratulations on your big news. I have three grown up kids a girl and 2 boys. The boys are different in looks and temprament but are the best of friends enjoying many of the same things. Am sure your boys will be enjoy each other

  15. lepowell says:

    I couldn’t be happier for you!!! Wonderful news, and looks like your men are happy too!!
    I will probably love that book on pot holders too, hahaha!!! Congratulations, Heather!! xo

  16. Sheri says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!!

  17. Terri Faust says:

    I would love to see some new patterns from your creative side – but babies are way more important!! Congratulations to you and your family on the wonderful news!!

  18. Julie Delaney says:

    Oh congratulations to all of you, how precious was that of Carter kissing the photo! I’m so happy for you. It’s not easy I know, been there, but we were truly blessed with one beautiful girl and now she’s a mom! So thrilled. I kinda wondered where you’ve been😊again sooo happy for you and family.

  19. Nancy B says:

    Glad you are back, and even more glad to find out the reason you had been ‘gone’! Wishing you and your family all the best. Oh, and I love to make pot holders, am sure they will be lovely, well-designed ones!

  20. Cecilia says:

    Congratulations! My oldest daughter is expecting her second baby around the same time, September 10th is her due date.

  21. Nancy says:

    Congratulations to all of you, Heather! What a wonderful blessing!

  22. Mary Ann says:

    Such a sweet video! I was wondering if things were OK, so happy for you all. Big brother Carter has a great ring to it!

  23. Shaun says:

    Congratulations, Heather! So happy for you!!!

  24. Barbara says:

    Congratulations! I’m happy for you and your family!

  25. Debby says:

    Congratulations!!! Was hoping you were away for a happy reason and Yeah!!! I too would buy a pot holder pattern!

  26. Deb Praus says:

    The thought had crossed my mind! Congrats to all of you.

  27. Chris says:

    So happy for you all!! Congratulations!

  28. Janet Adair says:

    Way to go! Congrats. to all three of you. That Carter is so precious. I hope your next one is just like him. Have you picked a name yet? Carter is a very bright child. I’m happy for you.
    I love table runners and anything I can finish in a hurry. Spend all the time you can with the children. They grow up fast.

  29. Bevb says:

    Let’s scale it down a bit more-I am thinking coaster designs will do. No sweeter news than to hear of the new creation within you!

  30. Sue says:

    Yay. Congrats to you all. As soon as I was reading you’d been tired my eyes were jumping to find that word “pregnant”. How exciting, another boy. I have 4!!! Enjoy it all. xxx

  31. Bari Jo says:

    I started getting so excited when I started reading… could it be??? I am so thrilled for you guys!!! This was wonderful news! Congratulations!!! Woohoo!!!! Naps are good! ;O)

  32. kim Shelton says:

    I am so thrilled for you! Mom and I missed you at Lake Beauty but rumor was circulating that you might be adding to the family. Great news!

  33. Lorraine says:

    Congratulations! So excited for you!

  34. Cathy says:

    I knew it! Congratulations!!!

  35. heartsease57 says:

    Congratulations! So happy for all of you and don’t worry, we are still out here.

  36. Congratulations! ….and I for one LOVE potholders :)

  37. Carol C says:

    Congratulations – boys are the best. I know these things because I have five boys – all grown up now (at least that’s what they tell me).

  38. Rene' Sharp says:

    Biggest congtrats to you all!!!! xxx

  39. Cristina says:

    Congrats from Spain!! (Yes, you reach this far)

  40. Wonderful! What a great reason to be away from the computer!!

  41. kitty says:

    Congratulations to all of you from the Netherlands!! That’s wonderful news!! Thank you for sharing the announcement! Your Carter is soooh cute!

  42. Christine says:

    Congrats! So happy for you all!

  43. Darlene B says:

    So excited for both of you (actually all 3 of you)! What exciting news!!

  44. Dorian says:

    Oh Heather, congratulations to you both. How wonderful!!! I HAVE been wondering where you have been. So glad you were absent for a great reason. Remember, us older moms have a harder time finding energy, so get all the rest and help you can ;) Prayers for another healthy baby/pregnancy.

  45. Cindy says:

    Great news! Congratulations! I was just thinking about you yesterday – I just started quilting my Starlit Evening quilt. I’ll let you know when it’s done!

  46. shelley says:

    Have to add my congratulations too! (“oh my gosh”, and teary eyes happened here as I read your awesome news) It seems that no matter what patterns or fabric you are creating, I would like to have it all! I look forward to some very cute potholders! Nope, never met you, but I so enjoy reading about your family and seeing the beautiful pictures! Congratulations little family!!

  47. Barbara says:

    When I first found your blog you were in the process of doing IVF, and I sent you a little note of encouragement. I am thrilled to hear this news, and wish you the very best.

  48. Mary says:

    OK, I will say it. I am thrilled you are having two of a kind :) Lots of people want one of each, but I was glad to have two of a kind. When their parents are long gone they will have each other. I love my brothers but my sister and I share more, always have and always will. My brothers share more with each other too. Isn’t that a little bit true with you and your sibs? ;)

  49. Vicki in MN says:

    Congrats on such wonderful news! I am glad our guild picked May to have you down!! I am looking forward to your new book, runners are my thing :-)

  50. Dianne says:

    Congratulations! I am very happy for you. The video was adorable.

  51. Linda says:

    Congratulations! Great news for your family! All of us quilting mothers know how busy you’ll be so we won’t mind a book about potholders! There will be a day when those boys are grown and out of the house…and it happens way too quickly. You are blessed!

  52. Mary Jo says:

    The best news ever! Congratulations. Quilting is fun but it can wait , Babies aren’t babies for long, and everyone needs new hotpads.

  53. anne says:

    Congrats!!! Such a sweet blessing!!! Carter will be a fantastic big brother!

  54. treadlemusic says:

    Blessings to you all!!! Carter is so sweet with the ultra sound photo kiss!!!! Hugs…………………………………..

  55. Jen W says:

    Congratulations!!! And Carter kissing the ultrasound is just precious.

  56. Ginny Worden says:

    Exciting news, and cratulations.As a Mom of two boys ( now men ) , I can tell you that it is great.
    Good luck with the new book,I will be anxiously waiting for it.

  57. Mary says:

    Congratulations. That is wonderful news.

  58. janita says:

    Baby blessings to you all :) After having 3 daughters and 2 granddaughters we now have a grandson. I have heard boys are way more active….. Life could get kind of crazy. But it will be a good kind of crazy. Take care. Glad to hear all is going well. Janita

  59. Marcia Willey says:

    I can’t tell you how happy I am for you three! This is the best news, ever!

  60. Kathy Roe says:

    “Sew” happy for you.

  61. Deb C. says:

    I didn’t give up on you. thought you were busy knitting. congratulations on baby two on the way!
    And I love table runners. Can’t wait to see them.

  62. Candie says:

    So happy for you! I hope you are feeling better soon.

    Hoping to see a round table topper in the works! I’ve been on the hunt for a round one to make for two sisters with round tables! Can hardly wait to see your creativeness once again. Good luck!

  63. Ranch Wife says:

    That’s exciting news! The last thing you need to do is worry about how much blogging and sewing you are getting done…you have more important things to take care of right now and we;ll all be here when you pop in. Congratulations on your newest blessing and yes, there is still an interest in potholders. I am always making them and getting requests for more. :)

  64. Congratulations! So happy for all of you.

  65. Tina in Nevada says:

    Wonderful, Wonderful news!!!! Giant Hugs to all of you!!!!!

  66. ColleenM says:

    I knew it:) Yahoo!

  67. Tresha says:

    I’m still here! I’ve been wondering where you were. Congratulations!!! My kids are grown, I’m at the grandma stage in life and lovin’ it. Spend all the time with them you can they grow up way to fast.

  68. Evelyn Rau says:

    congratulations and God’s blessings on you and your family.

  69. Congratulations!! I was a little suspicious but when you mentioned naps~ I knew. :-) I always fell asleep as soon as I sat down early on. Have a happy day!

  70. Bev Bryan says:

    Adorable! Congratulations! I slept with two of my 3. I just couldn’t stay awake. Well, this baby is going to have a lot to live up to with such an adorable big brother! So happy for you! XOXO

  71. Moneik says:

    Congrats! I too slept for the first 2 months of my 2nd pregnancy. It was much easier for us the 2nd time around too. Praying you have a healthy pregnancy and looking forward to all the new baby quilts you’ll create. I don’t get to quilt as much with 2 around, but I still find my “me” time.

  72. Karen Miller says:

    Congratulations Heather — and to Joel and Carter too! How very exciting! We knew you would be back and what’s a month amongst friends ? Take good care of yourself now – can’t wait to see that new book of patterns. Cheers! Karen

  73. Ann in NC says:

    Congratulations! How exciting! Glad everything is going well.

  74. Junglewife says:

    Congratulations! I am pregnant, too :-) due sept 6, with surprise twins! Will enjoy following along with your pregnancy :-)

  75. peg says:

    Congratulations, I’m so happy for you and your family. Hope the rest of your pregnancy goes well.

  76. Kandy says:

    Yippeee, I am thrilled for your family! Babies are blessings. :)

  77. Kristi says:

    Congratulations, Heather! Yes, your followers are still here.

  78. Pot holders and fishing houses! LOL. You hang with some pretty kewl people who know how to make you smile! Congrats.

  79. Sandie says:

    Congratulations!

  80. Oh happy days! And, a new book in the work too. Joy abounds!

  81. Marsha Nelson says:

    I am soooo happy for your family. Take care of yourself.

  82. Tami says:

    Congratulations! Wishing you and your family all the best.

  83. SamanthaK says:

    Congratulations to you and Joel! That is such wonderful news-even though the journey to get to this point wasn’t the best. Sending prayers your way that the rest of your pregnancy goes smooth.

  84. SuzK says:

    I was hoping all was well and apparently it’s very well! So happy for you and Joel, Heather! Congratulations – hope Carter isn’t too disappointed that it doesn’t end up being a puppy! Looking forward to the potholder book. Adding you to our prayer list that your pregnancy is healthy and you have another wonderful little boy to add to the clan! (Hey, maybe you could do a book on seat cushions for fish houses!)

  85. Jocelyn says:

    This is absolutely the most precious picture of Joel and Carter. Congratulations to all of you. I hope all goes well.

  86. Debbie Knudson says:

    I knew it! The last time I had to wait this long for a blog post was with Carter, Congratulations and best wishes!!

  87. Connie says:

    I was really excited for you when I read your blog today. Such great news and your little Carter is just adorable. Congratulations!!!!!!!

  88. Sandra Hayes says:

    Wishing you blessing for another child.

  89. Deanna says:

    Congratulations!

  90. Jan says:

    Still here although I WAS getting anxious! Oh I am SOOO happy for you!

  91. Karen Shackleford says:

    Of course we’re all still here! And it was so worth the wait. That is wonderful news. Congratulations to all of you!!

  92. AnnieO says:

    Wonderful.amazing.beautiful news! Congratulations on expanding your family and having another boy to love. Can you knit in an ice-fishing house?

  93. Cindy Hagen says:

    Congrats. I’m so happy for you and your family! The video clip is precious and very creative way to announce.

  94. Brenda says:

    Wonderful news! Congratulations!!

  95. Whee Hew! I am elated for you guys! Just wait until there are 2 little boys to destroy the house in just seconds. uh-huh. I guess this explains why I don’t see you on the vendor list for Quilt Market in Pittsburgh – – great reason for skipping school. HA! I wish you a smooth pregnancy. =)
    ~Julie

  96. Megan Z says:

    Congrats! I’m sure Carter is looking forward to being a big brother :)

  97. Sarah says:

    Congratulations! I had sort of been thinking that something like this might be happening, Carter is nearly 2 etc. I have two boys, two years and four months apart, as well as an older daughter. Boys are fun! Mine are so different from each other, but both lovely. I hate how over 35 is considered high risk. So many people are beginning their families at this age nowadays, by choice, not only because of difficulties. High risk makes us mid 30s seem really old I think!

Leave a Reply

