Carter’s 21 Month Pictures

Every few months I have been posting a few pictures of Carter.  The problem this time, was when I went to look in his folder of 21 month pictures, there weren’t any!  When he was younger,  I had a folder full for each month.  I guess blogging isn’t the only thing that has gone by the way side with my work deadlines.  Time to start getting the camera out again!  Now, if only I could get him to sit still!  Most of the ones I have taken have turned out too blurry to keep :-(

 

Here are the few I had  –  Along with a few notes to help me remember this stage in his life:

He still likes to sit and play with dice.  He also likes to color, paint, and do puzzles, though each thing only lasts about 10 minutes.

DSC_9483

He still looks handsome in blue -

DSC_9429 adj

Though he is looking less like his Daddy  (and a little more like me.)

DSC_9414 adj

 

He loves to wear his boots and “po” pants.  His favorite things to do outside are play bubbles and dig in the dirt.  He actually prefers this over riding his battery operated 4-wheeler !?!?

4-16-14 014

 

I think his favorite thing in the world is still the washing machine.  He loves to help put clothes in the machine and push the buttons.  In fact, we were at a home show the other week and I could hardly keep him out of one of the appliance booths.  He even got his shirt off before I could stop him, and was trying to get the door open so he could start a load of laundry.  He also prefers the laundry soap section at Target to the toy section.  I’m not sure if I should be alarmed by that, or think it’s funny.

4-16-14 008

He has never been big on traditional toys, but he loves machines.  We heard a story the other day from a guy who buys an old washing machine or something when his grandsons are coming over.  They get to take the whole thing apart, and then he just throws it away.  So I guess Carter isn’t the only one!   It makes it a challenge for me to keep him entertained, as we don’t have a lot of machine laying around here.  He still loves drills and playing with my sewing machine.  He loves stacking up bobbins, and as I discovered yesterday, sticking pins into any opening in the machine that he can get them in.  Oh crap, right?  Which is exactly what he said.   Yes, he is repeating everything we say, whether we want him to or not.  He knows he isn’t supposed to say that, so he follows it up with, “Oh, funny.”   He says the “Oh Crap,” with such conviction, that we find it hard to hide our smirks, and apparently he knows it.   We just can’t get by with anything!   I’m sure many of you have similar stories.

 

All for now –  I will try to get some more pictures soon!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Carter’s 21 Month Pictures

  1. Bette says:

    Just love all your photos!!

  2. Nancy says:

    Handsome little guy! He really does look like you! Thanks for sharing the photos and stories.

  3. Diane W says:

    Oh I Love that story, and lil guy. I used to give our boys old small appliances, mixers, etc, but first cut the cord off and throw it away. They wud spend hours on the back patio monkeying with it. And we stored it all in a box. Once, we had a dilapitated couch, and when we got a new one, we put it on the porch and gave the kids butter knives. Let me tell you, they had a ball! Then off to the dump with it. Wonder what the neighborhood thought? That was 28 years ago.

  4. diane says:

    Your post was what I needed today. A big smile and laugh came over me reading about Carter and his funny stuff. Aren’t kids the best!!! Such a great son you have there.

  5. Tresha says:

    I love your blog and the pictures of Carter. He is such a cute little guy. I hope you’re watching him closely when he plays with the dice. A cousin on my husband’s side of the family had a two year old choke to death on a marble so little objects like that make me nervous around little ones.

  6. Joan says:

    Love your pictures of your handsome, little boy! I always look forward to seeing your pics. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Mary Ann says:

    He will be such a great big brother……………what a cutey…….

  8. Jean says:

    Love the pictures and the stories. Our oldest showed his mechanical ability early; he still is the mechanic of the family, but he no longer puts stones in the new riding lawn mower to “help” dad. He is now 39.

  9. Dorian says:

    LOL Heather. It’s amazing how much he and my Isaiah are. They are only a few months apart in age :) Mine, also prefers machines (generator, water pump, tractor, drills, tools, etc) to traditional toys.Thanks for the update, he’s such a cutie. Hope you are feeling well.

  10. Sandra Davidson says:

    He. Is looking more like you and is just adorable. My grandson loved the washer and dryer at that age to and we even bought him a toy one which he played with for hours. When he was coming for visit I would make sure I had laundry to do. He never liked regular toys and now at seven he is into antique doors, knobs and locks. I forgot to say he is blind but you would never know it.
    Blessings

  11. Carrie says:

    I love the pictures and the stories! He’s a happy, happy boy and it shows. Thank you for sharing.

    I really love the story about “oh, crap”. Years ago, a friend and her husband had the same thing happen with her kids so her husband – who loved “colorful” language – made a commitment to using expletives from cartoons. His favorites were Yosemite Sam and Sylvester. It was hilarious when the kids started doing the same. Kids – they miss nothing. Think about it – did you or Joel miss anything when you were kids? I’m betting you didn’t. LOL

  12. Connie Strom says:

    Cute stories and even cuter little guy! Amazing what they copy! Some good some not so good! Keeps us all on our toes! Keep em coming!

  13. Mary Ann says:

    You will be so happy to have the blog archives years from now, the funny stories and sweet pictures will be here to share.

  14. Tina in Nevada says:

    Carter is such a beautiful, beautiful baby!!! I think you should enter him in a baby contest!!!! Okay, maybe not (he surely wouldn’t appreciate knowing you did that as he got older ;o)) but he really is a cutie pie!!! Wonderful pictures!!!

  15. Janet Adair says:

    Monkey see, monkey do,. He obviously learns very fast which is a good thing———–most times.

  16. Janet Adair says:

    Forgot to say that your little guy is just precious. You are a great mother.

  17. Pat D says:

    He is just adorable and does look like you. Looking forward to seeing you in Rochester in May.

  18. Tina McNamara says:

    Heather,
    Carter is adorable. He will continue to look good in blue as long as he has blue eyes. I know this because my husband still looks good in blue at 58 with his blue eyes. I just LOVE the way you dress him up like a little man with tie and vest and not a baby.

  19. Marsha Nelson says:

    Carter is such a cutie and he does look sooo good in blue. My husband’s eyes are pale blue and he has lots of blue shirts. Thanks for sharing.

  20. SuzK says:

    thank you for sharing the photos of Carter – he’s really adorable and it’s wonderful to see how he is growing. I had to giggle about the “oh crap” comments – my son picked up a couple of phrases from us that came out about the same time. We were quickly on our guard about what we said after that!

  21. He gets cuter every post! I get blamed for the “Oh Cwap” that comes out of my grandson’s mouth. And yes, I’m guilty! Congratulations on the new baby!

Leave a Reply

