Flashback Friday

Happy Friday Everyone -

After my last post, I’m not sounding like a very good parent, am I?  From letting my son play with pins, to the colorful language.  Does it help if I explain that he only gets to play with pins at the table with me sitting next to him?  Or that the language doesn’t get any more colorful than what I mentioned?  I did enjoy reading the comments and I think I may have to take Carrie’s suggestion and start watching some cartoons to learn some better phrases to use in front of my son!  I also appreciated that there were others who thought that loving washing machines was normal and I loved hearing the stories about the couch and the lawnmower.  Kids are funny, aren’t they. . . . .

As part of Flashback Friday, I want to share this video of Carter from almost a year ago.  He was 11 months old at the time and it is one of my favorites.  (I can’t seem to figure out how to insert the video clip, so click the link above, rather than the picture).

For my quilt related part of Flashback Friday, I want to revisit a favorite quilt pattern.  It’s from my book Living Large 2  and it’s called Starlit Evening.

DSC_9486 adj 2

The original quilt featured in the book uses an older fabric line from Bonnie and Camille called “Bliss”.   I have loved this design and the fabrics fro the beginning, but I think my favorite part about the pattern is the technique used to make it.  It looks really difficult, but it is made from simple strip units!  Can you spot the strip unit?  They are kind of hiding, so you will just have to trust me on the fact that each block starts as a strip unit.  In addition to using strip units, I also love the fact that every single one of  those intersections nest. So no pinning, with better results in less time.

DSC_9484 adj

 

The thing that got me thinking about this design again, was a blog post by Cindy of Hyacinth Quilt Designs.  I’ve mentioned before that her blog is a favorite of mine and her version of my Starlit Evening pattern is the perfect example of why.  It makes me want to make this pattern again in these fabric!

If you want to visit her blog to find out the rest of the details on her quilt, click here.  A special thanks to Cindy for letting me link over – and while you are there, take a look around ;-)

 

I have made this pattern a few other times – like this one made with our Whimsy fabric line.

DSC_0624adj

 

The book features 3 size options, including this tree skirt

DSC_9681 adj

 

My mom also used this pattern when she redid her room a while back (link to that post here)

DSC_0830adj

 

I am always amazed by how different fabrics can change a quilt pattern.  The possibility of so many fun color combinations always inspires me!

If you are interested in the pattern, you can find the book on sale here.

 

Have a great weekend!

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Pattern of the Week and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Flashback Friday

  1. Gorgeous quilts! My DD and I were just looking at this book last night~ she picked a bunch of my FQ’s and a pattern. :-) I have some fun sewing ahead! Have a great weekend!

  2. Denny Aleckson says:

    I have the book and just LOVE it! I have made a few things out of it, but not this quilt featured…that is going to be one I make though…..eventually….So many Patterns…So little time….Love seeing all the variations! Thanks!!

  3. Carolyn Lochner says:

    You are great parents!. Enjoy every minute… as they grow fast!

  4. Sherry Johnston says:

    Look how the skirt skirt border is done-kind of a double border. Do you think that is a possibility for your quilt?

  5. heidik says:

    I love this pattern! I love the one in the book so much that I made mine in Bliss too. I finished the quilt top (except for the last border) over a year ago! (In my defense, we moved from Germany to Texas since then!) Then I was deciding what to do for the final border and in the end decided against the scrappy look and used my favorite floral print from the Bliss line. I made it King Size for our bed. I still haven’t sent it to the quilters but I am planning on doing it soon! It is so beautiful I want to send it away to a quilter I use for extra special quilts! Thanks for a great pattern! It was very easy and fun to make!

  6. Jane says:

    I am working on a starlit Evening for my bed right now using some very old fabrics from 3 sisters. It’s going to be gorgeous and although it looks very complicated, it goes together beautifully! I made the tree skirt for a wedding gift last fall. it turned out beautifully as well. I’ve done a couple other quilts our of Living large…love that book!

  7. Sarah says:

    I love Cindy’s quilt and commented on her blog about it. It’s divine isn’t it! Umm, did people really criticise your parenting on the last post? How awful. I’m a parent of yang kids and I knew exactly what you meant. I think sometimes people don’t have a sense of humour.

Leave a Reply

